SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 23, 2010, 09:14 PM
Registered User
Long Island ,NY
Joined Dec 2008
535 Posts
Discussion
Throttle hold setup for 9303 0r 9503?

I want to set one for me planes. I know it will be a mix anyone know how to do it? Thanks
bhoges17 is offline Find More Posts by bhoges17
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2010, 09:50 AM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,505 Posts
No mixing required. Just use Throttle Curve. Set the Position 1 curve to 0-0-0 and select the switch you want to use for hold using SW SELECT.

With the 9303 this works for both heli and plane mode.
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 01:51 PM
Registered User
Lincoln, NE
Joined May 2005
885 Posts
If you wish to use one of the select switches for the throttle kill on a nitro powered plane, the throttle curve menu works well. It is not great if you use it for an electric and if you haven't disabled the throttle trim in the system list. The throttle trim will not be turned off by the throttle curve set at 0-0-0. You can easily advance the trim enough to turn the motor on while the kill switch is on. For an electric I mix THRO to THRO. Set the offset to -168. Set the Pos0 values to -100%.

On my nitro planes I prefer to use the trainer button as a momentary switch. This prevents me from messing up my needle valve trying to start the engine while the throttle kill is unknowingly on. A situation that happened to me more than once. With the trainer switch set this way the throttle kill only works when it is pushed. Great for nitro planes but not electrics.

In the DeviceSEL set AUX4 to be actuated by BUTN and inhibit the output. Mix AUX4 to THRO. Set the lower value of Pos0 to +100%. Set the Offset to +168. The mixing rate and offset polarity is the opposite to those used for the electric setup.

Allan
AWorrest is offline Find More Posts by AWorrest
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 05:36 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWorrest View Post
The throttle trim will not be turned off by the throttle curve set at 0-0-0. You can easily advance the trim enough to turn the motor on while the kill switch is on. For an electric I mix THRO to THRO. Set the offset to -168. Set the Pos0 values to -100%.
Thanks for that point. It hadn't occurred to me since I never use throttle trim with an electric model (except maybe to use low trim if the ESC won't arm, but then I adjust the throw).

And thanks for the ideas re nitro model throttles. I will try setting up a momentary kill switch as you suggest.
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 06:36 PM
Registered User
Long Island ,NY
Joined Dec 2008
535 Posts
Yes Im using electric only. Thx
bhoges17 is offline Find More Posts by bhoges17
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 01:39 AM
Registered User
Lincoln, NE
Joined May 2005
885 Posts
I'm not as familiar with the 9303 HELI configuration as the ACRO and GLID. In replying to a comment on another forum I found by experimentation that the HELI's the ST-1 and ST-2 throttle curves do seem to preclude the trim from affecting the throttle output. However, HELI'S NORM throttle curve is affected like the ACRO'S throttle curves.

Allan
AWorrest is offline Find More Posts by AWorrest
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 07:05 AM
Will fly for food
Maryland
Joined Sep 2004
8,424 Posts
There is a mix around here somewhere. But I can't find it. Let me grab my Tx and see waht is set. I use it on ALL my airplanes, even nitro.

OK here is what I use:

Mix 6

THRO - > THRO
Pos 0 0% 0%
Pos 1 -100% -100%
Offest -200%

All the virtual switches set to Pos 0, except MIX which is set to Pos 1.

THRO STK (lower right corner) is set to INH.
Pinecone is offline Find More Posts by Pinecone
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 07:14 AM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWorrest View Post
I'm not as familiar with the 9303 HELI configuration as the ACRO and GLID. In replying to a comment on another forum I found by experimentation that the HELI's the ST-1 and ST-2 throttle curves do seem to preclude the trim from affecting the throttle output. However, HELI'S NORM throttle curve is affected like the ACRO'S throttle curves.

Allan
Allan:
My conclusions are the same. However, I find that setting throttle to 0% in the TRIM STEP menu makes throttle trim inoperative. This seems to me to fix the problem you identified regarding the use of a 0% throttle curve as a throttle hold technique for fixed wing (the problem being that raising the trim could make the motor start). Do you see any problems with this approach?

As I said earlier, I never use throttle trim for electric models under normal circumstances.
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 12:11 PM
Registered User
Lincoln, NE
Joined May 2005
885 Posts
I haven't tried it but someone else has written there is an advantage on an electric plane to setting the throttle trim so the prop rotates slowly at idle. He claims it gives better downline braking. Certainly it would be an advantage for some of the ESC that I use in eliminating the "boing" that occurs when I pull the stick all the way back.

Allan
AWorrest is offline Find More Posts by AWorrest
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 12:29 PM
Registered User
Long Island ,NY
Joined Dec 2008
535 Posts
Pinecone just tried it and it doesnt work. Still gives 1/2 throttle. Thought I had it. When the stick hits 1/2 stick with the switch on it powers up.
bhoges17 is offline Find More Posts by bhoges17
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 01:07 PM
LSF303 / AMA Life Member
tkallev's Avatar
USA, IL, Wheeling
Joined Jan 2003
3,133 Posts
In my X9303, I set the Throttle trim step to 0% to disable the trim. Then in the Throttle Curve menu, I set the POS1 curve to 0-0-0. This gives you the Throttle Hold functionality. With the Throttle Trim active, it DOES give partial throttle once you reach about 50% stick throw, so disabling the trim is essential.

tk
tkallev is offline Find More Posts by tkallev
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 05:50 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkallev View Post
In my X9303, I set the Throttle trim step to 0% to disable the trim. Then in the Throttle Curve menu, I set the POS1 curve to 0-0-0. This gives you the Throttle Hold functionality. With the Throttle Trim active, it DOES give partial throttle once you reach about 50% stick throw, so disabling the trim is essential.

tk
That agrees with my conclusion.
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 05:41 PM
Will fly for food
Maryland
Joined Sep 2004
8,424 Posts
Hmm, works fine on both my XP9303 and my X9303.

You did set BOTH numbers for Pos 1? And the Offset?

I look at the Monitor, and no matter what the Throttle Stick Position, when you flip the switch, it goes to the bottom of the travel.
Pinecone is offline Find More Posts by Pinecone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Differences between Dx7 and JR 9303/9503 John63 Hand Launch 15 Sep 10, 2010 09:03 PM
Question JR9503 throttle hold for planes? bhoges17 Radios 3 Mar 08, 2010 03:34 PM
Question 9303 throttle hold/cut for electric plane PatternFlyer Radios 3 Mar 20, 2009 03:50 PM
Discussion How to Program a throttle hold switch on 9303 for electric planes sneasle Radios 14 Mar 19, 2009 04:53 PM
Discussion JR 9303 / DSX9 - changing directions of throttle hold? Drachenstein Radios 2 Feb 26, 2009 06:01 AM