HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:49 PM
Expo is built into my thumbs
USA, ID, Niter
Joined Jul 2008
4,479 Posts
Discussion
Smoked Turnigy Rewind or Trash ?

I had a Turnigy 2836-2350 in my funjet and I let the magic smoke out of it. I guess 4s and a 5X5 prop was a bit much I tore the motor down magnets had came loose windings burned etc. Is this motor worth the trouble to rewind ? I have never rewound a motor before but thought it might be a fun rainy day project. Getting the wire is extremely simple for me because I just happen to be friends with a guy that rewinds industrial motors for a living. He has every gauge of wire known to man in his shop. If I do rewind it is all I need wire and some kind of glue to stick the magnets back down ? If I remember right the motor had 9 strands of wire with 7 turns. If I go with say 5 strands of a heavier wire and the same amount of turns will it handle more current draw and stay the same KV? I am a total noob at this stuff.
Hance is online now Find More Posts by Hance
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:53 PM
five by five
Panama City Bch, FL
Joined Jan 2009
2,074 Posts
i would do 7 turns x 1 strand of the thickest wire that will fit. kv will stay the same as long as you copy the wiring scheme the factory used. it should handle more current and operate more efficiently.

magnets can be re-glued with ca, epoxy or a combination of both. anaerobic adhesives are nice, but not required. as with any project requiring adhesives, its good practice to properly prep the surfaces prior to regluing.
good luck!
-sj
sonicj is offline Find More Posts by sonicj
Old Mar 30, 2010, 10:41 PM
USA, ID, Niter
Joined Jul 2008
4,479 Posts
Cool thanks for your reply. I will go to the motor rewind shop tomorrow and experiment with the wire they have and find the biggest single strand that will work.
Old Mar 30, 2010, 11:01 PM
3DHS 'native'
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts