HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:36 PM
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Aug 2005
3,368 Posts
Verified I have proper control movements for testing the AP this weekend. Weather looks like poo here in VA for Sat and Sun so I will wait until Monday to give her a test.
Mike Freas is offline Find More Posts by Mike Freas
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pan/Tilt servo mods
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:09 PM
FPV Pilot
blueprint's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2007
2,475 Posts
Just tested the FY-DOS and i'd have to say it performed very well. Heading hold worked as advertised.
blueprint is online now Find More Posts by blueprint
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:50 PM
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,356 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueprint View Post
Just tested the FY-DOS and i'd have to say it performed very well. Heading hold worked as advertised.
Did you use it for AHI?
MikeTheCrash is online now Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:55 PM
FPV Pilot
blueprint's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2007
2,475 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTheCrash View Post
Did you use it for AHI?
AHI?

I tested it with the GPS and it loitered/circled and returned to home fine. What i wanted to test was the heading hold and altitude hold. It worked fine and held the course. Very neat feature that the FY30 does not have.

The only downside to the FY-DOS is the fact that you need a computer to make changes in it's settings such as gain etc.

Pretty happy and the strange thing is it's cheaper than the FY30.... not so sure why.
blueprint is online now Find More Posts by blueprint
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:34 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,463 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueprint View Post
AHI?
...
Artificial Horizon Indicator
erkq is online now Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 01:23 AM
FPV Pilot
blueprint's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2007
2,475 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
Artificial Horizon Indicator
Nope. Not a fan of it honestly as it gets in the way. I fly with way points and often toggle in the menu to access/change settings. The RVOSDV5 has a nice layout with its AHI however.

Tried it with my fy30 and did not like it.
blueprint is online now Find More Posts by blueprint
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:57 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
Question about the external barometer on the Dragon OSD

Lately my external barometer has been giving all kinds of weird readings thorough the flight. Like mid flight I'll be at 200ft then all of a sudden it will go to 0 and land at -200ft and other different things. And at th eend of a flight it will say max altitude was 4,000ft when I only went a few hundred and I'm at 2k MSL

If I remove it I'll still get altitude in the display from the GPS right?

FPV test almost 3,000ft out (3 min 32 sec)
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:05 PM
hey whats burning?
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Oct 2007
676 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasper7821 View Post
Lately my external barometer has been giving all kinds of weird readings thorough the flight. Like mid flight I'll be at 200ft then all of a sudden it will go to 0 and land at -200ft and other different things. And at th eend of a flight it will say max altitude was 4,000ft when I only went a few hundred and I'm at 2k MSL

If I remove it I'll still get altitude in the display from the GPS right?

http://youtu.be/0Fd19qNyzW8
Yes the GPS will provide the altitude.

You might be having a problem with the barometer due to the air flow through the plane. Try wrapping a small pieces of foam around the barometer and put in a spot with the least amount of air flow. They can be sensitive to moving air.
metalbender4by is offline Find More Posts by metalbender4by
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:51 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalbender4by View Post
Yes the GPS will provide the altitude.

You might be having a problem with the barometer due to the air flow through the plane. Try wrapping a small pieces of foam around the barometer and put in a spot with the least amount of air flow. They can be sensitive to moving air.
Ok, thanks. I'll try that.
I had it mounted inside my quad frame, then I put it out onto the bottom on the quad to see if it made it better. obviously it did not make it better. I'll see how putting it in foam does thank you very much.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 12:46 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,231 Posts
i fine the text a bit small to me is there anyway to make the text bigger?
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 15, 2013, 03:00 AM
FPV Pilot
blueprint's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2007
2,475 Posts
i love you DragonOSD. Paired with the FY-DOS or FY30 it's an unbelievable OSD.

Penguin FPV (15 min 36 sec)
blueprint is online now Find More Posts by blueprint
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 08:24 AM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,349 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
i fine the text a bit small to me is there anyway to make the text bigger?
No.
Vantasstic is online now Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 15, 2013, 10:12 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,463 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
i fine the text a bit small to me is there anyway to make the text bigger?
Yes. Use a bigger monitor. No help with goggles though.
erkq is online now Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 10:47 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,231 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
Yes. Use a bigger monitor. No help with goggles though.
I don't use monitor, only goggle no choice then have to chew with what I have
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 15, 2013, 10:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
2,599 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasper7821 View Post
Ok, thanks. I'll try that.
I had it mounted inside my quad frame, then I put it out onto the bottom on the quad to see if it made it better. obviously it did not make it better. I'll see how putting it in foam does thank you very much.
Some baro sensors are sensitive to light. Make sure it doesn't get direct sunlight.
Buffythesaint is online now Find More Posts by Buffythesaint
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 08:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 11:56 AM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 05:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 12:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 05:13 AM