HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 08, 2011, 01:04 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,378 Posts
There's a small channel just above where the CF boom runs for the wires.
I use a couple dabs of hot melt glue to hold the wires down and out of the way
before adding the glue to join the halves. If you go back a page or two, you'll
see a discussion of how how people are taking twist out.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 08, 2011, 01:09 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,465 Posts
I noticed that on my SkyWalker that the tail boom and the Vertical/Horizontal tail
wiggle quite a bit. (I have installed all the proper carbon rods per assembly on this thread).

I was thinking of putting a long thin/flat carbon rod from the prop area all the way to the tail section to reduce that "tail wiggle".


Anyone do this yet? .....so to stiffen' up the tail boom all the way towards the horizontal/vertical end.
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 02:35 PM
Registered User
Netherlands
Joined Sep 2007
414 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy321 View Post
Are you guys feeding you elevator and rudder extensions through the cf boom?

And if I have some tail twist, will 30 min epoxy and just holding it where I want keep it in the right place after it dries?

-Tyler
Yes an yes.
marco899 is offline Find More Posts by marco899
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 04:09 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
1,176 Posts
First test today (FPV) with my Skywalker !!




Inside:

5000mAh 3s lipo for motor
1700mAh 3s Lipo for cam, BEC etc..
FY21Ap \ FY117 OSD
Fatshark cam with pan\tilt
Video switch for 2 cam
Strobe on each wing

This was my first flight, and maybe my last one !!
The first impression was bad..

Bad:

- Need allot of speed to take of the runway
- Need a long runway
- Not so easy to turn around in the air (compared to my Easystar)
- Need speed to hold altitude
- Falling down fast if no motor throttle
- Big and clumsy
- Coming in FAST on landing, you need a long strip to land
- Not able to hand throw it (using 3s, maybe better on 4s lipo?)

Well, that was my first impression.
I`m glad I still have my Easystar, as I think I will continue to use that as my main plane in the future.

The FY21AP need more soft mount to work also in the SW, on this maiden flight I notice the horizontal line was going crazy because of the motor vibration


Any other here that have bad experience with theyr SW?
liteglow is online now Find More Posts by liteglow
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 04:13 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2011
1,289 Posts
hey dude, do you really need a 1700mah for cam power? thats a lot of weight? what vtx gear are you runnhing to need that much power?
cheers
p

p.s. can sympathise with some of the comments. what do you mean by SW?


Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
First test today (FPV) with my Skywalker !!




Inside:

5000mAh 3s lipo for motor
1700mAh 3s Lipo for cam, BEC etc..
FY21Ap \ FY117 OSD
Fatshark cam with pan\tilt
Video switch for 2 cam
Strobe on each wing

This was my first flight, and maybe my last one !!
The first impression was bad..

Bad:

- Need allot of speed to take of the runway
- Need a long runway
- Not so easy to turn around in the air (compared to my Easystar)
- Need speed to hold altitude
- Falling down fast if no motor throttle
- Big and clumsy
- Coming in FAST on landing, you need a long strip to land
- Not able to hand throw it (using 3s, maybe better on 4s lipo?)

Well, that was my first impression.
I`m glad I still have my Easystar, as I think I will continue to use that as my main plane in the future.

The FY21AP need more soft mount to work also in the SW, on this maiden flight I notice the horizontal line was going crazy because of the motor vibration


Any other here that have bad experience with theyr SW?
PMRfly is offline Find More Posts by PMRfly
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 08, 2011, 04:17 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
1,176 Posts
1700mAh , hmm maybe I dont need it?
But I feel safe when I know I have more than I need and not the other way

I have a 5volt cam, Lawmate 1.2ghz 1000mW TX !
hmm SW (SkyWalker) :P
liteglow is online now Find More Posts by liteglow
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 04:25 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2011
1,289 Posts
SW... Doh! Sorry dude, only just woke up ;-)

i only use a 500 or 800 for vtx and dont seem to run out. then again i have only just started flying the SW. i'm also using lawmate 1.2

in terms of your specific feedback, i reckon yoru issue may be weight. what is your total weight? although i must admit, she doesnt fly / turn on a dime, so probably not much you can do for that issue. i'm using mine mainly for long range.
PMRfly is offline Find More Posts by PMRfly
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 08, 2011, 04:34 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
717 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
This was my first flight, and maybe my last one !!
The first impression was bad..

Bad:

- Need allot of speed to take of the runway
- Need a long runway
- Not so easy to turn around in the air (compared to my Easystar)
- Need speed to hold altitude
- Falling down fast if no motor throttle
- Big and clumsy
- Coming in FAST on landing, you need a long strip to land
- Not able to hand throw it (using 3s, maybe better on 4s lipo?)
You're doing something (very) wrong. I bet you're using an underpower motor (or bad match with prop) or a wrong (too forward) CG.. or both.
Because:

It takes off in no space.
It turns alot more tight than the easystar (if needed) simply because it has the airelons, if you use the rudder it turns exactly like an easystar.
It's capable of gliding at less speed than an EZ setup for FPV (increased payload).
For the same reason above it lands in less space (at at less speed) than a loaded EZ.
It really comes down faster (with belly) with no motor, if you have the CG too forward (my initial "problem").
I trow it by hand exactly like i do with my easy star.
All the above with 10000mAh aboard! ... you have just a 5Ah, it should fly like a breeze, so double review your setup, there's definitively something wrong!
npole is offline Find More Posts by npole
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 04:50 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
1,176 Posts
thanx for the inspiring words npole

Hmm yes I guess I need to do some more flight to get comfortable.
BTW: Easystar is my only plane before this !!
So aileron is totally new for me.

When you use 10A , I doupt my weight is any more than yours when I only have 5A, and no GoPro at this moment.

The weight CG seems fine ?
When I fly it will not stall, only glide (But fast is my impression) .
It feels (again compared to ES) more like driving a SUV and not a sporty Japanese car haha


The motor is the one that did follow my ES when bought at Foxtech.
But maybe I need to use 4s lipo?
liteglow is online now Find More Posts by liteglow
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 05:09 PM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
San Francisco
Joined May 2009
1,091 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
First test today (FPV) with my Skywalker !!

Inside:

5000mAh 3s lipo for motor
1700mAh 3s Lipo for cam, BEC etc..
FY21Ap \ FY117 OSD
Fatshark cam with pan\tilt
Video switch for 2 cam
Strobe on each wing

This was my first flight, and maybe my last one !!
The first impression was bad..

Bad:

- Need allot of speed to take of the runway
- Need a long runway
- Not so easy to turn around in the air (compared to my Easystar)
- Need speed to hold altitude
- Falling down fast if no motor throttle
- Big and clumsy
- Coming in FAST on landing, you need a long strip to land
- Not able to hand throw it (using 3s, maybe better on 4s lipo?)

Well, that was my first impression.
I`m glad I still have my Easystar, as I think I will continue to use that as my main plane in the future.

The FY21AP need more soft mount to work also in the SW, on this maiden flight I notice the horizontal line was going crazy because of the motor vibration


Any other here that have bad experience with theyr SW?
My impressions are completely the oposite from yours. After flying my Skywalker, my EasyStar was in the trash can. I don't think there is any comparison. You need to read through this thread for all the good ideas others have come up with. Including Daemon's ideas on putting the CG 30mm behind the servo wires. I'm guessing you have it close to the servo wires, which is probably why it flies like a brick. And it looks like your main gear are way to far forward.

And this plane is almost twice the size of the Easy Star. What would make you think it would fly the same?
rsowder is offline Find More Posts by rsowder
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 07:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
717 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
thanx for the inspiring words npole

Hmm yes I guess I need to do some more flight to get comfortable.
BTW: Easystar is my only plane before this !!
So aileron is totally new for me.

When you use 10A , I doupt my weight is any more than yours when I only have 5A, and no GoPro at this moment.

The weight CG seems fine ?
When I fly it will not stall, only glide (But fast is my impression) .
It feels (again compared to ES) more like driving a SUV and not a sporty Japanese car haha
Let us know about this:

- The motor you're using (specs: KV, Watts);
- The propeller you're using (size and pitch);
- Total weigth of your SW;
- Where's located your current CG.

With the data above it will be easy to find what's wrong.

Quote:
The motor is the one that did follow my ES when bought at Foxtech.
But maybe I need to use 4s lipo?
I doubt that you used a motor on your EZ that may matches the SW requirements, so prolly that's your first thing to change.. but better to give us some details.
npole is offline Find More Posts by npole
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 08:14 PM
Gravity is patient............
Joined Mar 2006
1,908 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsowder View Post
My impressions are completely the oposite from yours. After flying my Skywalker, my EasyStar was in the trash can. I don't think there is any comparison. You need to read through this thread for all the good ideas others have come up with. Including Daemon's ideas on putting the CG 30mm behind the servo wires. I'm guessing you have it close to the servo wires, which is probably why it flies like a brick. And it looks like your main gear are way to far forward.

And this plane is almost twice the size of the Easy Star. What would make you think it would fly the same?
Wow 30mm behind the servo wires?? That's over an inch further back than spec! What is the benefit of such a heavy tail? Or are the instructions (75mm from leading edge) just plain wrong?
billyd60 is offline Find More Posts by billyd60
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 08:37 PM
Postcards From The Purple Edge
tuppertn's Avatar
United States, OK, Sand Springs
Joined May 2007
3,919 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targetlocman View Post
Wow 30mm behind the servo wires?? That's over an inch further back than spec! What is the benefit of such a heavy tail? Or are the instructions (75mm from leading edge) just plain wrong?
To save Ian from having to re-write that answer:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=5831
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=5239

kendall
tuppertn is offline Find More Posts by tuppertn
Last edited by tuppertn; May 08, 2011 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 09:13 PM
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
USA, TN, Dickson
Joined Nov 2004
998 Posts
Liteglow, you don't think it could be that you are getting a lot of drag with the big hole in the front do you? I know most people have the hatch there.
rc-mike is offline Find More Posts by rc-mike
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 10:37 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
15 Posts
be carefull on newest skywalker...my wing broke off at the ends of rods in wings ....this while flying straight at hald throttle and only had a digital camera on board...manufacture said it must of been from a steep climb!! as well as it will not handle over 1.8kg anyway had this happen to a friend fpv shywalker too...if its not meant to put a few grams in it why the space? anyone want to see their responce will be more then happy to forward it along with pictures of plane...buyers beware!!!!!
danvegas is offline Find More Posts by danvegas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 23 Aug 08, 2010 06:27 AM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM