HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 08, 2012, 07:56 PM
Registered User
idletime's Avatar
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Apr 2011
1,511 Posts
Or you can use a little Purple loctite (No. 222) to prevent it unscrewing on its own.
idletime is online now Find More Posts by idletime
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 08, 2012, 09:16 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,370 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500GENE View Post
I've flown many tractor and many pusher type planes with collet prop adapters and some with just a nut a washer holding the prop on and never had one come loose.

If your prop did come loose it's because:

1. You need to go to the gym, it wasn't tight enough,
2. You're using the wrong size collet adapter.
3. The props hub was too thin and the threaded part of the adapter bottomed out in the cone before it was tight enough. (add a washer)
4. Prof loosen it while you were in the port-a-potty as a joke, (He's bad for that.)

Don't blame it on the way the motor turns. The prop doesn't have enough mass to cause that, especially a 6x4.
That and loosening motor mount screws.
Prof100 is online now Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 08, 2012, 10:15 PM
Registered User
elcid79's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
116 Posts
Would a 6x5.5e overload a 30A esc with the stock motor? If not would this yield better performance than the 6x4e Thanks...


And while we are on the topic what is the biggest motor anyone has ever put on one of these?
elcid79 is offline Find More Posts by elcid79
Last edited by elcid79; Jun 08, 2012 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:42 AM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcid79 View Post
2. Would a 6x5.5e overload a 30A esc with the stock motor? If not would this yield better performance than the 6x4e Thanks...

1. And while we are on the topic what is the biggest motor anyone has ever put on one of these?
1. I haven't.
2. Since you are asking that type of question, I strongly suggest that you invest in a watt meter (<$25) and test various combinations yourself and post the results here. Personally, I would never change props around without a watt meter.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:50 AM
Registered User
New Zealand, Canterbury, Rolleston
Joined Oct 2011
1,024 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500GENE View Post
Don't blame it on the way the motor turns. The prop doesn't have enough mass to cause that, especially a 6x4.
It does if you crash into a few trees, or I suspect that's what caused it. Power up just before a crash hoping to clear it but still get tangled...
Mac50L is offline Find More Posts by Mac50L
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Motor cover and mount retention
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 01:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
50 Posts
Fat bix

Quote:
Originally Posted by geotete View Post
Hello All,

I know that we already talked about this, but I don't find were.
By my calculations, my Bixler is a big FAT lady, the total with everything for FPV is 4,40 Lbs.
Is there anyone in here with something similar?

Geotete
I am just catching up on posts here, but I had a 2.80# Bix, stock motor with all the other bells and so on (6.5x4 apc, FY31a, 3200 mAh TurNIgy, dragon osd, 540dvi cam pan/tilt, 5.8 Ghz 500 mW TVx...). It went up and 2 seconds later, nose down. This the maiden voyage, I observed in wonder as I was looking at the tail of the plane and the nose, all at the same time. CG set at 65mm from leading edge... thought it felt 'nose heavy' but I stayed with manufacture specs... not sure if pushing main battery back a bit --->CG@70mm would have helped...

and Video... Yeah I forgot to plug that one cable in. My conclusion, stock motor on 11.1V 3S @ 265W with 24-26A at full throttle yields roughly 80Watt/#, on my setup. I didn't get a thrust reading but I am a believer it is not enough. Solution: getting new motor and external adapter to run 8x5 to 10x8 on 4S for testing. Theoretically, 14V batt at 30A will provide over 400 watts on a 1450kV. Will test and find out before trying that again...
Gotwings is offline Find More Posts by Gotwings
Last edited by Gotwings; Jun 09, 2012 at 07:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 08:06 AM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gotwings View Post
I am just catching up on posts here, but I had a 2.80# Bix, stock motor with all the other bells and so on (6.5x4 apc, FY31a, 3200 mAh TurNIgy, dragon osd, 540dvi cam pan/tilt, 5.8 Ghz 500 mW TVx...). It went up and 2 seconds later, nose down. This the maiden voyage, I observed in wonder as I was looking at the tail of the plane and the nose, all at the same time. CG set at 65mm from leading edge... thought it felt 'nose heavy' but I stayed with manufacture specs... not sure if pushing main battery back a bit --->CG@70mm would have helped...

and Video... Yeah I forgot to plug that one cable in. My conclusion, stock motor on 11.1V 3S @ 265W with 24-26A at full throttle yields roughly 80Watt/#, on my setup. I didn't get a thrust reading but I am a believer it is not enough. Solution: getting new motor and external adapter to run 8x5 to 10x8 on 4S for testing. Theoretically, 14V batt at 30A will provide over 400 watts on a 1450kV. Will test and find out before trying that again...
My plane is almost the same weight, and flew fine with stock motor, though I have since upgraded to 2200kv motor, but at either rate at that weight you need to hand toss it pretty good, or use LG like I do :P.
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 10:57 AM
Limited flyer
Limited flyer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by idletime View Post
Or you can use a little Purple loctite (No. 222) to prevent it unscrewing on its own.
Or you could use this
Limited flyer is offline Find More Posts by Limited flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 11:46 AM
wottree
United Kingdom, England, Exeter
Joined Nov 2011
299 Posts
Guys, thinking about ordering a new SS next week. Gonna try and learn from my mistakes first time around ie

Wont paint
No flaps
less weight
glue on horizontal
less wiring
check CG before removing nose weight. She has been nose or tail heavy from the start even after checking COG again and again! Think I am just carrying to much weight!

I want to be able to go vertical on my new SS. just cant do it with current set up!

Running a 2200 with 45 ESC, Turnigy 1400kv with a 6x4 prop.

The prop just cuts in to the foam after time.

Any ideas?

see att:


ands
ands is offline Find More Posts by ands
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 11:58 AM
Limited flyer
Limited flyer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
412 Posts
Not saying this plane is bad, in fact, it;s great. If you really want vertical out of this plane, then the motor is just a start, so many mod's to consider when you make a rocket out of a powered glider. There are better planes for your wants, with less hassle,IMO.
Limited flyer is offline Find More Posts by Limited flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:09 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ands View Post
Guys, thinking about ordering a new SS next week. Gonna try and learn from my mistakes first time around ie

Wont paint
No flaps
less weight
glue on horizontal
less wiring
check CG before removing nose weight. She has been nose or tail heavy from the start even after checking COG again and again! Think I am just carrying to much weight!

I want to be able to go vertical on my new SS. just cant do it with current set up!

Running a 2200 with 45 ESC, Turnigy 1400kv with a 6x4 prop.

The prop just cuts in to the foam after time.

Any ideas?


see att:


ands

You have 2 choices.
With a 6x4 prop you need to speed it up. 1400kv will fly it but not give you the performance you're after. Make or buy a motor mount that will raise the motor so you can use a 7 or even 8 inch prop with that 1400.

Second, if wanting to stay in the stock mount then you will need to up the kv by using a 2000-2500kv motor that will spin that size prop fast enough for you to sit up and take notice.
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:16 PM
wottree
United Kingdom, England, Exeter
Joined Nov 2011
299 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limited flyer View Post
Not saying this plane is bad, in fact, it;s great. If you really want vertical out of this plane, then the motor is just a start, so many mod's to consider when you make a rocket out of a powered glider. There are better planes for your wants, with less hassle,IMO.
Thanks LF, Dont get me wrong, I love this plane and use it for UAV but want to get up there fast and against the wind with the least of hassle and time whilst still keeping the glide factor

Regards

Ands
ands is offline Find More Posts by ands
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:18 PM
wottree
United Kingdom, England, Exeter
Joined Nov 2011
299 Posts
looking at a 6x5 prop.

will also re-enforce motor mount to avoid flex this time.

Ands
ands is offline Find More Posts by ands
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:48 PM
Limited flyer
Limited flyer's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ands View Post
Thanks LF, Dont get me wrong, I love this plane and use it for UAV but want to get up there fast and against the wind with the least of hassle and time whilst still keeping the glide factor

Regards

Ands
AH, i see says the blind man
Limited flyer is offline Find More Posts by Limited flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:49 PM
wottree
United Kingdom, England, Exeter
Joined Nov 2011
299 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500GENE View Post
You have 2 choices.
With a 6x4 prop you need to speed it up. 1400kv will fly it but not give you the performance you're after. Make or buy a motor mount that will raise the motor so you can use a 7 or even 8 inch prop with that 1400.

Second, if wanting to stay in the stock mount then you will need to up the kv by using a 2000-2500kv motor that will spin that size prop fast enough for you to sit up and take notice.
Thanks for the advice man. Think i will make a prop mount and run a larger prop.
Got lots of Ply and dont really want to by a new motor at the mo.

Best

Ands
ands is offline Find More Posts by ands
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Cyber Sky Parachute (Sky Surfer) shv2sail Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 May 28, 2013 02:14 AM
Discussion Sky Surfer nickwayne11c Electric Plane Talk 15 Nov 18, 2011 02:36 PM
Discussion Banana Hobby Sky Surfer Problems cavy92 Electric Plane Talk 56 Nov 02, 2010 02:49 AM
Question Sky Surfer LiPo mod, help... Freight Dog Power Systems 0 Aug 17, 2006 01:45 PM
Swashplate Assembly with Center Ball; is this the swash with ball mod i want? tekforce Micro Helis 4 Feb 08, 2004 05:28 PM