SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 14, 2012, 12:36 PM
The figure "9" Specialist
aeronca's Avatar
A Barrier Island in New Jersey, USA
Joined Oct 2003
3,465 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcid79 View Post
Were I to go with the external bec how do you disable an internal BEC? I tried sifting through the first 15 - 20 pages finding info about ESCs but that info is rather scarce..
Most "external" UBEC's come with instructions if you get a half-way decent one. Also plenty of info on the web and YouTube.

Aeronca
aeronca is online now Find More Posts by aeronca
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2012, 12:41 PM
Gravity impaired
jrjr's Avatar
United States, NY, Wolcott
Joined Nov 2004
1,514 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCalMatCat View Post
Only thing I see missing to make it a complete system is a power supply for that big 10a charger, heck you could charge 4 of those batteries at once with that thing at full 1C and still have some power left over :P.
Those Turnigy batteries he listed are rated at 5C Charge! I would use 3.5-4C for the first few charges then let er rip if your charger can handle it.

2200mah @ 5C = 11amp charge!! Nope that charger won't quite go that high but should suffice.

To disable the bec in your ESC simply remove the center red wire. Use a pin to depress the lock and you can pull the pin out and tape it off in case you ever do want to use it.
jrjr is offline Find More Posts by jrjr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 01:08 PM
Registered User
United States, NY, Wappingers Falls
Joined Jun 2011
578 Posts
And the olny other thing you'll need when ordering from HK is patience!!!! They use the slowest shipping services known to man. I've been waiting over 4 weeks for my last order. Sitting in JFK airport since 4/6!!!!
Maddmax is offline Find More Posts by Maddmax
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 01:35 PM
Registered User
elcid79's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
116 Posts
Would this work? As an ESC. I am going to order an external BEC unless you think thats not necissary. http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dye-10...ProductReviews
elcid79 is offline Find More Posts by elcid79
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 02:47 PM
Me a long time ago
Flypoppa's Avatar
London N.E. UK
Joined Jan 2007
6,085 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcid79 View Post
Would this work? As an ESC. I am going to order an external BEC unless you think thats not necissary. http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dye-10...ProductReviews
In my opinion there is no need for external BECs. Just get a decent 25-30 amp ESC with BEC, and a programing card.
As for charging lipos. The faster you charge them, the shorter their life. 1C is the way I go. It's safer and I am in no hurry.
Flypoppa is online now Find More Posts by Flypoppa
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 14, 2012, 02:55 PM
Gravity impaired
jrjr's Avatar
United States, NY, Wolcott
Joined Nov 2004
1,514 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flypoppa View Post
The faster you charge them, the shorter their life. 1C is the way I go. It's safer and I am in no hurry.
It's proven that the newer technology can be charged at higher rates with no impact to longevity.
jrjr is offline Find More Posts by jrjr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:01 PM
Registered User
elcid79's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
116 Posts
Would this be a good one... Just about to click go on my order..

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_3A_UBEC.html

And since I am new, should I put a programmer into the cart also, I have a little more free space.

Thanks again, y'all are great!
elcid79 is offline Find More Posts by elcid79
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:03 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcid79 View Post
Nice, good price and ready to go out of the box for that charger. I will be changing that. Also, I am still battling with this ESC. People are encouraging me to go with a nonlinear bec but the only ones that I can find integrated in the 20A range are linear. Any thoughts? Were I to go with the external bec how do you disable an internal BEC? I tried sifting through the first 15 - 20 pages finding info about ESCs but that info is rather scarce..
Like this.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:29 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flypoppa View Post
in my opinion there is no need for external becs. Just get a decent 25-30 amp esc with bec, and a programing card.
As for charging lipos. The faster you charge them, the shorter their life. 1c is the way i go. It's safer and i am in no hurry.
+1.
Aj
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:29 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrjr View Post
It's proven that the newer technology can be charged at higher rates with no impact to longevity.
I have 3 5C rated batteries, though my charger can't charge any of them that high except for the 500mah one :P.

Most of my batteries I quick charge at 2C and I have yet to have a problem. The exception I follow is the 2 batteries that where lost for a month, those guys I just charge at 1c.
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:30 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcid79 View Post
Would this be a good one... Just about to click go on my order..

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_3A_UBEC.html

And since I am new, should I put a programmer into the cart also, I have a little more free space.

Thanks again, y'all are great!
Yes. And, get the programming card, too.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:52 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Tested my new 1 watt 2.4Ghz booster today, Unfortunately it was too windy to try any real distance, plus I was getting heavy noise on my video signal FROM the booster, so I need to figure out how to solve that, probably just some more distance between me and the vRX antenna, however I did not get any failsafes in locations I usually do (There is a spot just above myself I will loose signal for a split second, and it didn't happen at all today), so I think it is working fine.

I did however rip my landing gear off trying to land in 25mph cross winds.... Not too bad it can be fixed in about 30 min . It wasn't a very pretty landing.... I came in against the wind and a little crossed to it, I was gliding as I was about 200 meters above myself and just did some 5 to 10 degree down angle dives turning as I came down... I got to about 30 feet off the ground and about 50 feet out from my desired touch down location, I angled up a little to slow down and prepare for a landing... well instead of just floating down like usual it just STOPPED in the air and hovered there... I nosed down some to come forward but she just dropped altitude fast so I gave her some throttle with a rocky pull out, came back around with low throttle to just barely come forward in the wind... I got to just above my touchdown spot... maybe 15 feet away, and about 15 feet up... I cut throttle and she hovered, I tried to nose it down to come in but she just shot for the grass and of course the LG took the impact :P Toobad my laptop cut off the recording before the landing :P
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 04:16 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCalMatCat View Post
Tested my new 1 watt 2.4Ghz booster today, Unfortunately it was too windy to try any real distance, plus I was getting heavy noise on my video signal FROM the booster, so I need to figure out how to solve that, probably just some more distance between me and the vRX antenna, however I did not get any failsafes in locations I usually do (There is a spot just above myself I will loose signal for a split second, and it didn't happen at all today), so I think it is working fine.

I did however rip my landing gear off trying to land in 25mph cross winds.... Not too bad it can be fixed in about 30 min . It wasn't a very pretty landing.... I came in against the wind and a little crossed to it, I was gliding as I was about 200 meters above myself and just did some 5 to 10 degree down angle dives turning as I came down... I got to about 30 feet off the ground and about 50 feet out from my desired touch down location, I angled up a little to slow down and prepare for a landing... well instead of just floating down like usual it just STOPPED in the air and hovered there... I nosed down some to come forward but she just dropped altitude fast so I gave her some throttle with a rocky pull out, came back around with low throttle to just barely come forward in the wind... I got to just above my touchdown spot... maybe 15 feet away, and about 15 feet up... I cut throttle and she hovered, I tried to nose it down to come in but she just shot for the grass and of course the LG took the impact :P Toobad my laptop cut off the recording before the landing :P
Not trying to start an argument here but I think if it was a 25mph cross wind your plane would have landed on it's own upside down in the next county.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 04:18 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500GENE View Post
Not trying to start an argument here but I think if it was a 25mph cross wind your plane would have landed on it's own upside down in the next county.
I looked at the local weather station info, it was actually 15 to 17 :P Felt like 20 to 25... at either rate it was WAY too windy, but I just HAD to test the amp :P.
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 04:36 PM
Novice in training
JoshB's Avatar
United States, NC, Statesville
Joined Aug 2011
708 Posts
This is what I use. www.dimensionengineering.com/products/parkbec

No wires to remove, just plug and play. Solder the power wires in line with the battery and plug the original ESC into it then plug it into the Rx. Easy and you dont have to worry anymore. $$ is the only down side but worth it in my opinion.
JoshB is offline Find More Posts by JoshB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Cyber Sky Parachute (Sky Surfer) shv2sail Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 May 28, 2013 02:14 AM
Discussion Sky Surfer nickwayne11c Electric Plane Talk 15 Nov 18, 2011 02:36 PM
Discussion Banana Hobby Sky Surfer Problems cavy92 Electric Plane Talk 56 Nov 02, 2010 02:49 AM
Question Sky Surfer LiPo mod, help... Freight Dog Power Systems 0 Aug 17, 2006 01:45 PM
Swashplate Assembly with Center Ball; is this the swash with ball mod i want? tekforce Micro Helis 4 Feb 08, 2004 05:28 PM