Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:55 PM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizBizTas View Post
Grrrrrr.....!!! Wonder if its a bad batch....!

What should I get instead?

I already have all the eagle tree stuff (but not the stabilizer)...

What are most people using in their SW's...?

Cheers
I will use the FY-31AP autopilot / stabilizer. I have tried it on a few planes and it works fine. So should work OK on the SKywalker as well. !
hendrnk is online now Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
202 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimmer View Post
I'm no apm expert but did you have Skywalker parameter file loaded?
Yes - all tested and I noted a change to all the PiDS etc...
VizBizTas is offline Find More Posts by VizBizTas
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:06 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,253 Posts
I use no stabilizer in the SW (it is self leveling), but can say that if you have the ET gear, you
might as well get the Guardian module. I'm using the standalone Guardian 2D/3D stabilizer
on my Skyhunter, and I'm pretty impressed with how well it works.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:11 PM
Waypoint Collector
TNug's Avatar
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Feb 2012
484 Posts
Sorry to hear that, Viz. I've been watching your build as I prepare for mine. I have all ET gear including the stabilization expander, but haven't flown it and so can't give you an opinion.

I'm no expert on autopilots either, but I've read multiple accounts of various brands having trouble with steep dives causing oscillations. When you dive in stabilize mode, the control corrections can put a lot of stress on your horns/linkages - as Ian mentioned. There's a vid of a guy using his ET guardian to pull out of high speed dives by switching to stabilize mode. A few minutes later, during level flight, it spirals into the ground. After examining the wreckage, he concluded his plastic control horn cracked from the stresses and eventually failed. See anything like that on your plane?

Were you flying slow and banking when the spiral occured? Any chance you stalled? That seems to be another theme for APM related crashes. You had an airspeed probe. Was your ET logging? Maybe check the log for your airspeed when the spin starts.

Get out the CA and hot water! Good luck.
TNug is online now Find More Posts by TNug
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:33 PM
If it's to be, it's up to me.
subsonic's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jan 2007
3,025 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizBizTas View Post
Grrrrrr.....!!! Wonder if its a bad batch....!

What should I get instead?

I already have all the eagle tree stuff (but not the stabilizer)...

What are most people using in their SW's...?

Cheers
I have the eagle tree stuff in my Skywalker, but I left the guardian on the shelf. The SW has enough natural stability that it returns to home just fine without any electronic stability help. It's not perfect because the heading will swing around by about 10 degrees or so, but it gets it home just fine like that.

sub
subsonic is online now Find More Posts by subsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:28 AM
Registered User
marcin.gala's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
419 Posts
My SW visit some places again.
Check for ending of that flight ,ice on lens and blind FPV landing.
FPV Carpet (8 min 23 sec)


No video troubles ,I worry more about my UHF !..haha..
marcin.gala is offline Find More Posts by marcin.gala
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:08 AM
Registered User
Canberra, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizBizTas View Post
I have a APM2.5 installed....
For the record, I've had an APM (v1.4 hardware) in my SW for over a year now and it has been working very well. I've done many autonomous flights of a few kilometers and lots of stabilize and fly-by-wire.

I found the skywalker param file to be too agressive for my plane (pitch and roll 'P' too high), and instead started with the default parameters (which in contrast are are very conservative) and increase the pids from there following the APM tuning guide in the wiki.

Be sure to post on the DIY Drones forum (in the "ArduPlane 2.x software" section) if you suspect a hardware/software problem or want advice, especially if you have logs. Don't give up!

As with any Autopilot, its best to proceed very cautiously when testing all of its features (get ready to take back manual control) until you are completely comfortable and confident with it.

Dave

PS. I also suggest disabling the airspeed sensor, at least initially (as does the wiki). I have mine logging (but not used for control) and have found the logs to be a bit erratic. You don't really need it provided you set a reasonable cruise throttle (40% or so is the default IIRC and is plenty for most SW setups).
davico is offline Find More Posts by davico
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:59 AM
Kostas
kstmark's Avatar
Greece
Joined Sep 2008
232 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcin.gala View Post
My SW visit some places again.
Check for ending of that flight ,ice on lens and blind FPV landing.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNPmpUN_zMc

No video troubles ,I worry more about my UHF !..haha..
3600m los without glitches!!!
Please tell us about your video setup
kstmark is offline Find More Posts by kstmark
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2010
548 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstmark View Post
3600m los without glitches!!!
Please tell us about your video setup
That's peace of cake if you have good antennas :-)

Check out my 10km flight (barley any glitches).
Skywalker 1900mm, attempting to fly 10km (Flown with DragonLink) (9 min 9 sec)


I use a simple IBCrazy vee antenna and patch antenna on ground. I optimized the patch antenna for 1280MHz.
raRaRa is offline Find More Posts by raRaRa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:30 AM
Kostas
kstmark's Avatar
Greece
Joined Sep 2008
232 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by raRaRa View Post
That's peace of cake if you have good antennas :-)

Check out my 10km flight (barley any glitches).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y13XumOl2gs

I use a simple IBCrazy vee antenna and patch antenna on ground. I optimized the patch antenna for 1280MHz.
I have the same antennas and now I have made a cloverleaf. It is much better when you turn. I am now building a helical. A bit large at 1.2ghz. I have also put a saw filter at my sunsky 800mw vrx but I haven't test it yet. Windy days.
I think that sunsky (bob) vtr hasn't good colors.
marcin.gala's video is perfect, it is like recording on the plane
kstmark is offline Find More Posts by kstmark
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:35 AM
Registered User
marcin.gala's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
419 Posts
it's 500mW video VTX ,recorded with DVRJapan on ground.
My whole setup on Skywalker don't have even one ferrite ring used
and that flight is done on simple rubber duck on VTX and 8dBi patch on ground.
Can see it anyway during flight ,dipole on left wing and rubber on right
raRaRa - I see You using Dragon Link !...I got huge troubles with mine UHF DL V2 ...!
marcin.gala is offline Find More Posts by marcin.gala
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:45 AM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcin.gala View Post
My SW visit some places again.
Check for ending of that flight ,ice on lens and blind FPV landing.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNPmpUN_zMc

No video troubles ,I worry more about my UHF !..haha..
Quick question what are you using to control the camera panning. ?

Nice setup, looks so stable.
hendrnk is online now Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:50 AM
Cape Cod
tom3holer's Avatar
Cape Cod
Joined Sep 2010
886 Posts
raRaRa,

Very nice video. What are you using for a Motor battery. Is it 2 5ah or 1 10ah?

Thanks,

Tom
tom3holer is online now Find More Posts by tom3holer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2010
548 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom3holer View Post
raRaRa,

Very nice video. What are you using for a Motor battery. Is it 2 5ah or 1 10ah?

Thanks,

Tom
Thank you Tom.

I'm using 2x 5000mAh 4s
raRaRa is offline Find More Posts by raRaRa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 09:28 AM
Registered User
marcin.gala's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
419 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrnk View Post
Quick question what are you using to control the camera panning. ?

Nice setup, looks so stable.
GWS sail servo 360 and using side slider on my T10 to control it..it's really smooth.
Just fit wiper as I was tired after flying blind
also can see my camera wires patent ,working great.
raRaRa - what antenna you used for that flight on DL TX ,also what on DL receiver ,how was your rssi all way up.
marcin.gala is offline Find More Posts by marcin.gala
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 23 Aug 08, 2010 06:27 AM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM