HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2010, 10:13 PM
Registered User
GoatZilla's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
988 Posts
How would this model fly with just R/E? I'm not a big fan of unnecessary complexity... Would prefer to do a build without ailerons/flaps.
GoatZilla is online now Find More Posts by GoatZilla
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2010, 11:21 PM
KJ6BFN
henkvdw's Avatar
United States, CA, Fountain Valley
Joined Aug 2008
718 Posts
May need more dihedral for only R/E.
henkvdw is online now Find More Posts by henkvdw
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Priority Mail
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2010, 11:56 PM
Registered User
South Australia
Joined Mar 2003
195 Posts
I don't think flaps are needed, but I would be more inclined to do elevator and ailerons, and drop the rudder, if anything.
wilsonj is offline Find More Posts by wilsonj
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2010, 12:00 AM
I AP'd myself again......
aviatordave's Avatar
Yawn....Iowa
Joined Mar 2005
2,500 Posts
Ya, rudder is a waste of a channel. Good for using on pan if anything.
aviatordave is offline Find More Posts by aviatordave
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2010, 12:18 PM
Registered User
Fergus's Avatar
Ireland
Joined Apr 2005
353 Posts
I agree flaps are probably not needed. As I was covering the wing I decided to cut the servo slots and use them as they were provided. Might help with landing in tight spots when it's windy!! Time will tell.

I have the copilot on aileron and elevator and the rth from the eagletree unit on rudder and elevator. This I hope will allow return to home to work but the wings will remain level during any rth turns causing a rudder only turn. I hope it works ok.

I added the toroid to the GPS due to the long wire run to the tail. Its unsightly but I hope it will help reduce any interference. From the outset I intended this plane to be functional and easy to work on. Asthetically it's no looker. The stockings are a good example. They have left the plane an unusual colour which will divert attention from the torpid on the tail lol.

CG seems like it will be easily achieved with the gopro and a 4400mAh flight pack. A receiver pack is being added with an external 8 amp bec due to the amount of electronics on board. This will help offset the added weight of the larger than recommended scorpion motor.

My 8ch rx is full without room for pan and tilt. I don't mind not having pan as the fov from the gopro is massive but tilt would have been nice. I might have to add a sloped mount to get a better view of the ground while in level flight. I don't want any airframe in view of the lens.

More soon.

Regards

Fergus
Fergus is offline Find More Posts by Fergus
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2010, 04:31 PM
Smoke on , go !
zaguruinzasky's Avatar
Verona - Italy
Joined Jan 2007
2,526 Posts
I was considering this motor with a 3S setup, is it any good ?
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=3887

anything else in alternative.. ?
zaguruinzasky is offline Find More Posts by zaguruinzasky
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2010, 11:03 PM
KJ6BFN
henkvdw's Avatar
United States, CA, Fountain Valley
Joined Aug 2008
718 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaguruinzasky View Post
I was considering this motor with a 3S setup, is it any good ?
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=3887

anything else in alternative.. ?
My guess would be that it will be way to much motor.
I would try
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...s_Motor_1200kv

or

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._1400Kv_/_470w
henkvdw is online now Find More Posts by henkvdw
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Priority Mail
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 03:47 PM
Registered User
South Australia
Joined Mar 2003
195 Posts
8-) typically not in stock! Whats up with that? So often many motors are backordered. It can be very frustrating.
wilsonj is offline Find More Posts by wilsonj
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 04:46 PM
Any excuse to fly
United States, FL, Clearwater
Joined Apr 2008
546 Posts
I have this motor
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...ner_%28Eq:2814
To go on my Skywalker, I will report in once I start the build.
LHTPlane is online now Find More Posts by LHTPlane
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 06:11 PM
Smoke on , go !
zaguruinzasky's Avatar
Verona - Italy
Joined Jan 2007
2,526 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by henkvdw View Post
The firstone can't be mounted as pusher, there is no prop adapter for the motor back. the other one yes, but as said above is BK..
Thanks for the suggestion
zaguruinzasky is offline Find More Posts by zaguruinzasky
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 10:39 PM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
Wow that looks so good, its very nice and clean !!!
The GoPro Hd can you tell me which pin is + and - on the mini USB and if you power your cam from the main battery or if you have a separate battery just for the video tx and the cam.
Thanks,
Rob
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 10:52 PM
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Eastern side of Australia
Joined Jan 2007
4,650 Posts
Anyone got the EPO version yet?
Cralis is offline Find More Posts by Cralis
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 11:27 PM
Any excuse to fly
United States, FL, Clearwater
Joined Apr 2008
546 Posts
I just got the EPO version, should start the build very soon, I'm running the 3536 on it.
LHTPlane is online now Find More Posts by LHTPlane
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 11:38 PM
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Eastern side of Australia
Joined Jan 2007
4,650 Posts
Can you compare the quality of the foam to another plane? Seem OK now?
Cralis is offline Find More Posts by Cralis
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 11:59 PM
KJ6BFN
henkvdw's Avatar
United States, CA, Fountain Valley
Joined Aug 2008
718 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaguruinzasky View Post
The firstone can't be mounted as pusher, there is no prop adapter for the motor back. the other one yes, but as said above is BK..
Thanks for the suggestion
If you are in the US, you may want to take a look at these:

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail

or

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...tor/Categories

The TGY motors can actually be used as a pusher by removing the shaft from the can and inserting the propeller end of the shaft through the can sticking out the "back". Then mount the motor as normally and install the prop adapter to the shaft not using/needing the can/prop adapter.
henkvdw is online now Find More Posts by henkvdw
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Priority Mail
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 23 Aug 08, 2010 06:27 AM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM