HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 29, 2010, 04:53 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
MikeTheCrash,

You need to supply power to the IMU board. You can either supply 5V to the board via the 5V line (such as when loading the software), or you can use your 2S battery on the >6VIN line. It goes without saying that you will need to connect the ground appropriately too.

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 29, 2010, 05:06 AM
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Wee View Post
MikeTheCrash,

You need to supply power to the IMU board. You can either supply 5V to the board via the 5V line (such as when loading the software), or you can use your 2S battery on the >6VIN line. It goes without saying that you will need to connect the ground appropriately too.

Daniel
Thanks Daniel
Shame the 3.3v can't be used, my wiring's getting messy!
MikeTheCrash is online now Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 05:15 AM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
I am pretty sure it should be powered through the 6 to 8 volt in.
http://code.google.com/p/ardu-imu/wiki/Hardware
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 05:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
About elevon mixing - what do you guys want? Do you want the rudder and elevator mixed or the ailerons and elevator mixed?

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 05:46 AM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
I vote for aileron and elevator.
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 06:17 AM
Questionable judgement
bracky72's Avatar
Charles Town, WV
Joined Jan 2008
3,070 Posts
Could you make it so we choose what channels are mixed?
bracky72 is offline Find More Posts by bracky72
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 06:18 AM
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hitchman View Post
I am pretty sure it should be powered through the 6 to 8 volt in.
http://code.google.com/p/ardu-imu/wiki/Hardware
to keep it neat I'll try and run it using the power pin of the "unused" servo connection on OSD. I hope 5v from the ESC's BEC will be OK.
MikeTheCrash is online now Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 06:35 AM
Registered User
CrashingDutchman's Avatar
The Netherlands, Utrecht, Amersfoort
Joined Oct 2004
2,189 Posts
I have seen a posting here where JettPilot mentions he uses (used?) the FMA copilot with DragonOSD+. How would I connect the Copilot to DOSD+ and what would it precisely add to the behaviour of my plane?
CrashingDutchman is offline Find More Posts by CrashingDutchman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 07:06 AM
Questionable judgement
bracky72's Avatar
Charles Town, WV
Joined Jan 2008
3,070 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashingDutchman View Post
I have seen a posting here where JettPilot mentions he uses (used?) the FMA copilot with DragonOSD+. How would I connect the Copilot to DOSD+ and what would it precisely add to the behaviour of my plane?

The two system work independant of one another. The copilot attempts to keep the plane stable to when you have it on it mutes your control inputs keeping the plane stable. So then you use the dosd+ rth function and it will attempt to steer your plane home while at the same time the copilot ensures that the plane is flat and level. They sort of fight each other to be honest to get the desired effect.

To connect run the servo outputs from the dosd+ through the copilot then on to the servos.
bracky72 is offline Find More Posts by bracky72
Last edited by bracky72; Apr 29, 2010 at 07:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 07:25 AM
Fly the Discombooberator!
magnetman's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hitchman View Post
I am pretty sure it should be powered through the 6 to 8 volt in.
http://code.google.com/p/ardu-imu/wiki/Hardware
Yes I can confirm that, I run mine from a 2S Lipo. I use the IF serial device I got with my old DOSD, which does not supply 5 volts, hence the use of the Lipo
magnetman is offline Find More Posts by magnetman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 07:27 AM
Fly the Discombooberator!
magnetman's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hitchman View Post
I vote for aileron and elevator.
But what if you don't have a delta wing?? You would not want the mixing in that case.
magnetman is offline Find More Posts by magnetman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 07:40 AM
Registered User
CrashingDutchman's Avatar
The Netherlands, Utrecht, Amersfoort
Joined Oct 2004
2,189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bracky72 View Post
The two system work independant of one another. The copilot attempts to keep the plane stable to when you have it on it mutes your control inputs keeping the plane stable. So then you use the dosd+ rth function and it will attempt to steer your plane home while at the same time the copilot ensures that the plane is flat and level. They sort of fight each other to be honest to get the desired effect.

To connect run the servo outputs from the dosd+ through the copilot then on to the servos.
Thank you bracky. I only have the sensor now, so I would need to get the Flight Stabilization Unit separately.
CrashingDutchman is offline Find More Posts by CrashingDutchman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 07:41 AM
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,166 Posts
IMU working WOW AMAZING!!!!!!
MikeTheCrash is online now Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 10:26 AM
FPV flyer
Virgis21's Avatar
Kaunas, Lithuania
Joined Oct 2007
1,516 Posts
i tried to pass controls from osd to servo via Co-pilot. but didn't like the servo job, they glitch all the time. servo buffer didn't help at all. so i decided to do so:
co pilot works only on aileron
Dragon osd (RTH) controls elevator and ruder. so nothing will conflict.
but as long IMU is here, so it's time to sell Co-pilot!
Daniel confirmed about 5v to ArduIMU, but must be connected where TTl cable connects (mine usb-TTL has 5V out).
but will be ok to start together DOSD+ and IMU at the same time? because at first startup, i connected ArduIMU to DOSD+ but didn't power up. DOSD+ didn't boot until i connected IMU. Will see.
Virgis21 is offline Find More Posts by Virgis21
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2010, 11:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
1,530 Posts
ailerons elevator ^^ flying wing!
jimbob00 is offline Find More Posts by jimbob00
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 08:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 11:56 AM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 05:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 12:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 05:13 AM