HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:54 PM
noob
Veccster's Avatar
United States, PA, Greensburg
Joined Oct 2011
116 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNGN View Post
Those are too big.

These will work:

UM 4-site control horns

Or you can get some in a new tail

Thanks. I hope I can find something cheaper but will spend the extra if necessary. it's a worthwhile investment considering the number of crashes I've had lately.
Veccster is offline Find More Posts by Veccster
Last edited by Veccster; Nov 25, 2012 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 25, 2012, 09:19 PM
noob
Veccster's Avatar
United States, PA, Greensburg
Joined Oct 2011
116 Posts
Oh well...I ordered a whole new champ tail. I'll use the control horn from the new part but continue using my tail until I smack it off a tree/mailbox/wire/house/car/pole/...).

Also, my P51 motor went bad already. Had less than an hour on it. Where is a good place to get those? Neighbor paid a couple dollars each for a handful of them. In only see them for $9 on ebay.

Any cheap ones out there that work well?
Veccster is offline Find More Posts by Veccster
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 09:26 PM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,266 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLT_GTI View Post
For some reason and somewhere my Champ lost one of the landing gear strut covers... i dont know where.. maybe in a nightly touch&go...

does it have any function like preventing much strut gear compression?
If you'er referring to the yellow plastic piece on the landing gear,,..I'd say, yes, they would help support the wire main: Look good! IMHO it helps support the wire; click to enlarge.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...yZone-Main-Lan

Mike.
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 06:58 AM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLT_GTI View Post
For some reason and somewhere my Champ lost one of the landing gear strut covers... i dont know where.. maybe in a nightly touch&go...

does it have any function like preventing much strut gear compression?
Quote:
Originally Posted by GRUMPEE View Post
I think it's cosmetic nonfunctional
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNGN View Post
I Remake them out of paper covered in packing tape. They are for looks only, and the paper versions scar the fuselage less on hard landings.
They are functional. They act like rudders or a weather vain and help keep the plane flying straight forward when the rudder is neutral. I thought this was already discussed here, maybe it was the other Champ thread... or Carbon Cub?
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:02 AM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kov16 View Post
It doesn't seem to make sense to have rudder on the left stick with the Champ for training purposes. The rudder on the Champ serves the purpose of the ailerons on a 4ch plane.
Learning bad muscle memory matters to guys who have to steer their 4 channel planes at high speeds on the tarmac... you do that with rudder (left stick)
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:11 AM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
Hi kov, If I understand your question correctly, you would have to bind the stock TX to the Champ (which i assume that is done now). Fly the Champ! Now you want to fly the P-51 right? You would need to bind the stock TX to your P-51. Fly! Now you want to go back and fly your Champ. You would need to "re-bind" the TX to the Champ again to fly.

Does that make sense?

Mike.
Mike, if you're talking about the master binding procedure, not just the binding that happens during initialization when plugging in the battery after the master binding was already done... I don't think that's right. Like TjW said, the Rx remembers the Tx's ID, not the other way around (Tx is like the master and it's unique ID never changes). That's why I was able to have all my birds bound to my non-computer DX4e before I got my DX6i. Maybe the stock TX is different, but I don't think it is. I could test it when I have some time.
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:49 AM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,266 Posts
Hi North, I was talking about the stock "gameboy" type TX. You can only bind one model on it. I've tried to bind two. My 120SR and MCX. Unless I missed something and did something wrong

Mike.
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:55 AM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
Hi North, I was talking about the stock "gameboy" type TX. You can only bind one model on it. I've tried to bind two. My 120SR and MCX. Unless I missed something and did something wrong

Mike.
Yeah, that's the one I was talking about too. I guess there's no need to test it if you already have. Maybe the difference is it's not DSM2 like the DX4e.
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:05 AM
BMFA 190658
SilentPilot's Avatar
United Kingdom, Yeadon
Joined Mar 2007
4,319 Posts
Surely it has to be DSM2 or it would not be compatible with the 6i et al...
SilentPilot is online now Find More Posts by SilentPilot
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Parkzone Ka8 telemetry install
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:10 AM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentPilot View Post
Surely it has to be DSM2 or it would not be compatible with the 6i et al...
No, the stock "gameboy" transmitter, not the Champ's brick
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:23 AM
BMFA 190658
SilentPilot's Avatar
United Kingdom, Yeadon
Joined Mar 2007
4,319 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by North_of_49 View Post
No, the stock "gameboy" transmitter, not the Champ's brick
Yeah the Tx,

However the Rx is definitely DSM so you would expect that even the toy Tx had to be DSM too in order to bind to the plane...
SilentPilot is online now Find More Posts by SilentPilot
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Parkzone Ka8 telemetry install
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:25 AM
Registered User
COPENHAGEN DENMARK
Joined Aug 2007
305 Posts
You can bind as many planes, to one tx as you want.

John
johnkielsen is offline Find More Posts by johnkielsen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:27 AM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentPilot View Post
Yeah the Tx,

However the Rx is definitely DSM so you would expect that even the toy Tx had to be DSM too in order to bind to the plane...
DSM2 Rx is backward compatible. If memory seves me, the stock gameboy type plane/heli Tx's are just DSM.

"DSM technology"

EDIT
some of that is true, some is false... depends which transmitter. Read on
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by North_of_49; Nov 26, 2012 at 10:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:31 AM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnkielsen View Post
You can bind as many planes, to one tx as you want.

John
John, Mike said he tested the stock Tx and it doesn't. The DX4E and DX5E will do it.
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:36 AM
Registered User
COPENHAGEN DENMARK
Joined Aug 2007
305 Posts
It is the same for all DSM2 tx. I have 8 diff. plane and helli bind to mine .
johnkielsen is offline Find More Posts by johnkielsen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion What plane is this? Debolt Livewire Champ-w/short video reacher10 The Builders Workshop 48 Mar 29, 2011 03:20 PM
Discussion Super Champ Restoration x-craft Off-road Cars 48 May 25, 2010 07:48 PM
For Sale Champ (1/8th scale, electric) Maggie Han Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 12 Mar 19, 2010 08:31 PM
For Sale 2x Ni-Mh batts will fit PKZ or HBZ planes gazza1 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Sep 07, 2009 09:46 AM
Question digital camera for hbz extreme bluescoobydoo Aerial Photography 0 Jul 31, 2005 11:25 AM