SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 23, 2011, 05:13 PM
when dreams come true
Turkey, Istanbul, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2006
61 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targetlocman View Post
I now use the rubber bands to play with the cats.


What is twinstar, any links for that?
delimawi is offline Find More Posts by delimawi
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 23, 2011, 06:02 PM
Fly Big, Low and Slow....
Alpina540's Avatar
USA, VA, Wicomico
Joined Aug 2008
1,358 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targetlocman View Post
No rubber bands for me.... two Twinstar wing mounts and nylon bolts on my Skywalker. I now use the rubber bands to play with the cats.
If anyone has the skywalker rubberbands and is not using them I wil buy them off you as long as they are in good condition.
Alpina540 is offline Find More Posts by Alpina540
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 07:03 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
The keychain cams generally suck, but all those wavy's are telling you, you need to
balance your prop. A CCD camera won't show the vibration as much, but all
current compact HD cameras use CMOS sensors so they will all show it.

ian
Yea I allready knew all that. I've been doing AP and AV for 10 years. This was simply stuck to the wing with double sided tape with no foam. The prop is allready balanced.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 23, 2011, 07:04 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpina540 View Post
If anyone has the skywalker rubberbands and is not using them I wil buy them off you as long as they are in good condition.
Great planes #64 will work. That's what I use.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 23, 2011, 07:06 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by takeoff2 View Post
Sorry for the intervention, but some of you,seem to not know how to mount the rubber bands.Attach a picture with correct position.
As long as you criss cross them you don't need to do anything else. You don't have to run 2 lengthwise as the wing fits into a pocket in the fuse.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 23, 2011, 07:18 PM
Gravity is patient............
Joined Mar 2006
1,910 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by delimawi View Post


What is twinstar, any links for that?
This was not my idea, I found out about it in this thread.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPVG7&P=Z

Along with:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTDE8&P=7

Add two plywood (1/4" or thicker) pieces and either drill and tap for 5mm thread or use 5mm blind nuts.

No more rubber bands, screw the wings in place, and the twinstar wing mounts also hold the wings together. Just press them into the wings in two places and then locate the plywood in fuse directly underneath them. The screws pass through the plastic mounts between the two wings and thread into the plywood mounted in the top of the fuse (in the cavity where the wing plugs in).
billyd60 is offline Find More Posts by billyd60
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 07:47 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,712 Posts
.....My SkyWalker would violently do a 360 Loop with full throttle and only/slightest amount of "up" elevator.....scary! it happend soo quick!

Someone mentioned that I was too "tail heavy" ?
I'm at 20mm COG.

but I think my rubber bands on the wings were not strong enough to hold the wings' down into the fuselage. I will use all 4 rubber bands diagonally this time around, and buy more #64 RubberBands.

so all in all, the cause of this was the front leading edge was raising/rising up from the fuselage?????? anyone confirm if this is true.
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 09:26 PM
Fly Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!
EarthOrbiter's Avatar
Central California USA
Joined Feb 2011
379 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rclab1 View Post
.....My SkyWalker would violently do a 360 Loop with full throttle and only/slightest amount of "up" elevator.....scary! it happend soo quick!

Someone mentioned that I was too "tail heavy" ?
I'm at 20mm COG.

but I think my rubber bands on the wings were not strong enough to hold the wings' down into the fuselage. I will use all 4 rubber bands diagonally this time around, and buy more #64 RubberBands.

so all in all, the cause of this was the front leading edge was raising/rising up from the fuselage?????? anyone confirm if this is true.
This happened with mine as well. When the planes angle of attack is increased the lifting pressure moves forward on the wing. At a given speed and angle the force can be large. It is important to secure the front of the wing unless flying upside down. After setting the bands I grab the leading edge and give it a brisk lift upward verifying it will not separate.
EarthOrbiter is offline Find More Posts by EarthOrbiter
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 10:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
143 Posts
Finally ordered one Skywalker frame from BevRC + FY20 II.

The journey begins.

Now to order other parts!
Strudel is offline Find More Posts by Strudel
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 12:26 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Apr 2011
136 Posts
First of all, sorry for the noob questions. This is my first plane that I'm building myself and I've definitely jumped in on the deep end but it's gone well... so far

I'm wondering how to properly mount the motor to my Skywalker. Does the wood mount that came with the Skywalker screw onto the motor with the metal X mount that came with the motor, sandwiched inbetween? And then do I glue the wood mount onto the foam mount position on the Skywalker?

If so, do I need to enlarge the hole on the wood mount since there is metal ring mounted on the motor shaft (see picture) which won't fit through the wood mount? Or can I simply remove the metal ring? What is it for anyway?


Name: IMG_4995.jpg
Views: 148
Size: 100.4 KB
Description:

I've already cut out a compartment in the foam mount so the motor shaft can spin freely in there? Was that the right way to do it?

Finally, should I be angling the motor a certain way or is whatever angle currently on the foam mount sufficient?

Again, sorry for the bunch of beginner questions and thanks in advance!
JLager is offline Find More Posts by JLager
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 12:31 AM
Fly Big, Low and Slow....
Alpina540's Avatar
USA, VA, Wicomico
Joined Aug 2008
1,358 Posts
That metal ring holds the motor together, best not remove it.

Go ahead and make the hole in the ply larger than the ring to fit.
Alpina540 is offline Find More Posts by Alpina540
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 12:32 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Apr 2011
136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpina540 View Post
That metal ring holds the motor together, best not remove it.
Thanks
JLager is offline Find More Posts by JLager
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 12:53 AM
Fast and low...
aa78's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
837 Posts
SW video from this weekend:

20110522 - Skywalker EPO FPV flight (8 min 40 sec)


Nearly crashed it but luck was on my side for now.

5.8GHz 200mW Vtx was shifted from canopy to the right side of fuselage for this flight resulting in more than usual static.
aa78 is offline Find More Posts by aa78
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 02:17 AM
Never fly an A model anything!
jayb1rdz's Avatar
Antarctica
Joined Apr 2008
4,983 Posts
Hey aa, Islamambad is not as green as I remember it. I visited as a bank officer in the '90's. I was always told it was similar to one of our modern planned cities here in Australia (Canberra). I wasn't disappointed.

Maybe it was seasonal. From memory , I was there in september.

I would have been a very nervous flier with that much static. What range do you reckon you got?? J
jayb1rdz is offline Find More Posts by jayb1rdz
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 03:15 AM
Registered User
korea
Joined Jun 2010
153 Posts
queston for landing wheel

hello,

want to hear your opinions about landing wheel to skywalker...

will the landing wheel be a protection to the camera equipment when landing?

if not, I don't c the need to attach the landing gear...
toeickris is offline Find More Posts by toeickris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Yesterday 04:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 11:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 10:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 12:45 PM