Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:33 PM
Registered User
United States, IL, Aurora
Joined Oct 2012
53 Posts
I didn't see an aileron-rudder mix on my radio. I saw a lot of other stuff. I am going to have to re-read the instruction manual again for the dx6i. Then I will try it. Thanks for the quick response.
john97618 is offline Find More Posts by john97618
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:43 PM
Registered User
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,050 Posts
You are right. That is why I said you have to use your user mix, or free mix, or whatever it is called on the DX6i. I believe you have one available user mix where you define what gets mixed to what.

Try

Programmable Mixing 1 and 2....................................page 70

Set at 100% and always on.
aeajr is offline Find More Posts by aeajr
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:51 PM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by john97618 View Post
I didn't see an aileron-rudder mix on my radio. I saw a lot of other stuff. I am going to have to re-read the instruction manual again for the dx6i. Then I will try it. Thanks for the quick response.
Only DX7 and up TX's have the Aileron>Rudder mix as a "canned" mix.

The DX6i needs to use Mix 1 & Mix 2.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:30 AM
Registered User
United States, IL, Aurora
Joined Oct 2012
53 Posts
You guys were extremely helpful. I was able to do mix1 and got the rudder and elevator on the right stick. The left stick still has rudder/throttle control but i don't really care as long as I can control yaw and pitch from the right stick. I hope my question wasn't silly but I am new to this. I haven't flown for almost 30 years. (I'm old) and decided to get back into it with electrics. Lovin it. My wife, not so much. She keeps asking where am I going to put all my planes. 4 so far. I said along side me in bed. She said try the sofa.
john97618 is offline Find More Posts by john97618
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:37 AM
Registered User
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,050 Posts
Glad to help but understand that your right stick is pitch and roll. On a R/E/T aircraft with high dihedral wings the right stick is still pitch and roll. Roll is induced by yaw/dihedral coupling.

If you are interested in understanding more about this, take a look here. This is the link I posted in my original message to you. You are right in that you are making YAW adjustments when you move the rudder, but that is not why you are making them when you are using the right stick.

You are new to this and I don't want you getting wrong ideas and terms stuck in your head. If you read and understand the article it will help you going forward.

> WHAT GOES ON WHICH STICK ... and Why?
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...63&postcount=6

From the article:

Depending on the design of your plane, the rudder can play different roles so
its placement can change. On dihedral or polyhedral winged planes with no
ailerons, the rudder is your primary turning surface. It provides both roll
and yaw control so it goes on the right stick for roll control, as the primary
turning surface. This stick also has pitch/elevator control.

If you think of it in this manner, there is no confusion moving back and forth
between single stick and dual stick radios. On a single stick radio, pitch
and roll are on the single stick, which usually happens to be oriented to the
right side of the radio. It doesn't matter if it is a rudder/elevator plane
or an aileron/elevator plane. Pitch and roll are on the right stick, or the
only stick. .
aeajr is offline Find More Posts by aeajr
Last edited by aeajr; Dec 11, 2012 at 08:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:37 PM
Elfi Flyer
Doug Sipprell's Avatar
Rock Hill, SC
Joined Oct 2002
5,546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by john97618 View Post
Lovin it. My wife, not so much. She keeps asking where am I going to put all my planes. 4 so far. I said along side me in bed. She said try the sofa.
Was she referring to the planes or to you?


RD
Doug Sipprell is offline Find More Posts by Doug Sipprell
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Big Red Cadillac
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:24 PM
Registered User
Petefoss's Avatar
Oxford, Michigan, United States
Joined Aug 1999
2,290 Posts
Both I assume!
Petefoss is online now Find More Posts by Petefoss
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 07:40 AM
Team OFG (Old Fat Guys)
BigD1961's Avatar
United States, KY, Leitchfield
Joined Jul 2008
440 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IfIHadWings View Post
Just picked up two of these Tx-R at Tower for $39 each. Giving one to my buddy so we can mess around with formation flying and dog fighting.
I bought my second one during this sale. Great little planes and will fly great low and slow which i love doing. One word of advice though. Re-glue everything before flying. The landing gear and struts will break off at the slightest provocation. Also put packing tape on all leading edges. Ok thats two words of advice. Free though so.......
BigD1961 is offline Find More Posts by BigD1961
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: More SEFF pics.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 07:59 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Amarillo
Joined Mar 2005
61 Posts
Just bought a barely used one at a swap meet. No TX. Replaced the RX with a PKZ J-3 brick (thanks for 2010 notes and pictures, UNGN). Little nose heavy, otherwise ready to go when the weather cooperates.
aghost is offline Find More Posts by aghost
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:21 AM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Nose heavy is fine... It just needs more up elevator and may fly a little faster than with the Brick back a little.

Really Nose heavy likely won't be able to loop. If it can loop, your CG is good.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 07:29 AM
Huge member!
BRUTUS2238's Avatar
Pawtucket R.I.
Joined May 2008
478 Posts
Stupid is a Stupid does!

Well after what felt like forever we finally got a nice calm day here. I closed the shop early, grabbed the Albatross and headed out to do some flying. I finally found a place big enough and away she went. Right into a huge pine tree, just trimmed her out right into the tree. an entire field in front of me but somehow I managed to watch it fly right into the tree. Never turned away from it just kept trying to trim it as it flew into the tree. So there it sits about 30' up and its pouring rain now . So I guess Ill hold off flying until the snow melts off the clubs field. I guess this is about the stupidest thing Ive ever done as far as flying goes. Brutus.
BRUTUS2238 is offline Find More Posts by BRUTUS2238
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 08:43 AM
Registered User
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,050 Posts
> Getting planes out of trees
http://www.flyesl.org/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=239
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=167396

Brutus,

We have all done it at one time or another.
aeajr is offline Find More Posts by aeajr
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 10:40 AM
Huge member!
BRUTUS2238's Avatar
Pawtucket R.I.
Joined May 2008
478 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeajr View Post
> Getting planes out of trees
http://www.flyesl.org/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=239
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=167396

Brutus,

We have all done it at one time or another.
I drove by the field this AM in the rain,its fallen into some branches and is about 20' up now. Its pretty windy today so Ill drop by on my way home tonight and check it out again. I think my buddy has one of those extension poles shown in the H.Depot link. Ill borrow it and see if its long enough. The thing that kills me about it is ,I never even flinched as it was heading into the tree,just kept trimming it out like I thought the tree was going to move out of the way or something???? DUH!! I just finished detailing it too. Brutus
BRUTUS2238 is offline Find More Posts by BRUTUS2238
Last edited by BRUTUS2238; Feb 27, 2013 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2013, 07:05 AM
Registered User
Dallas USA, TX
Joined Jul 2010
205 Posts
I just replaced the prop on my Albatros. What kid of glue is best to attach the foam spinner?
eagle1933 is online now Find More Posts by eagle1933
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2013, 07:53 PM
-=BS=-
BlazingStar's Avatar
Thousand Oaks, CA
Joined Jul 2009
1,152 Posts
Canopy glue (formula 56), UHU POR or even plain old white Elmer's.
You don't need much.
BlazingStar is offline Find More Posts by BlazingStar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Scorpio Albatros DV oscarlovel Power Systems 1 Oct 17, 2007 12:26 PM
Is there an electric Albatros DV out there? Jeremy Z Parkflyers 11 Dec 15, 2005 11:53 PM
Sold NIB Kavan Albatros DV Tommy D Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Oct 06, 2005 09:18 AM
Great Planes Albatros DV??? indyrcpilot Foamies (Kits) 14 Apr 10, 2005 11:00 AM
Albatros DV CraigO Scale Kit/Scratch Built 11 Jul 28, 2002 11:44 AM