HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 13, 2012, 07:58 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Oct 2006
5,302 Posts
The micro jst connector


When batt is unplugged first we know bind will be lost?

If power is interrupted I wonder the length of time to hold bid to lost bind

Exactly how many secs is it out?

Is the plane how old?

And if so did you contact horizon about the brown out.

WouLd using an extension cable prolong the plugging if this is an issue?
fishycomics is offline Find More Posts by fishycomics
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 13, 2012, 10:45 AM
Registered User
Liverpool, UK
Joined Jul 2006
177 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishycomics View Post
The micro jst connector


When batt is unplugged first we know bind will be lost?

If power is interrupted I wonder the length of time to hold bid to lost bind

Exactly how many secs is it out?

Is the plane how old?

And if so did you contact horizon about the brown out.

WouLd using an extension cable prolong the plugging if this is an issue?

my plane was bought in Dec '11 an started flying in feb

i have contact my LHS who told me to speak to Horizon UK - who told me to send the plane in with proof of purchase an they will investigate

an extension cable to where? the battery doesnt seem loose or anything?

it "brown outs" for around 4 - 5 seconds, not just the motor but all control surfaces...dead stick watching the video back from my 808 camera the plane just goes quiet then starts back up again
mudcow007 is offline Find More Posts by mudcow007
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 11:19 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudcow007 View Post
Thanks for all the replies guys

with the battery as far forward as possible an the 808 camera attached to the bottom of the battery it flew much better

one other continuing issue is randomly loosing all controls of my champ, but regaining them after a few (scary) seconds

this can happen with my champ near or far. i keep the tx upright an not pointed at the champ as per instruction on here.

its quite scary seeing my poor champ wandering away.....

anyone had anything similar?

oh new batts in tx an plane too

I have random brown outs with my champ too. I'm using a stock transmitter. I'm hoping that an upgrade to a better transmitter will fix the problem.
SpidarX is offline Find More Posts by SpidarX
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 11:24 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Oct 2006
5,302 Posts
HH longer we wait charges apply. Best to have taken care of it.

A new brick HH 40.00 plus or a new fuse/electronics same price they run somewhere around 50.00 today

But more likely a diff company for 20.00

Micro extention. Between bat and micro cable but since It is more clear you got power and something on the board may be an issue

How bout the pushrods and ant sometimes it interferes with signal if ever opened.

Anything is possible the rx is just a starter so a better o e is. Sexed maybe a LHS will test out the plane on theirs that be a start as well
fishycomics is offline Find More Posts by fishycomics
Last edited by fishycomics; Apr 13, 2012 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 13, 2012, 11:46 AM
Never stop being a kid.
BrundleFlyBy's Avatar
United States, CO, Manitou Springs
Joined Jan 2012
543 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpidarX View Post
I have random brown outs with my champ too. I'm using a stock transmitter. I'm hoping that an upgrade to a better transmitter will fix the problem.
I had quite a few, also, despite being vigilant about the "cone of silence" and keeping the Champ well within the nominal 300-foot range. Have not had another since moving to a full-power DX6i Tx. Having tired/cold batteries in the stock Tx may have been a contributing factor for me.
BrundleFlyBy is offline Find More Posts by BrundleFlyBy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 12:00 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Oct 2006
5,302 Posts
As we all use our champs for various reasons yep that be the key factor range on an beginners platform. Weaker batts shorter range etc.
fishycomics is offline Find More Posts by fishycomics
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 13, 2012, 12:51 PM
Bay Area Prop Buster
Bluhammer's Avatar
Bay Area CA
Joined Jan 2011
4,022 Posts
Champ brick problems

I'm of the opinion with first hand experience, that there is an on going manufacturing problem with the Champs brick. I've read many, many complaints about losing control with everything setup properly. My 2nd Champ brand new out of the box would never bind properly or for long, both with my dx6i or the stock tx! They sent me a replacement which so far works good.

What's going on? I don't know, but when you've got everything set properly and problems still happen, you have to point the finger somewhere.........

Blu
Bluhammer is offline Find More Posts by Bluhammer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 01:50 PM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
The Stock Champ TX is and has ALWAYS been sketchy.

If you are experiencing brown outs, at least upgrade to a used DX5e.

Not binding is a brick issue, but brown outs are a TX issue... and the stock TX isn't worth $15, so what do you expect?

When it comes to TX's, you get what you pay for.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 03:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
43 Posts
What kind of range do you get with a DX5e?
BlackIce is offline Find More Posts by BlackIce
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 04:15 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Oct 2006
5,302 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackIce View Post
What kind of range do you get with a DX5e?
Range we can say safely as far as your eyes see your plane.
fishycomics is offline Find More Posts by fishycomics
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 13, 2012, 11:17 PM
An Ordinary User
United States, VA, Fluvanna
Joined Jan 2011
1,303 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpidarX View Post
I have random brown outs with my champ too. I'm using a stock transmitter. I'm hoping that an upgrade to a better transmitter will fix the problem.
I'm pretty sure it's not a brownout unless you replaced the prop with a larger one or have something in the motor gears preventing it from turning the prop. Brownouts are power problems (not enough voltage to power everything to be more precise) and replacing the receiver or transmitter will have no effect on a power supply problem.

A signal loss is more likely due to exceeding the range of the signal, but trees and buildings can cause interferrence that diminishes the signal somewhat so that range may be reduced.

The receiver in the Champ and other UM planes is not as sensitive as a "park" or "full range" receiver, but the 300-400ft limitation is due to the low power of the stock transmitter. The small receiver in the Champ can receive a strong signal further than you can see it providing you are controlling it with a higher powered transmitter like the Dx line.

Weak batteries in the transmitter also affect the power of the signal coming out, as can a broken antenna like Fishycomics discovered.
GooberSB is online now Find More Posts by GooberSB
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 11:32 PM
Bay Area Prop Buster
Bluhammer's Avatar
Bay Area CA
Joined Jan 2011
4,022 Posts
I'm in the communications business, and a poor receiver is just as bad as any of the other possible conditions. I've seen very complex highly engineered receivers go bad, degrade, or become intermittent. These are not that close to those in quality!
Blu
Bluhammer is offline Find More Posts by Bluhammer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2012, 04:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
57 Posts
Battery adapter

Would a TME XTR-MPB LiPo Battery Charger Adapter 3.7-V 1S such as this one work with the stock charger that comes with the Champ? I know that the batteries will fit but will the connector that goes into the charger the right one?
murdude is offline Find More Posts by murdude
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2012, 05:10 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Oct 2006
5,302 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by murdude View Post
Would a TME XTR-MPB LiPo Battery Charger Adapter 3.7-V 1S such as this one work with the stock charger that comes with the Champ? I know that the batteries will fit but will the connector that goes into the charger the right one?
JSt to micro jst. you need to get an adaptor. the red is ajst. the white is a micro jst.
fishycomics is offline Find More Posts by fishycomics
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 15, 2012, 08:06 PM
If it spins, wear it.
whirlcap's Avatar
Northern Nevada
Joined Jan 2011
2,260 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by murdude View Post
Would a TME XTR-MPB LiPo Battery Charger Adapter 3.7-V 1S such as this one work with the stock charger that comes with the Champ? I know that the batteries will fit but will the connector that goes into the charger the right one?
That won't work with the stock charger even if you adapt it. Might charge four batteries at once but it will take forever. You would need a better charger to charge four batteries at the same time, that is why that adapter is available. I have thought about getting one of those but I have the four battery charger that came with my HZ mSR heli. If you want to charge more than one at the same time, that charger is often available used for a reasonable price, otherwise, upgrade your charger and buy the adapter pictured.
whirlcap is offline Find More Posts by whirlcap
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion What plane is this? Debolt Livewire Champ-w/short video reacher10 The Builders Workshop 48 Mar 29, 2011 04:20 PM
Discussion Super Champ Restoration x-craft Off-road Cars 48 May 25, 2010 08:48 PM
For Sale Champ (1/8th scale, electric) Maggie Han Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 12 Mar 19, 2010 09:31 PM
For Sale 2x Ni-Mh batts will fit PKZ or HBZ planes gazza1 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Sep 07, 2009 10:46 AM
Question digital camera for hbz extreme bluescoobydoo Aerial Photography 0 Jul 31, 2005 12:25 PM