HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 09, 2011, 03:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
555 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fugitive_Bill View Post
Avi Rulz,

'Ajbaker' suggested a motor just few pages back on page#751, Post#11255

https://www.leaderhobby.com/product....=9394001224084

And tend to agree with him, looks like right motor to use to me and the price is right too!
When (not if, WHEN!) my stock motor fails, I'll get one of those or similar.

B!
According to the data (unless I am reading it wrong... which I do quite a bit), this motor will give me a max of 183watts with a 6" prop.
http://www.flybrushless.com/motor/view/559
Anything thats gonna give me more power that you guys would recommend for the EZ*??
AVIATION_RULZ is offline Find More Posts by AVIATION_RULZ
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2011, 03:23 PM
Row 0, Seat A
G550Ted's Avatar
Savannah, GA
Joined Jan 2008
2,705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by doomracing View Post
well it really comes down to this IMHO.

3) put a carbon rod down the fuse to make it rigid. my bixler has the groove for it, but didn't come with the rod. WHY???!!!
Because that slot was designed as the location of the long wire antenna for planes equipped with XX MHz radio systems.

Ted
G550Ted is online now Find More Posts by G550Ted
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 05:59 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by doomracing View Post
well it really comes down to this IMHO.


3) put a carbon rod down the fuse to make it rigid. my bixler has the groove for it, but didn't come with the rod. WHY???!!!
If you use a 2.4 tx/rx then use a cf rod in the groove. If you use 72mhz or another with a long antenna then you use a fiberglass tube in that grove and run the antenna wire through it and out the back....aka Easy Star.

If you run a 72mhz antenna through cf it will poo-poo* your range.


* high tech description
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 06:03 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G550Ted View Post
Because that slot was designed as the location of the long wire antenna for planes equipped with XX MHz radio systems.

Ted
They don't make a xx mhz radio system.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 06:10 PM
Row 0, Seat A
G550Ted's Avatar
Savannah, GA
Joined Jan 2008
2,705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500GENE View Post
They don't make a xx mhz radio system.
Youse ain't seen ma still, there, Joisey Boy!

Ted
G550Ted is online now Find More Posts by G550Ted
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 06:20 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G550Ted View Post
Youse ain't seen ma still, there, Joisey Boy!

Ted
Oh, that kinda radio. Maybe I cans stop on by fer a snort inspection of the components.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 06:27 PM
Row 0, Seat A
G550Ted's Avatar
Savannah, GA
Joined Jan 2008
2,705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500GENE View Post
Oh, that kinda radio. Maybe I cans stop on by fer a snort inspection of the components.
Hospitality abounds here for all but revenooors, commies and scallywags.

Ted
G550Ted is online now Find More Posts by G550Ted
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 06:40 PM
Registered User
San Diego, CA
Joined Dec 2006
1,280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVIATION_RULZ View Post
According to the data (unless I am reading it wrong... which I do quite a bit), this motor will give me a max of 183watts with a 6" prop.
http://www.flybrushless.com/motor/view/559
Anything thats gonna give me more power that you guys would recommend for the EZ*??
I haven't measured power on mine. But that Turnigy 2835-3900KV that I mentioned earlier, turns 21,100 RPM on the bench with a 11.1V, 2200mAh GensAce LiPo battery, a 40A ESC, and a three-blade Master Airscrew 6x4 prop.

And with that combination, it will climb straight up out of sight.

I'm pretty sure it's drawing more than 183W while it's doing it.

OTOH when I treat it more gently, I've gotten a 26-minute flight on it without running out of battery, and doing some slow climbs and a few stunts.
Little-Acorn is offline Find More Posts by Little-Acorn
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 06:58 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little-Acorn View Post
I haven't measured power on mine. But that Turnigy 2835-3900KV that I mentioned earlier, turns 21,100 RPM on the bench with a 11.1V, 2200mAh GensAce LiPo battery, a 40A ESC, and a three-blade Master Airscrew 6x4 prop.

And with that combination, it will climb straight up out of sight.

I'm pretty sure it's drawing more than 183W while it's doing it.

OTOH when I treat it more gently, I've gotten a 26-minute flight on it without running out of battery, and doing some slow climbs and a few stunts.
At what throttle setting for the 21000 rpm?

I'm starting to wonder if that is really a 3900kv motor or the manufacture is rating it overly optimistic.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 07:48 PM
Limited flyer
Limited flyer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarHopper44 View Post
When you're posting, & click the 'Manage Attachments' button, browse to & select the pic you wanta post, then hit Upload. After it/they do, it'll show you a thumbnail under 'Current Attachments'....and among other choices there's a panel for entering a Description for each pic.

That what you're talking about? Or how you add "I can haz chezburgr?!?' to one?
THANX. Uderstood
Limited flyer is offline Find More Posts by Limited flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 07:54 PM
Limited flyer
Limited flyer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
412 Posts
II know it's been covered here, but i am going to ask any way{poor memory}I know that foam tac is a good crack filler, but,
whats the procedure on sticking two fuse halves together [first time using this stuff}
Limited flyer is offline Find More Posts by Limited flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 08:00 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limited flyer View Post
II know it's been covered here, but i am going to ask any way{poor memory}I know that foam tac is a good crack filler, but,
whats the procedure on sticking two fuse halves together [first time using this stuff}
Use regular medium ca and save the foam tac for something else.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 08:17 PM
Limited flyer
Limited flyer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500GENE View Post
Use regular medium ca and save the foam tac for something else.
Explain why please. Would it be a giant pain in the arse to use for fuse halves. I thought ca was to brittle. I want to use something that i can peel apart later if i ave to.
Limited flyer is offline Find More Posts by Limited flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 08:30 PM
Limited flyer
Limited flyer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
412 Posts
SHOULD have made this one post but, I just got my self a vimeo account.how do i put a vid on the forum here, so's i can shows yall some flight footage.
Limited flyer is offline Find More Posts by Limited flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2011, 08:44 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limited flyer View Post
Explain why please. Would it be a giant pain in the arse to use for fuse halves. I thought ca was to brittle. I want to use something that i can peel apart later if i ave to.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limited flyer View Post
SHOULD have made this one post but, I just got my self a vimeo account.how do i put a vid on the forum here, so's i can shows yall some flight footage.
Just copy and paste the link from Vimeo here and it will show up.

CA works fine on this type foam. I have had several EZ Stars and SkyS planes over the years and never had to cut one open. If I HAD to I still could and just use ca to glue it back. CA is brittle in some applications like mounting motors but works well in joining the fuse. Glue that expands like Gorilla glue has a tendency to "push" the joint open as it cures. You could actually just tape the fuse together and it'll would just fine. Don't over think this. Get it together and get it in the air. If you are new at this then chances are you will smash the crap out of the plane learning to fly and get a new fuse anyway before wanting to open it up for something. Do what you feel is best with any advise given. There are many fine ways to do it.

Oh, also...ca is what Multiplex recommends to glue the EZ together. Been working fine for years.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Cyber Sky Parachute (Sky Surfer) shv2sail Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 May 28, 2013 02:14 AM
Discussion Sky Surfer nickwayne11c Electric Plane Talk 15 Nov 18, 2011 02:36 PM
Discussion Banana Hobby Sky Surfer Problems cavy92 Electric Plane Talk 56 Nov 02, 2010 02:49 AM
Question Sky Surfer LiPo mod, help... Freight Dog Power Systems 0 Aug 17, 2006 01:45 PM
Swashplate Assembly with Center Ball; is this the swash with ball mod i want? tekforce Micro Helis 4 Feb 08, 2004 05:28 PM