Old Mar 24, 2010, 05:39 PM
Frozen Flyer
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Joined Feb 2009
105 Posts
Help!
PBY Cat Plans? Airfoil/rib plans?

Hi everyone

I've just started looking around for plans for a PBY Catalina build.

I'm thinking about doing a scratch build shooting for 80" wingspan with electric motors since I've got good access to a few lakes within walking distance and plenty of space to fly.

I've built a few wooden sailplanes from kits, but I've got some good building experience with other balsa/ ply airplane kits and good general understanding of basic airplane design.

I'm wondering if the best way to start a scratch build like this would be to find some plans and try to scale them (as best as possible) up to the size I want, I was thinking that It might be easier to use a Sailplane kit for the wings (spar and ribs, and tail feathers) and mod them to the correct proportions / strength required for the plane, then just build the fuse out of play/ balsa/ glass ect...and then build some nacelles and floats and all other miscellaneous parts.

This would help cut the building time so I wouldn't have to cut ribs by hand and I think would just help speed up the process...

So has anyone else done this? using a kit for wings/ tails parts etc.. ?

I'm just kind of brainstorming right now... thanks for any input/ suggestions!!
moes is offline Find More Posts by moes
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 25, 2010, 11:26 AM
Always Ready!
Chicago, IL
Joined Dec 2006
5,137 Posts
Ivan Pettigrew has PBY plans in several wingspans, as well as Uncle Willies has some I believe. I have also seen plans on Ebay... might be the same thing Uncle Willie sells.
warhead_71 is online now Find More Posts by warhead_71
Old Mar 25, 2010, 11:36 AM
build like there is no 2moz
United Kingdom, England, Bristol
Joined Apr 2009
805 Posts
Moes

I can HIGHLY reccommend Ivan Pettigrew's catalina, he does 2 sizes.
I have the plan for the smaller one, and its next on my build list when i graduate.