HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 19, 2010, 09:06 PM
Just an earth-bound misfit, I
Littleton, CO
Joined Feb 2007
246 Posts
Build Log
Icon 2 - Maple Leaf Designs

Thought I would share a build log of the latest version of the Icon 2 from Don Peters of Maple Leaf Designs.

I have been flying Supra's for the last 4 years and had on my wish list a larger version of this great flying plane. I am a Drela fan and when the Icon 2 came out, I jumped on board. I have been flying the Icon 2 and its different iterations for the last 2 years and have seen this plane evolve into a World Class F3J/TD sailplane.

Here are some weights of the parts out of the box.

Fuse (no fin/rudder) 12.1 oz (includes ballast tube)
Stab 2.5 oz
Fin/Rudder 2.2 oz
Left Tip 7.0 oz
Right Tip 7.0 oz
Center Section + wiring 27.2 oz
V mount 0.5 oz
Towhook 0.4 oz
Tip Joiners (2) 1.0 oz
Misc Parts Bag 1.5 oz

Total Empty Weight 61.4 oz

The kit comes with CD containing a detailed instruction manual. I will not bore you with repeating these details, but show you general pictures of the build and deviations I have done...

The kit also comes with 11 brass ballast cubes, each weighing 3.3 oz! Ready for any Muncie Masters Winds (Read > 15 mph) for sure!
Total Ballast Capability 36.3 oz.

Servo selection will be 4 JR 378's with Kennedy Mounts for the Wings.
A JR 3421 for the Elevator.
A JR 368 for the rudder.

Fuse is 2.4 friendly, so a JR R921 2.4 9 Channel Rx with one remote will do the trick.

Battery will be a 5 cell (1500 mAH) Elite pack.

Technical Specification from Maple Leaf Website:

Technical Specifications:

Wing Span 3.81 m (150")
Wing Area 81.29 dm.˛ (1260 in.˛)
Aspect Ratio 17.85
Length 1.80 m (70")
Flying Weight 2,100-2,250 gm (74-79 oz.)
Wing Loading 26-27.6 gm/dm˛ (8.5-9 oz./ft.˛)

Regards

Jon
JP-Soar is offline Find More Posts by JP-Soar
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2010, 11:58 PM
Twin Cities, MN
Joined Apr 2008
11 Posts
Follow with great interest.

Jon,