HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 25, 2010, 05:23 AM
Joined Mar 2010
2 Posts
Help!
First time builder, tail servo and/or gyro problem (I think)

Hello, I am a first time builder (got into RC heli's a few weeks ago using my father in-law's coaxial. Instant addiction!). I purchased a "hk 450" kit + items to make a heli. I've built it and it all seems to go ok [the pitch, aileron, elevate right hand stick on mode 2 movements seem to move the swashplate the way it's supposed to. Had to reverse one servo to make it work ok, so I think I got the hang of stuff from watching finless bob videos] but when I turn on the heli, after the gyro sets up, the tail servo keeps trying to move the tail linkage rod towards the main body. It gets like a 'bouncing motion' from trying to continously moving the linkage rod, getting to the end, bouncing back a little and then doing the same thing, *wash and repeat*. A thread of some things I've tried is at and at http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/f...?TID=7534&PN=2 and the post is where I say "Well, I got the blades spinning! "

The gyro is hk401b, http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dproduct=10113
Tail servo is http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8511

When I took the gyro out of the equation (plugged the servo straight into the rudder of the receiver (I think it was rudder anyway), it kept doing the same thing. It seems not to do the bouncing motion when I don't have the horn not connected to the gyro but it's hard to remember some specifics as I have had nerve damage related pain for ~4 years and on a HUGE dose of pain meds (oxycontin, tramal + lyrica and more) daily which sometimes makes me recent things a little hazy, mainly as I've been working on the RC helicopter for about 40-50 hours this week and forgetting some specifics due to doing so much testing and what not.