Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 26, 2010, 06:22 PM
Registered User
Surrey, UK
Joined Oct 2010
266 Posts
There is definitely something wrong with 250 in Phoenix, I've spent whole day flying my real 250 and I am 100% sure it's not simulated properly in Phoenix at slow speeds.

Adding ridiculous amount of expo to the model (just the model, not tx or global Phoenix controls), around 30-40%, seems to make it more real.

Oddly enough I use around 20% expo on real one.. I've also found that flips on sim are really easy comparing to real.. too much power on the sim - that would explain a lot of things?
I've got an Outrage 550 variant edited by someone who has got a real Outrage and from now I am going to use this one. I've managed to do a couple of nose in funnels!
AcidDrink is offline Find More Posts by AcidDrink
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 27, 2010, 03:23 AM
Rotor Controller
CaptJac's Avatar
Aachen Germany
Joined Dec 2007
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alsbike View Post
CaptJac, Just starting out I purchased a T-Rex 700N converted to electric and of course a Phoenix RC 2.5 flight Sim.
WOW - Santa was good to you!! Welcome aboard the heli world. I'll add you to my Skype contact list - go ahead and install the Phoenix Beta version (3.0x) from their website and drop a line in my message box when you ready to spool-up. We are snowed in here - so I won't be going anywhere anytime soon.

captJac
CaptJac is online now Find More Posts by CaptJac
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2010, 03:26 AM
Rotor Controller
CaptJac's Avatar
Aachen Germany
Joined Dec 2007
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcidDrink View Post
There is definitely something wrong with 250 in Phoenix, I've spent whole day flying my real 250 and I am 100% sure it's not simulated properly in Phoenix at slow speeds.
Did Phoenix support respond to your email yet?
CaptJac is online now Find More Posts by CaptJac
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2010, 03:34 AM
Registered User
Surrey, UK
Joined Oct 2010
266 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptJac View Post
Did Phoenix support respond to your email yet?
No, I'll give it time till after New Year. People need a break, especially in software industry (I know something about it)
AcidDrink is offline Find More Posts by AcidDrink
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 06:49 AM
Registered User
Surrey, UK
Joined Oct 2010
266 Posts
Here is a video to demonstrate my point. Don't try it on real heli.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZOSJz8MX7s

From my experiences (I make games for living), it looks like huge control lag/not enough resolution on the controls. I am using no expo anywhere.

I just got response from nice people at Phoenix. The advised to change frontal/lateral cyclic to 0.3 under flybar and that did help (I put it on 0.25, 0.3 was too much). Turning off VSync helped a lot with that underwater feeling as well.
AcidDrink is offline Find More Posts by AcidDrink
Last edited by AcidDrink; Dec 28, 2010 at 08:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 09:03 AM
Rotor Controller
CaptJac's Avatar
Aachen Germany
Joined Dec 2007
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcidDrink View Post
I just got response from nice people at Phoenix. The advised to change frontal/lateral cyclic to 0.3 under flybar and that did help (I put it on 0.25, 0.3 was too much). Turning off VSync helped a lot with that underwater feeling as well.
Sounds like they dug into the problem and came up with a solution. Not surprised - they are good at that. BTW - excellent video quality in your example - are you using FRAPS?
CaptJac is online now Find More Posts by CaptJac
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 09:05 AM
Registered User
Surrey, UK
Joined Oct 2010
266 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptJac View Post
Sounds like they dug into the problem and came up with a solution. Not surprised - they are good at that. BTW - excellent video quality in your example - are you using FRAPS?
Well it is much better now, although I am still quite fussy, hehe..

Yes, Fraps, record your flight, then fraps it
AcidDrink is offline Find More Posts by AcidDrink
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 11:49 AM
Heli and E-Plane
United States, FL, Ocala
Joined Nov 2010
939 Posts
Well I had my first real lesson with Captjac yesterday and all I can say is WOW!

First, Captjac really knows his stuff. I spent a lot of time on the net looking for info on setting up and using Phoenix, the info available doesn't hold a candle to Captjac's knowledge and experience. This alone should be enough to start taking lessons with him.
His experience as a teacher really shows - he makes you feel relaxed and has a great sense of humor - all positive attributes for an excellent teacher.
I tried to list a few pros and cons as to using Phoenix Flight Sim and Captjac's training.
Cons:
Pride - you think you know it all or you think you can learn on your own.
Cost($) - you have very deep pockets and can afford to constantly be replacing parts.
Cost(time) - you love to rebuild your heli more than flying, like to take a long time to master flying helis.
Frustration - You love and thrive in a frustrating environment - and are willing to quit!

Pros:
Cost($) - Getting Phoenix will far out weigh the cost of repairs.
Cost(time) - you will be flying your heli of choice quickly! Just the time to properly setup your heli and Tx are worth spending time with Captjac.
Cost(Experience) - I have no idea how folks before us had learned to fly without a simulator. Pure trial and error is nothing more than pure and simple frustration!

My Experience:
After my first lesson Captjac had my heli and Tx tuned perfectly.
I learned how to properly lift off and land using a Trex 500 and DX7. (I just finished building a Tarot 500 but won't try flying it until I get a few more lessons under my belt)
And to top it off I was doing figure 8's - Incredible! - something I thought I wouldn't be doing for a long time!
This may sound like an advertisement for Phoenix and Captjac - it isn't, I have absolutely no affiliation with either party. This is my own personal experience.
So if you're sitting on the fence about taking the plunge into a flight sim and training don't hesitate, go get Phoenix and lessons with Captjac and enjoy yourself - you'll have a blast!
jer291113 is offline Find More Posts by jer291113
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 02:02 PM
Rocket Programmer
jasmine2501's Avatar
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,335 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcidDrink View Post
Here is a video to demonstrate my point. Don't try it on real heli.
Actually I do that all the time to test what performance level I'm getting. It does look like a little control lag - if I can visually see it, it must be pretty long.

I do not think it's worthwhile to try to get the simulator helis to fly like the real ones. You need to learn to fly helicopters in spite of their differences in performance. As long as the simulator is simulating realistic helicopter behavior, it will be beneficial as a training tool, regardless of how it compares to your real helis in terms of performance. In this case, I think the 250 is so far off, it's crossed the line into unrealistic land.
jasmine2501 is offline Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 03:22 PM
Registered User
Surrey, UK
Joined Oct 2010
266 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasmine2501 View Post
Actually I do that all the time to test what performance level I'm getting. It does look like a little control lag - if I can visually see it, it must be pretty long.

I do not think it's worthwhile to try to get the simulator helis to fly like the real ones. You need to learn to fly helicopters in spite of their differences in performance. As long as the simulator is simulating realistic helicopter behavior, it will be beneficial as a training tool, regardless of how it compares to your real helis in terms of performance. In this case, I think the 250 is so far off, it's crossed the line into unrealistic land.
I totally agree with all you said. (and actually I do the same on real heli just to check my settings etc.. , but only in place, not in froward flight/drift and a bit less stick movement ).

Try to turn Vsync off and see if you can feel a difference. I do (maybe placebo effect, but I still do)
AcidDrink is offline Find More Posts by AcidDrink
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 04:44 PM
Rocket Programmer
jasmine2501's Avatar
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,335 Posts
With Vsync on, you're getting about 60 frames per second - this affects the physics. For each frame, the entire physics model is calculated. If the time between frames is large, then the calculations are less precise. However, if the time between frames is too small, you approach the precision limits of the machine, and again you can see errors. So yes, turning on and off the Vsync makes a physics difference. However, Phoenix should be happy with frame rates of 30 to 60 per second. Possibly with the Vsync off, you're getting such a high frame rate that it's working with very small numbers and calculations are failing due to zeros popping up internally.
jasmine2501 is offline Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 12:17 PM
Rotor Controller
CaptJac's Avatar
Aachen Germany
Joined Dec 2007
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer291113 View Post
Well I had my first real lesson with Captjac yesterday and all I can say is WOW! First, Captjac really knows his stuff. I spent a lot of time on the net looking for info on setting up and using Phoenix, the info available doesn't hold a candle to Captjac's knowledge and experience. This alone should be enough to start taking lessons with him. His experience as a teacher really shows - he makes you feel relaxed and has a great sense of humor - all positive attributes for an excellent teacher. My Experience: After my first lesson Captjac had my heli and Tx tuned perfectly. I learned how to properly lift off and land using a Trex 500 and DX7. (I just finished building a Tarot 500 but won't try flying it until I get a few more lessons under my belt) And to top it off I was doing figure 8's - Incredible! Something I thought I wouldn't be doing for a long time! This may sound like an advertisement for Phoenix and Captjac - it isn't, I have absolutely no affiliation with either party. This is my own personal experience. So if you're sitting on the fence about taking the plunge into a flight sim and training don't hesitate, go get Phoenix and lessons with Captjac and enjoy yourself - you'll have a blast!
Going to put you on my marketing team IMMEDIATELY!! Whenever I'm feeling a little down and grounded I go back and read some of the comments that have been written here. It's like applying 15 degrees positive pitch on my rotors and I'm instantly soaring 500 feet. I really appreciate all the kind words and encouragement from everybody. Thank you for your support and trust and allowing me to help you with your training over this year. It has been wonderfully fulfilling and rewarding and great learning experience and truly a privilege. What can I say other than thank you and HAPPY NEW YEAR !!

-----------------------------------------------Keep those rotors spinning

captJac
CaptJac is online now Find More Posts by CaptJac
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 10:27 PM
Registered User
Centreville, Va
Joined Nov 2010
88 Posts
I have phoenix 3.0 installed and have been practicing hovering with my DX7.
My question is does it matter that I have the model set up as acro (plane). I use these settings for my blade, mcx2,cx2,msr and sr 120 and do fine. I am trying to move into CP heli's. I have Walkera V400D02 in 2 attempts to hover the heli takes off on me resulting in a crash. ( 1st one broke off the tail motor holder, 2nd busted blades, stripped main gear, ball links broke etc.).
I know I need more sim time but should I be setting up my radio in heli mode?

Mike
lerninmore is offline Find More Posts by lerninmore
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 10:38 PM
Rocket Programmer
jasmine2501's Avatar
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,335 Posts
No, as long as the simulator understands your input, it's fine. You will need to learn helicopter setup for the real ones of course, but Phoenix uses a different setup.
jasmine2501 is offline Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2011, 04:57 PM
Registered User
Golden, CO
Joined May 2002
27 Posts
After a toy heli Christmas present for my son sparked an R/C shopping spree, I'd like to take advantage of these lessons too.
Caffiend is offline Find More Posts by Caffiend
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted phoenix Simulator W/DX6i adapter -S- Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Mar 06, 2010 06:46 PM
Sold gone hacker002 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Mar 05, 2010 10:57 PM
Wanted phoenix simulator-paypal ready hoehnelli Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Mar 03, 2010 07:15 PM
Discussion I need help on flying sailplanes in Phoenix RC simulator racin06 Sailplane Talk 2 Oct 25, 2007 07:26 AM