HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 12, 2010, 10:51 AM
Whats the wrst that can happn?
AdamChicago's Avatar
Chicago, IL USA
Joined May 2010
2,694 Posts
Well I re-glued the motor last night with tape over the hole in the ply under the bearings for the shaft and THE SAME THING HAPPENED...the motor is totally locked up. Last time I noticed no glue made it through the screw holes but it did go through the bearing shaft hole, but I took care of that this time...confused.

Now I'll have to cut it away again and hopefully be able to salvage the motor again and try Crist's approach which makes total sense and seems like a real solid mount...thanks Crist.
AdamChicago is offline Find More Posts by AdamChicago
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 12, 2010, 11:19 AM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
United States, TX, Waxahachie
Joined Mar 2008
2,485 Posts
[QUOTE=

Now I'll have to cut it away again and hopefully be able to salvage the motor again and try Crist's approach which makes total sense and seems like a real solid mount...thanks Crist.[/QUOTE]

You're welcome, and good luck with that motor.
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 11:41 AM
Whats the wrst that can happn?
AdamChicago's Avatar
Chicago, IL USA
Joined May 2010
2,694 Posts
Glue In Motor AGAIN!

You can see the blue tape over the shaft bearing hole in the mount ply but somehow the Gorilla glue got into it...don't know how because it definitely covered the entire hole and was pressed solidly against the ply.

The motor's shaft bearings were covered in the glue that seeped through.

Once again I was able to scrape the glue from the outer bearing encasement. Then pulled the center bearing out to expose the glue that leaked-in. Cleared that out and the motor lives again! ...but with only 8 lives in tact
AdamChicago is offline Find More Posts by AdamChicago
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 11:46 AM
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
United States, MI, Detroit
Joined Feb 2004
9,096 Posts
I suggest gluing the mount in place, then screwing the motor to the mount, maybe with a drop of CA on the screws to help them bite into the foam under the wood. Also, use just a little gorilla glue, looks like you're using too much
ashdec87 is offline Find More Posts by ashdec87
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 11:56 AM
Whats the wrst that can happn?
AdamChicago's Avatar
Chicago, IL USA
Joined May 2010
2,694 Posts
Thanks Ash...on my way to the hobby store to get some ply now.
AdamChicago is offline Find More Posts by AdamChicago
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 02:55 PM
Registered User
EDI PAULO's Avatar
DANBURY CT.
Joined Apr 2010
201 Posts
Bec

Hello guys
I`m just finishing my skywalker and i`m worry about the amount of servos:

Rudder=1
elev. =1
ailer. = 2
flaps = 2
cam = 2
total of 8 servos

I`m thinking about using a bec, but not sure witch one, i`m thinking in using this one:
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...0&pid=B3144784

Please let me know if this is the right one for my set up!!

Thanks Edi.
EDI PAULO is online now Find More Posts by EDI PAULO
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 02:58 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDI PAULO View Post
Hello guys
I`m just finishing my skywalker and i`m worry about the amount of servos:

Rudder=1
elev. =1
ailer. = 2
flaps = 2
cam = 2
total of 8 servos

I`m thinking about using a bec, but not sure witch one, i`m thinking in using this one:
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...0&pid=B3144784

Please let me know if this is the right one for my set up!!

Thanks Edi.
That BEC "should" work.... but you don't say what servos you are using... analog?... digital?....cheap?.....big?...... small? .....etc....

.........you may want to have read thru this thread...

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1277428
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 03:25 PM
Registered User
EDI PAULO's Avatar
DANBURY CT.
Joined Apr 2010
201 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxiex View Post
That BEC "should" work.... but you don't say what servos you are using... analog?... digital?....cheap?.....big?...... small? .....etc....

.........you may want to have read thru this thread...

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1277428
Hello Galaxiex

i`m using this servos http://www.servocity.com/html/hs-5055mg_servo.html and this ESC http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...2&pid=B3144783
Thanks for the help.
EDI PAULO is online now Find More Posts by EDI PAULO
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 04:26 PM
KJ4WFG
modbuilder's Avatar
United States, SC, York
Joined Dec 2007
581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmonster99 View Post
The single wheel issue is not a problem, it depends on what you want to do:

-if you want to take off and land on wheels, then it is a no no , you will not be able to ROG on one wheel

if you decide to install the wheel then do it right under the CofG spot
My thought was a single, good sized wheel in the center line near the CG with a couple of light weight narrow skids, one on each wing before the dihedral bends up. And yes, was kinda hoping to ROG it from grass. Probably a dumb notion, but I'm ever optimistic.
modbuilder is online now Find More Posts by modbuilder
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 08:12 PM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
San Francisco
Joined May 2009
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDI PAULO View Post
Hello guys
I`m just finishing my skywalker and i`m worry about the amount of servos:

Rudder=1
elev. =1
ailer. = 2
flaps = 2
cam = 2
total of 8 servos

I`m thinking about using a bec, but not sure witch one, i`m thinking in using this one:
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...0&pid=B3144784

Please let me know if this is the right one for my set up!!

Thanks Edi.
I have been using that BEC for the past two years without any issues. I have the same number of servos plus it also powers my eagle tree flight data recorder.
rsowder is offline Find More Posts by rsowder
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 09:00 PM
Registered User
EDI PAULO's Avatar
DANBURY CT.
Joined Apr 2010
201 Posts
Thanks for the help guys
EDI PAULO is online now Find More Posts by EDI PAULO
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 03:27 AM
Houba ! Houba !!
rcmonster99's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Sep 2003
6,271 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by modbuilder View Post
My thought was a single, good sized wheel in the center line near the CG with a couple of light weight narrow skids, one on each wing before the dihedral bends up. And yes, was kinda hoping to ROG it from grass. Probably a dumb notion, but I'm ever optimistic.
I see, you want to do it U2 style (spy plane not the group )...

the outriggers might catch on something sticky (a clump of grass if you are lucky a dog sht if you are unlucky) and make the plane cartwheel . It would be interesting to try. The outriggers will probably add some drag too
rcmonster99 is offline Find More Posts by rcmonster99
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 10:35 AM
Whats the wrst that can happn?
AdamChicago's Avatar
Chicago, IL USA
Joined May 2010
2,694 Posts
BEC Question for the Experts: I have read several posts and other links about BECs but still am not knowledgable enough about RC electronics to feel comfortable with an immediate decision.

The question is, do I need a BEC and why?

Planned flying...longer duration, long range FPV:

Current Setup: (Skywalker FPV)
Servos:
- 3 Hitec HS81 servos (flaps and camera pan)
- 3 Hitec HB65 servos (ailerons, elevator, rudder)
- 1 Hitec HB55 servo (rudder)
- (1) possibly an additional servo for camera tilt in future
Batteries:
- Turnigy 4S 4500 (power system, servos, rx)
- Turnigy 3S 2100 (FPV OSD, Camera, tx)
Power System:
- Brushless Motor AX-2814C 1310-980KV
- ESC 45A

What do you think?
AdamChicago is offline Find More Posts by AdamChicago
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 11:11 AM
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
United States, MI, Detroit
Joined Feb 2004
9,096 Posts
Yep yep, you should. That's a lot of servos, and you can easily over heat the ESC's bec inflight. Plus you want that redundancy incase something happens to the ESC, at least you have some chance of landing..
ashdec87 is offline Find More Posts by ashdec87
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 12:02 PM
Whats the wrst that can happn?
AdamChicago's Avatar
Chicago, IL USA
Joined May 2010
2,694 Posts
I'll go with any safety precaution necessary...lost two gliders this summer to electrical problems.

I read some of the info on BEC's but it's all greek to me. How do I determine what type of BEC I need...input/output voltage and amps????
AdamChicago is offline Find More Posts by AdamChicago
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Nov 23, 2014 04:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 11:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 10:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 12:45 PM