HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 25, 2010, 09:22 AM
United States, GA, Thomasville
Joined Apr 2010
33 Posts
Discussion
DX6i setup with T-28 Trojan

Newbie here, so be gentle with me.

I've somewhat mastered a Super Cub LP using the stock Tx. I've now graduated to a T-28 with a SpekTrum DX6i. I live in a remote area without the benefits of RC club members to help me setup the Tx.

I'm seeking basic Dx6i setup settings for a stock T-28 for a pilot who has yet to maiden. Not interested in experimenting with Flaperons at this point.

BTW - I have been logging hours on the PhoenixRC sim and have no issues in controlled flight in the virtual world.

Thank you in advance!
AgonyOfDefeat is offline Find More Posts by AgonyOfDefeat
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 25, 2010, 11:13 AM
WARNING: May contain spam
Joined Oct 2007
20,928 Posts
30% expo all around, dual rates to 50%, high to 100%.
Xpress.. is online now Find More Posts by Xpress..
Old Apr 25, 2010, 12:03 PM
Joined Apr 2010
33 Posts
Thanks Xpress.

So to confirm:

D/R & EXPO
AILE 50% -30%
ELEV 50% -30%
RUDD 50% -30%

TRAVEL ADJ = ALL 100%

SUB TRIM = ALL 0

FLAPS = NORM +50 (ALL 0)

Have I missed anything?

Sorry for being so green.
Old May 02, 2010, 06:27 AM
Joined Apr 2010
33 Posts
Maiden flight of stock T-28 was very stressful! Why?

NOTE: Flying conditions were perfect, zero wind. LiPo 2200mAh.
(1) I'm a newbie, graduating from flying numerous Super Cub LP's.
(2) It took longer than expected to get off the ground, probably 30 yards.
(3) I could never get the bird trimmed, center stick pushed the plane straight down! I had to stay on the sticks the entire flight to keep it in the air.
(4) After 6+ minutes of flight, I learned that it requires a l-o-n-g approach to land. I'm not used to starting the decent so far out. The plane comes in pretty fast. Failed at least ten approaches as I kept running out of landing area (a football field!)