HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 17, 2010, 05:01 AM
Tulcea Romania
Joined Mar 2010
203 Posts
Help!
Octocopter with folding arms on the cheap... need help

Hi everybody

This is my first post after reading a few hundred posts about multi rotor helis... I am a photographer and would like to build a rig to carry my camera (max 1.5kg payload) so I have opted for octocopter configuration. Usually octocopters are big and not easy to transport so I am planing on doing something with folding arms. I am on a tight budget so I am trying to reduce costs as much as I can please just help me out with ideas as I am full of information and... have a hard time putting it together. So here is what I had in mind...

What I want to use:
Octocopter structure with folding arms - like this one

The arms - I have studied a lot of options and carbon fibre seems to be the lightest but expensive... so I went to one of the china shops in my town and found these fishing rod tubes for 0.6 Euro a peace

These rods are light about 35 grams for 50 cm with diameter of 1.9cm at one end and 1.7cm at the other. They are tough and will not bend much... but they are thin... about 1mm or so. All good but the problem is they schread easily if you cut them and I don't think drilling a hole in them is a good idea. For this I had to find a solution that doesn't imply drilling so I came out with the idea of a clamp (that one I cut just for the idea it is not the final thing):

To hold the arm in position I am thinking at these pipe fixing clamps found in all plumber shops:

For motor mounts I will use the same type of metal clamps as I have no other viable solution. The main problem here is the conical structure of the tube that will not fit a standard motor mount.

For centre plate I want to use carbon fibre plate of 2.5mm as there is a guy here in Romania selling them 2.5x300x350mm 10 layers for 40 Euro/plate. Do you know a better offer?