Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 07, 2010, 09:40 AM
United States, AZ, Kingman
Joined Apr 2010
36 Posts
Discussion
radion 480 b motor

i need a motor shaft for the 480 b motor on a radion the pkz4418 for that motor is not the correct one, the shaft i need has a place for a c clip on the front of motor the guy at a main said you dont need that the magnets hold it together(well i said no way) im not a model expert but i do know the magnets do not hold the motor together. if you enlarge the motor you can see the c clip if you enlarge the shaft you can tell there is no groove for the c clip
and the pkz 4418 shaft has a extra flat spot ground into it and is over 1/8 inch longer than the one i have
dirtrackracer2 is offline Find More Posts by dirtrackracer2
Last edited by dirtrackracer2; May 07, 2010 at 09:57 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2010, 12:39 PM
WARNING: May contain spam
Joined Oct 2007
20,933 Posts
There should be a collet in place of the clip to hold the motor together.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Old May 08, 2010, 07:16 AM
Jack
USA, ME, Ellsworth
Joined May 2008
16,806 Posts
Collets are normally only used for the prop adapter, to hold the prop and shaft together as they turn.

I don't have a Radian or a 480B motor but as I understand it that plane has a the motor in a "firewall mounting" with the motor behind a bulkhead, the fixed part of the motor is behind the bulkhead and attached to it with screws from the front, and the rotating part of the motor (the magnet housing) is inside the fuselage.

There is a plastic yoke/spinner base with the folding prop blades and that is held to the shaft with a collet. The large nut in the center of that is what tightens the collet and hold it all together.