HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Clintstone, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old May 07, 2010, 05:35 PM
Castle Support
Clintstone's Avatar
USA, GA, Statesboro
Joined Oct 2007
945 Posts
Mini-HowTo
Castle Quick Tip: Auto-Rotation Calibration Part 2 of 2*Video*

Video to help with Auto-Rotation Recovery mode.



Castle Quick Tip Auto-Rotation Throttle Calibration.wmv (8 min 0 sec)
Clintstone is offline Find More Posts by Clintstone
Last edited by Clintstone; May 28, 2010 at 01:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 16, 2010, 07:33 PM
Bush Pilots Bounce Higher
Spidious's Avatar
USA, IL, Champaign
Joined Dec 2006
4,309 Posts
No matter how many times I try and do this it will not arm the controller if it is programmed for auto rotation.
It will arm if the box is unchecked ?
Using a DX7 and Ice75..
The throttle trim is in the center.
And I have gone all the way down to -150 and it still won't arm ?
Spidious is offline Find More Posts by Spidious
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 04:50 PM
Castle Support
Clintstone's Avatar
USA, GA, Statesboro
Joined Oct 2007
945 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidious View Post
No matter how many times I try and do this it will not arm the controller if it is programmed for auto rotation.
It will arm if the box is unchecked ?
Using a DX7 and Ice75..
The throttle trim is in the center.
And I have gone all the way down to -150 and it still won't arm ?
I enjoyed chatting with you today. As per the instruction in the video I think the fix is to calibrate the throttle with the auto-rotation enabled. I am looking forward to hearing back from you.
Clintstone is offline Find More Posts by Clintstone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 09:02 AM
Registered User
h60tweet's Avatar
United States, MA, Falmouth
Joined Apr 2010
48 Posts
I'm curious about this. I noticed that with auto-rotate checked I could not complete the throttle cal, but when I unchecked it it worked fine. the hight side would cal either way, but when adjusting the ATV for the low side, it wouldn't arm.
h60tweet is offline Find More Posts by h60tweet
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 06:40 AM
Registered User
RS Rogers's Avatar
Clyde N.C.
Joined Oct 2003
517 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by h60tweet View Post
I'm curious about this. I noticed that with auto-rotate checked I could not complete the throttle cal, but when I unchecked it it worked fine. the hight side would cal either way, but when adjusting the ATV for the low side, it wouldn't arm.
Are you using a Graupner Tx or possibly using the Mikado Vbar utilizing the internal Rx?
RS Rogers is offline Find More Posts by RS Rogers
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 08:32 PM
Bush Pilots Bounce Higher
Spidious's Avatar
USA, IL, Champaign
Joined Dec 2006
4,309 Posts
OK

I might try this again.
But I noticed in the video that you say to put your normal throttle at 0-0-0 all the way across...
If you leave it at 0-0-0 , doesn't this defeat the normal setting on the DX7 controller ?
In order to get the motor started you would have to have the throttle hold on and in position 1, if I am correct ?
So normal mode doesn't do anything now ?
Spidious is offline Find More Posts by Spidious
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 05:53 AM
Registered User
RS Rogers's Avatar
Clyde N.C.
Joined Oct 2003
517 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidious View Post
OK

I might try this again.
But I noticed in the video that you say to put your normal throttle at 0-0-0 all the way across...
If you leave it at 0-0-0 , doesn't this defeat the normal setting on the DX7 controller ?
In order to get the motor started you would have to have the throttle hold on and in position 1, if I am correct ?
So normal mode doesn't do anything now ?
Once the throttle hold is calibrated for the Autorotation Feature yes the normal mode throttle curves need to be set at all zeros. Then in Normal mode is where you will need to be when you plug in the battery as the controller will need to see this absolute zero position in order to arm. The controller will no longer arm in the throttle hold position.
Now if you are running fixed endpoints instead of governor mode you can leave a linear curve in normal mode an as long as the throttle stick is in the low position the controller will arm.
Keep in mind that if the last throttle signature the controller see's is the calibrated throttle hold before you spool up it will spool up according to the Head Speed Change Rate rather than the Initial Spool Up Rate.
RS Rogers is offline Find More Posts by RS Rogers
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 10:35 AM
Castle Support
Clintstone's Avatar
USA, GA, Statesboro
Joined Oct 2007
945 Posts
The key here is that the ESC must see -0- to arm and it must see -0- to get back to soft start... with this said we have recommended -0- all the way across in normal as a safety but you could even use 2 points for -0- at the bottom and 30-30 for the rest which in Set RPM mode would allow you to spool up in Normal with the stick to your lowest Head-speed. We recommend the -0- line all the way as to keep someone from flying in normal and creating a soft start condition in flight. We try to keep things simple in our recommendations but once you understand how it works you are free to get creative if you like.

I run a 3 position switch on hold with an auto position and a -0- position that allows me to run 3 Head Speeds , normal, idle 1 and idle 2. I would add that if you click too far then you can get into trouble but I am very careful as I know what it can do...-0- would force a soft start condition...with today's computer radios we have so many options.
Clintstone is offline Find More Posts by Clintstone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 08:37 PM
Bush Pilots Bounce Higher
Spidious's Avatar
USA, IL, Champaign
Joined Dec 2006
4,309 Posts
Well I tried it again following your instructions..
It still will not arm.
ICE75 ESC using a DX7 with Gaui-365
My throttle setting epa are 100 high 111 low
I tried the auto setting of +50 all the way down to -20
Normal throttle set at 0-0-0 across the board
I thought the Gaui unit might of been the cause of it, so I tried with out it hooked up at all. Same results. It makes the beeps at high stick. But when I tried the low stick it just never beeps and arms...So looks like I will not be using auto at all..Not sure why. Maybe the previous post (h60tweet) above is having the same problem ?
Spidious is offline Find More Posts by Spidious
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 11:44 AM
Castle Support
Clintstone's Avatar
USA, GA, Statesboro
Joined Oct 2007
945 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidious View Post
Well I tried it again following your instructions..
It still will not arm.
ICE75 ESC using a DX7 with Gaui-365
My throttle setting epa are 100 high 111 low
I tried the auto setting of +50 all the way down to -20
Normal throttle set at 0-0-0 across the board
I thought the Gaui unit might of been the cause of it, so I tried with out it hooked up at all. Same results. It makes the beeps at high stick. But when I tried the low stick it just never beeps and arms...So looks like I will not be using auto at all..Not sure why. Maybe the previous post (h60tweet) above is having the same problem ?
Please call me directly...912-481-3690
Clintstone is offline Find More Posts by Clintstone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 01:45 PM
Bush Pilots Bounce Higher
Spidious's Avatar
USA, IL, Champaign
Joined Dec 2006
4,309 Posts
OK
After talking to you I went step by step as the video said
Normal throttle curve set to 0-0-0
Set RPM Mode
Below setting loaded into the esc

Brake Ramp: Super Slow
Brake Delay: .6 sec (Delayed) (*)
Sample Frequency: 2 Sample / Sec
Auto-Lipo Volts/Cell: 3.0 Volts/Cell (*)
Power-On Beep: Disabled
BEC Voltage: 6
Hex55: 85
Vehicle Type: Helicopter
Throttle Type: Governor Mode
Throttle Response: 5
Governor Gain: 20
Initial Spool-Up Rate: 2
Head Speed Change Rate: 14
Auto Rotate Enabled: True
Governor Mode Type: Fixed
Vehicle Setup - Battery Type: LiPo
Vehicle Setup - Number of Cells: 6
Vehicle Setup - Battery Voltage: 22.2000
Vehicle Setup - Gear Ratio: 11.5714
Vehicle Setup - Pinion: 14
Vehicle Setup - Spur: 162
Vehicle Setup - Motor Kv: 1450
Vehicle Setup - Motor Number of Poles: 8
Desired Head Speed 1: 1760
Desired Head Speed 2: 1800
Desired Head Speed 3: 2005
Data Log Enabled: 255
Motor Timing: 3
PWM Rate: 12 Khz
Brake Strength: 0
Direction: Forward (*)
Current Limiting: Normal (70A) (*)
Motor Start Power: 59
Cutoff Type: Soft Cutoff
Cutoff Voltage: Auto Li-Po (*)



0-70-100 on normal-idle 1-idle 2
Throttle hold set to +50
Normal mode with throttle hold off

The controller WILL not arm !

But if I put the following in with the no auto not checked. It will arm right off ?

Hex55: 85
Brake Strength: 0
Brake Delay: .6 sec (Delayed) (*)
Brake Ramp: Super Slow
Cutoff Type: Soft Cutoff
Motor Start Power: 59
Direction: Forward (*)
Sample Frequency: 2 Sample / Sec
Motor Timing: 3
Data Log Enabled: 255
Current Limiting: Normal (105A) (*)
BEC Voltage: 6
Power-On Beep: Disabled
PWM Rate: 12 Khz
Vehicle Type: Helicopter
Throttle Type: Governor Mode
Throttle Response: 5
Governor Gain: 20
Initial Spool-Up Rate: 2
Head Speed Change Rate: 16
Auto Rotate Enabled: False
Governor Mode Type: Fixed
Vehicle Setup - Battery Type: LiPo
Vehicle Setup - Number of Cells: 6
Vehicle Setup - Battery Voltage: 22.2000
Vehicle Setup - Gear Ratio: 11.5714
Vehicle Setup - Pinion: 14
Vehicle Setup - Spur: 162
Vehicle Setup - Motor Kv: 1450
Vehicle Setup - Motor Number of Poles: 8
Desired Head Speed 1: 1760
Desired Head Speed 2: 1800
Desired Head Speed 3: 2005
Auto-Lipo Volts/Cell: 3.0 Volts/Cell (*)
Cutoff Voltage: Auto Li-Po (*)


Strange how the order of the values are different ( auto vs normal... )
Spidious is offline Find More Posts by Spidious
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 06:13 PM
Bush Pilots Bounce Higher
Spidious's Avatar
USA, IL, Champaign
Joined Dec 2006
4,309 Posts
OK
Tried something I tried before.
Bypassed the Gaui-365 with a extension and ran it directly to the receiver.
Went thru the programming process and it programmed perfectly..
Seems the Gaui was changing the throttle setting limit.
I had tried that before and must of not done it correctly at that time.

Either way it works now and works perfectly!

Thanks Clint...
Fred aka Spidious
Spidious is offline Find More Posts by Spidious
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 02:21 AM
Castle Support
Clintstone's Avatar
USA, GA, Statesboro
Joined Oct 2007
945 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidious View Post
OK
Tried something I tried before.
Bypassed the Gaui-365 with a extension and ran it directly to the receiver.
Went thru the programming process and it programmed perfectly..
Seems the Gaui was changing the throttle setting limit.
I had tried that before and must of not done it correctly at that time.

Either way it works now and works perfectly!

Thanks Clint...
Fred aka Spidious
Enjoyed talking an I am glad it is working. Thanks very much.
Clintstone is offline Find More Posts by Clintstone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 10:25 AM
Bush Pilots Bounce Higher
Spidious's Avatar
USA, IL, Champaign
Joined Dec 2006
4,309 Posts
Well since I got the 500 going on the esc for auto.I thought I would try the 60..
But the following screen keeps popping up. It won't update to the v3.2 firmware ?
Tried to set the auto on it and it won't work..

OK got it to autorotation program finally.. But it still has the pop up and warning and the older version.. The reason it wasn't auto, I didn't notice that the auto unchecked when I tried to upgrade the software..

Luckily I decided to auto program it and not fly it...I found the wire that comes out of the battery at the deans connector had partially broken.. Solder it back up now !
Spidious is offline Find More Posts by Spidious
Last edited by Spidious; Jun 26, 2010 at 10:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 10:42 PM
Bush Pilots Bounce Higher
Spidious's Avatar
USA, IL, Champaign
Joined Dec 2006
4,309 Posts
Are the printable instruction wrong ? It says

Once it is up to speed flip into throttle hold and In the
Throttle Hold Screen slowly decrease the value pausing briefly between
each point until you hear the motor loose power & begin to slow – go
no further!


Shouldn't it say the motor stops ?
Spidious is offline Find More Posts by Spidious
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Castle Quick Tip: Throttle Calibration Part 1 of 2 Clintstone Castle Creations 45 Dec 03, 2013 10:37 PM
Discussion "Auto Rotation Enable" and "Fixed Endpoints"??? RMG2 Castle Creations 8 May 03, 2010 03:42 PM
Discussion 3.11 throttle calibration and auto calibration for Helis Clintstone Castle Creations 43 Mar 13, 2010 05:29 AM
Discussion CC PHOENIX 35 and auto calibration throttle quenda Castle Creations 9 Dec 06, 2009 07:44 PM
Discussion UAV Quadcopter Auto Calibration - Need help with the maths! Tomo8281 UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 1 Oct 14, 2009 05:57 PM