SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:42 AM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,877 Posts
no problem... just trying to make an already great product even better

Im debating on a shielded video harness next...
Then a Shielded Servo Harness, Case, and Current Sensor Mods...

May have to start a new YT channel just for mods/builds

Chris
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:45 AM
Fly FPV, sleep; repeat
twinturbostang's Avatar
Germantown, MD
Joined Mar 2006
3,376 Posts
Is the shield connected to anything on the other end of the cable?
twinturbostang is offline Find More Posts by twinturbostang
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:10 AM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,877 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturbostang View Post
Is the shield connected to anything on the other end of the cable?
Yes, I tie it to the ground only on the Plug end (ill add a note to the vid thanks!)

Chris
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:47 AM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Nicely done. I might have to give that a try on my Penguin build. Thanks for doing that up for us.
I wish Chris have posted his video 2 weeks ago, my gps is already mounted on my penguin

Cedric
GLADUS63 is online now Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: old MyFlyDream AAT upgrade
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:50 AM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanyote66 View Post
Yes, I tie it to the ground only on the Plug end (ill add a note to the vid thanks!)

Chris

Is it your baby we ear in the video ?
GLADUS63 is online now Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: old MyFlyDream AAT upgrade
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:54 PM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,877 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLADUS63 View Post
Is it your baby we ear in the video ?
yup... she love to test the durability of my planes, so she was mad i kicked her out of the room for the video...

Chris
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:33 PM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanyote66 View Post
yup... she love to test the durability of my planes, so she was mad i kicked her out of the room for the video...

Chris
I know what you feel, when I came back from working, strangely some things have moved on my planes !
GLADUS63 is online now Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: old MyFlyDream AAT upgrade
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:43 PM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,877 Posts
heh... ya, she likes to pick holes in my foam wings

Does anyone know what the fastest, most powerful GPS module works with DOSD?

Chris
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:14 PM
Fly FPV, sleep; repeat
twinturbostang's Avatar
Germantown, MD
Joined Mar 2006
3,376 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanyote66 View Post
Yes, I tie it to the ground only on the Plug end (ill add a note to the vid thanks!)

Chris
Ok, thanks. How much of a difference have you noticed with the reflector under the GPS? My setup is similar to yours except for the reflector and shielded cable. I have a ferrite ring mounted right next to the GPS. Also have one on the other end of the cable too.

BTW, DPCAV.com sells some lightweight shielded cables here: http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Three-Con...ith-Plugs.html

They are only 3 conductor, so won't work for GPS, but would probably work good for camera cables. They are lightweight. Originally used as CD-ROM cables that attach to motherboards.
twinturbostang is offline Find More Posts by twinturbostang
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:00 PM
um.. yeah, I can make that fly
Carlos230023's Avatar
United Kingdom, Milton Keynes
Joined Jun 2007
3,751 Posts
USB cables work well for GPS. You can get some cheap shielded extensions really cheap.

CJ
Carlos230023 is online now Find More Posts by Carlos230023
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:21 PM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,877 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturbostang View Post
Ok, thanks. How much of a difference have you noticed with the reflector under the GPS?
BTW, DPCAV.com sells some lightweight shielded cables here: http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Three-Con...ith-Plugs.html

They are only 3 conductor, so won't work for GPS, but would probably work good for camera cables. They are lightweight. Originally used as CD-ROM cables that attach to motherboards.
Those will work, you actually do not need the DOSD TX, or GPS RX cable connected. Just use it for PWR GND and GPS TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos230023 View Post
USB cables work well for GPS. You can get some cheap shielded extensions really cheap.

CJ
Yes, I just put an order in to firefold.com for various USB cables... Have a bunch of gear Im going to change over, I was using CAT6 but its just too heavy...

BTW, is there any metallic plastics you can print with? having a metallic base to the plastics would provide shielding to the board itself in the case For now Im just wrapping mine in Foiltape.

Chris
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:31 PM
um.. yeah, I can make that fly
Carlos230023's Avatar
United Kingdom, Milton Keynes
Joined Jun 2007
3,751 Posts
There are metallic silver and gold colours but weather or not they actually contain metal is one thing. The other obvious issue is grounding it, which is impossible. The plastic takes well to copper foiled tape but be quick when soldering on a ground lead, the plastic melts at about 230 deg C. Which is a fair bit under my usual 280-330 soldering range.

CJ
Carlos230023 is online now Find More Posts by Carlos230023
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:58 PM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,877 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos230023 View Post
There are metallic silver and gold colours but weather or not they actually contain metal is one thing. The other obvious issue is grounding it, which is impossible. The plastic takes well to copper foiled tape but be quick when soldering on a ground lead, the plastic melts at about 230 deg C. Which is a fair bit under my usual 280-330 soldering range.

CJ
guess ill put away the butane soldering iron

no, i solder a ground lead to the foil before placing... guess that GPIO port will be useful for something
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 27, 2013, 04:27 PM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,877 Posts
does everything on the DOSD run off 3.3v? Im thinking of adding a few Voltage stabilizer super caps and would like to have one dedicated to DOSD operations. Iv seen times where a brownout or loose connection will cause a reboot, with a few ms of reserve power it should be able to keep running as required.

I ordered 50 of these for stabilizing servo power and was thinking of ordering These for the 3.3v side...

Any ideas? or will this be overkill?

I just upgraded the Caps on my ESC and BEC to have 2200uf for both input (battery side) and output (5v servo side)
Added 2000uf to my DL RX, and its getting 1.65f of super caps as well.

Chris
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 27, 2013, 04:41 PM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanyote66 View Post
does everything on the DOSD run off 3.3v? Im thinking of adding a few Voltage stabilizer super caps and would like to have one dedicated to DOSD operations. Iv seen times where a brownout or loose connection will cause a reboot, with a few ms of reserve power it should be able to keep running as required.

I ordered 50 of these for stabilizing servo power and was thinking of ordering These for the 3.3v side...

Any ideas? or will this be overkill?

I just upgraded the Caps on my ESC and BEC to have 2200uf for both input (battery side) and output (5v servo side)
Added 2000uf to my DL RX, and its getting 1.65f of super caps as well.

Chris
I would just say that the more things you add, the more weakness points / cause of trouble you add.

If just a cap become shorted, it's all the system that would be out of order...

Cedric
GLADUS63 is online now Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: old MyFlyDream AAT upgrade
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 09:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 12:56 PM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 06:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 06:13 AM