SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 31, 2012, 08:23 AM
Foam Snow
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Aug 2011
1,334 Posts
Thanks sub, but why is separation better?
heinduplessis is offline Find More Posts by heinduplessis
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 31, 2012, 10:28 AM
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
5,969 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinduplessis View Post
I currently have 5 servo leads on my wing to plug in to my fuse. That's 15 wires. In theory I can make up a new connector, have a single - and + (from UBEC), and then 5 signal wires coming from receiver, camera and ap, splitting the power supply wing-side. This way I can speed up the attachment process and have 1 plug with 7 wires in stead of 5 plugs with 15 wires.

Does it make sense??
Use a sheilded CAT5E or CAT6 cable.
You have 8 wires.
+ -, and 6 for signal.
Plus it is shielded to remove interference.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 10:31 AM
Foam Snow
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Aug 2011
1,334 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
Use a sheilded CAT5E or CAT6 cable.
You have 8 wires.
+ -, and 6 for signal.
Plus it is shielded to remove interference.
Got tonnes of those - what connector would you propose?
heinduplessis is offline Find More Posts by heinduplessis
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 10:37 AM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
Use a sheilded CAT5E or CAT6 cable.
You have 8 wires.
+ -, and 6 for signal.
Plus it is shielded to remove interference.
The shielding with CAT5E or CAT6 is around the 8 wires not the individual 8 wires. Therefore, if shielding is required between 2 or more of the wires within the CAT6 bundle it will not help.
hendrnk is offline Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:01 AM
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
5,969 Posts
You don't need to shield servo signals from other servo signals. If you were running video in there, sure, but just servo signals I don't think will have a problem running together. This will keep their signal from affecting things outside the cable though, or will help.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:02 AM
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
5,969 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinduplessis View Post
Got tonnes of those - what connector would you propose?
Use a CAT5 connectors. Don't know why that wouldn't work.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:09 AM
Foam Snow
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Aug 2011
1,334 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
You don't need to shield servo signals from other servo signals. If you were running video in there, sure, but just servo signals I don't think will have a problem running together. This will keep their signal from affecting things outside the cable though, or will help.
There is a video wire :/ Maybe sound, too, later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
Use a CAT5 connectors. Don't know why that wouldn't work.
I haven't seen a female CAT5 connector that wasn't metal. Heavy..
heinduplessis is offline Find More Posts by heinduplessis
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:24 AM
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
5,969 Posts
We sell female cat5 connectors all the time that are plastic. Keystone jacks that we snap into plates.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:25 AM
Foam Snow
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Aug 2011
1,334 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
We sell female cat5 connectors all the time that are plastic. Keystone jacks that we snap into plates.
Thanks - I'll do some searching..
heinduplessis is offline Find More Posts by heinduplessis
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:30 AM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
We sell female cat5 connectors all the time that are plastic. Keystone jacks that we snap into plates.
The plastic Cat 5 connectors are not shielded. The cable shielding needs to be earthed through the connector to a earthing point.
hendrnk is offline Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 12:19 PM
Registered User
snelan's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
413 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerstroke01 View Post
Im sure its been asked a million times. But what battery setup for an fpv skywalker?
Im thinking a 3s 5000mah batt for motor since its a 1400kv motor.. But what about the camera and stuff?
I fly a 3s 5000 for my motor (1200kv)/etc, and a 3s 850 for my FPV equipment. However, a lot of guys just prefer something like a 4s 5000 with a 12v step down for FPV equipment. You could also do it with a 3s 5000 and a step-up step-down unit without any problems. It's really just personal preference, there's no right or wrong.

EDIT: If you are using a one battery solution, you need an LC filter on the power line going to your video equipment, else you will see lines when throttling up.
snelan is offline Find More Posts by snelan
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 01:03 PM
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
5,969 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrnk View Post
The plastic Cat 5 connectors are not shielded. The cable shielding needs to be earthed through the connector to a earthing point.
Ok.
Forget using that cable then. Wow.
Pretty sure that he won't have problems.
None of the connectors he is using now are shielded.
He isn't running a 1Gb network.
He wants an easy way to hook up his wing.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 01:04 PM
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
5,969 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by snelan View Post
I fly a 3s 5000 for my motor (1200kv)/etc, and a 3s 850 for my FPV equipment. However, a lot of guys just prefer something like a 4s 5000 with a 12v step down for FPV equipment. You could also do it with a 3s 5000 and a step-up step-down unit without any problems. It's really just personal preference, there's no right or wrong.

EDIT: If you are using a one battery solution, you need an LC filter on the power line going to your video equipment, else you will see lines when throttling up.
With the Immersion stuff, I run an LC filter between the current sensor and the vTx. No lines. Perfect signal.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 09:46 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Redding
Joined Jul 2004
83 Posts
almost done

So I'm almost done with my SW1900 build also. It's taken a long to time build but look forward to flying it. It's hard to fine time to build with two children under 3, house work, a wife, a job and life........ Here are some pictures..

The RVGS is not mounted to the back of that patch antenna it's just sitting there.

let me know what you think.
Opus44 is offline Find More Posts by Opus44
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:32 PM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,350 Posts
Looks like a new ducted fan experimental SW in the works...
hendrnk is offline Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Nov 23, 2014 04:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 11:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 10:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 12:45 PM