HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 31, 2010, 09:13 PM
R.C. Aviation Fanatic
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2009
20,888 Posts
Thanks

I knew it had something to do with right thrust/torque ect



Quote:
Originally Posted by UNGN View Post
It's the reaction torque from the prop that makes right rolls easier than left rolls.
Razors edge 29 is online now Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 31, 2010, 09:30 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2007
258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razors edge 29 View Post
Here's a vid from tonight of me doing rudder roles I think they are called

http://www.youtube.com/my_videos_edit

the link does not work could u chek it
computerpc is offline Find More Posts by computerpc
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 09:30 PM
Registered User
SoCal
Joined Mar 2010
9 Posts
Hey Razors
Your link does not get me any where.
sracecraft is offline Find More Posts by sracecraft
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 09:37 PM
Philippians 4:13
Seward, NE
Joined Nov 2006
5,739 Posts
Don't puke when you watch this :-) but you really do need to see what happens towards the end and check out the recovery too!!!
Onboard Champ in Trees! CRASH in Tree Top and Recovery (0 min 55 sec)


I took another vid of myself jogging beside the champ for awhile but haven't uploaded it yet. I can't believe how slow this thing can fly even when it has a camera attached to it.
ty_horn is offline Find More Posts by ty_horn
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 09:38 PM
R.C. Aviation Fanatic
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2009
20,888 Posts
Sorry guys

Here it is

Hobby Zone Champ (5 min 14 sec)
Razors edge 29 is online now Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 09:48 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2007
258 Posts
razor what when and how u moved the elevator,rudder/trothle to do the rolls ????
computerpc is offline Find More Posts by computerpc
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 10:00 PM
R.C. Aviation Fanatic
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2009
20,888 Posts
I moved the rods into the holes closer to the airframe very carefully as to not break anything.

Right rolls are easy now, I told a little back elevator and complete right rudder and it does it, but sometimes, it'll do it with just applying right rudder. I havent been able to do left rudder rolls yet, but I will play with rudder servo rod some more to get even more manuverability.

I also found that with the increased elevator, I could hold the plane longer while inverted which was exciting




Quote:
Originally Posted by computerpc View Post
razor what when and how u moved the elevator,rudder/trothle to do the rolls ????
Razors edge 29 is online now Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 12:43 AM
Registered User
n001pa's Avatar
Wichita, Ks.
Joined Feb 2004
224 Posts
Great vids guys!

ty: Great recovery! I let my oldest brother try the champ out tonight and he stuffed it into the top of a tree. It took us quite a while to get it down but we did it. And not a scratch!

Razor: Great rolls! I tried several tonight but was never successful. I would go ahead and adjust it like you did to yours but I think I enjoy floating around low and slow with the Champ more. After all, aerobatics are what I have the Sukhoi for.
n001pa is offline Find More Posts by n001pa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 01:22 AM
Registered User
VasMan's Avatar
@Home
Joined Jan 2007
1,410 Posts
Here's a video from my doomed (for a few minutes anyway) Champ flight on Sunday.

Enjoy,

Vas

Hobbyzone Champ That Flew Away (5 min 4 sec)
VasMan is offline Find More Posts by VasMan
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 02:26 AM
Registered User
ChuckTseeker's Avatar
Adelaide Plains Australia
Joined Dec 2007
3,414 Posts
hi guys just a quick one, my youngest son wants to get into this hobby and has chosen the Champ for his first plane, he flies great on the sim so should have no trouble with this baby

our trouble is here in Australia our only lousy importer has only bought mode 1 units into the country, we all fly mode 2 in my house,

so my question is, can we convert the stock mode 1 Tx to a Mode 2 Tx

cheers chuck
ChuckTseeker is offline Find More Posts by ChuckTseeker
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 07:36 AM
Registered User
Beaumont, TX
Joined Feb 2007
1,333 Posts
Yes, transmitter has a slider switch to select between Mode 1 and Mode 2
Pete Miller is offline Find More Posts by Pete Miller
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 07:41 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2007
258 Posts
could it be posible to install a AR500 rx the one that comes with the DX5e on the champ or would i need to modify the inner parts ( servos, esc ) to do that ????????? has any one that type of upgrade ????
computerpc is offline Find More Posts by computerpc
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 07:45 AM
Registered User
Beaumont, TX
Joined Feb 2007
1,333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckTseeker View Post
our trouble is here in Australia our only lousy importer has only bought mode 1 units into the country, we all fly mode 2 in my house,
Actually, he brought in the Champs with the stock transmitters. The slider switches just happen to be set to mode 1. (Until you change it to 2)
Pete Miller is offline Find More Posts by Pete Miller
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 07:49 AM
Registered User
ChuckTseeker's Avatar
Adelaide Plains Australia
Joined Dec 2007
3,414 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Miller View Post
Actually, he brought in the Champs with the stock transmitters. The slider switches just happen to be set to mode 1. (Until you change it to 2)
cheers for that, but what about the sticks? do i need to just change the springs over? what holds the aileron stick in the middle?

cheers chuck
ChuckTseeker is offline Find More Posts by ChuckTseeker
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2010, 08:01 AM
Registered User
Beaumont, TX
Joined Feb 2007
1,333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckTseeker View Post
cheers for that, but what about the sticks? do i need to just change the springs over? what holds the aileron stick in the middle?

cheers chuck
Now that is a good question!

I'll have to get into my manual to see what it has to say about that but, it won't be until this evening!
Pete Miller is offline Find More Posts by Pete Miller
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion What plane is this? Debolt Livewire Champ-w/short video reacher10 The Builders Workshop 48 Mar 29, 2011 03:20 PM
Discussion Super Champ Restoration x-craft Off-road Cars 48 May 25, 2010 07:48 PM
For Sale Champ (1/8th scale, electric) Maggie Han Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 12 Mar 19, 2010 08:31 PM
For Sale 2x Ni-Mh batts will fit PKZ or HBZ planes gazza1 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Sep 07, 2009 09:46 AM
Question digital camera for hbz extreme bluescoobydoo Aerial Photography 0 Jul 31, 2005 11:25 AM