HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 09, 2012, 01:55 PM
um.. yeah, I can make that fly
Carlos230023's Avatar
United Kingdom, Milton Keynes
Joined Jun 2007
3,538 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcin.gala View Post
So it starts like this.
DL RX PPM+RSSi ===to DOSD "not on picture"
camera video input ===to DOSD "not on picture"
VTX video out ===from DOSD "not on picture"
Audio out===from DOSD NOT USED ,going through teleflyOSD to VTX "not on picture"

Picture connections:.
GPS ===directly on picture + teleflyOSD -soldered to GPS cables.
current sensor ===as in DOSD manual
DOSD ===powered by 5V BEC "two lipo setup-separate for video gear"
I2C DOSD SDA SCL===goes to SDA SCL +/- Xlator ===then translated to RX/ground goes to FY30A as ground/UART
+ on FY30A separate red wire === power for FY30A === BEC 5V

NOW !
PWM's 1/2/3/4 signals form DOSD goes to FY30A RUD/ELE/AIL/+/- inputs "no throttle used by FY30A"
then FY30A outputs for servos RUD/ELE/AIL "no throttle" -prefere to setup DOSD to use throttle or leave it with "failsafe settings"
Is FY30A switch signal wire goes straight to DL RX ??
Can I use 5V on PWM's in DOSD to power FY30A ??
or is actually powered through AILERON wires from PWM 1 AIL with signal/+/- wire ??

Nice to see my cases in action :P. I may do one that incorporates a section on the side for the xlator

CJ
Carlos230023 is offline Find More Posts by Carlos230023
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 09, 2012, 02:26 PM
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,145 Posts
I really need help, I think I messed up big time. I connected Video/Audio input/output to Current sonsor pins and then power to the Video/Audio input/output pins.

So basically I had the red cable from my 3s battery connected to ground, and then ground was connected to video in.
I got no smoke and since no led came on, I literally disconnected the battery in 1/5 second.

This was the first time I ever tried powering this OSD on and I bought it from another member here at RCG. I actually triple checked everything but oh well. So my question is, what is the damage and how can it be fixed?
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:08 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
464 Posts
I seem to have an inductor pop off and I was wondering if anyone can help me find a new one...here is a picture of the part that came off and my board, it's marked with a "150" and popped off my DSOD in the lower left hand corner...

squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Last edited by squishy654; Nov 09, 2012 at 03:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 04:51 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,065 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by koo29 View Post
I really need help, I think I messed up big time. I connected Video/Audio input/output to Current sonsor pins and then power to the Video/Audio input/output pins.

So basically I had the red cable from my 3s battery connected to ground, and then ground was connected to video in.
I got no smoke and since no led came on, I literally disconnected the battery in 1/5 second.

This was the first time I ever tried powering this OSD on and I bought it from another member here at RCG. I actually triple checked everything but oh well. So my question is, what is the damage and how can it be fixed?
How do you know anything is wrong? Did you connect things back up properly and test? You may have no damage if there was no ground path back to the battery...so test and see and let us know.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2012, 04:52 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,065 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by squishy654 View Post
I seem to have an inductor pop off and I was wondering if anyone can help me find a new one...here is a picture of the part that came off and my board, it's marked with a "150" and popped off my DSOD in the lower left hand corner...
Check with JMSTech on repairs. It's a relatively simple job if you get the right inductor.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:12 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
464 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Check with JMSTech on repairs. It's a relatively simple job if you get the right inductor.
Oh I know, but what inductor, no one can tell me. I will gladly buy one right now and replace it myself as dragonlink support has suggested in the other thread, but he failed to answer my question as to what inductor this is, so I am now trying here.

What inductor do I need? what are the specs?
squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:15 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
464 Posts
well I pm'ed him we'll see if he helps, I hate to bug him about this...
squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:51 PM
Registered User
CheckSum's Avatar
Joined Jan 2011
511 Posts
Does Daniel have any plans on incorporating an IMU native to the Dragon OSD board?
CheckSum is offline Find More Posts by CheckSum
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:54 PM
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,145 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
How do you know anything is wrong? Did you connect things back up properly and test? You may have no damage if there was no ground path back to the battery...so test and see and let us know.
Going to do this in a second. Should there be a LED flashing if power is connected to the board? When I connected the power to the (correct ) pins, I can't see anything happening.
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:29 PM
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,145 Posts
IT WORKS! I'm so happy right now, though I fried $100 I have to say that the customer service from Dragon Labs is unbelievable. They responded to my first email within an hour and my second one in 15 minutes.
The person who I was talking with told me that he would see what would happen when he did the same mistake I did. When I'm buying a UHF system, its going to be dragonlink because these guys are awesome
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 08:38 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,065 Posts
Glad to hear no damage done. Now DON'T do this with the current sensor pin connections. If you connect those in the wrong orientation you WILL be frying your DOSD. And there is no LED status lights on the DOSD.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2012, 09:30 PM
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
United States, HI, Kailua
Joined Feb 2012
2,091 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CheckSum View Post
Does Daniel have any plans on incorporating an IMU native to the Dragon OSD board?
Daniel who?
iskess is online now Find More Posts by iskess
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 10:14 PM
Registered User
CheckSum's Avatar
Joined Jan 2011
511 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess View Post
Daniel who?
I though it was Daniel Wee who mad Dragon Link, OSD, ect...

Anyways, any word on an IMU incorporated into the OSD?
-Thanks
CheckSum is offline Find More Posts by CheckSum
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 10:33 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,065 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CheckSum View Post
I though it was Daniel Wee who mad Dragon Link, OSD, ect...

Anyways, any word on an IMU incorporated into the OSD?
-Thanks
Iskess was mess'n with us.

Don't expect any Dragon IMU...for now at least. There's a couple of folks who where working on developing a 3rd party IMU for the DOSD, but I haven't heard of any status or if the project is still under production. The FY-30 and Xlater is the best option out there for now.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:22 AM
Dragon Link/Labs Engineer
chris1seto's Avatar
Chesterfield, MO
Joined Nov 2010
681 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybynight2 View Post
Van, (sorry) was not to you.
I was talking about Dragon Labs support Web site.

Crash, I don't know Chris.
yes I everything is set correct, I have checked it all several times.

PS Posted schematic.
And I have been working on it today in 40 weather, My fingers are frozen.
JIm
Can you try grounding the Xlator to the BEC?
chris1seto is offline Find More Posts by chris1seto
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 08:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 11:56 AM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 05:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 12:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 05:13 AM