HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 09, 2012, 06:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
307 Posts
would these resistors work?

http://www.rapidonline.com/Electroni...of-100-72-0162

OR

http://www.rapidonline.com/Electroni...of-100-72-9044

Seems like a load of different working voltages, etc, etc
rsands2801 is offline Find More Posts by rsands2801
Last edited by rsands2801; May 09, 2012 at 06:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 09, 2012, 08:26 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,887 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hitchman View Post
Any ideas if this is the DOSD or something else. I had another flight and the same thing happened, voltage went from 11v to 8v and then a bit later back to 12v. I had turned on the second voltage display this time and that one was sweet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXklP...ature=youtu.be

Thanks

Mark
Hmmmm...check the wires on the CS. I had one pull loose before (the ISense line). I lost all 'current' display, but the voltage readings stayed fine. Perhaps you've got something loose, or a cold solder joint, or???
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old May 09, 2012, 08:28 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Sep 2005
391 Posts
Hey Van, can you give an exact item number/link to the surface mount resistor that you put on your OSD? I'd like to do the same mod, but when I look up 100 ohm resistor at digikey, so many options show up that I don't really know which one I should choose. I figured since you had great results with the one you used, that I should probably use the same one to start with.

Thanks,

Capn
capn is offline Find More Posts by capn
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 08:29 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,887 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsands2801 View Post
would these resistors work?

http://www.rapidonline.com/Electroni...of-100-72-0162

OR

http://www.rapidonline.com/Electroni...of-100-72-9044

Seems like a load of different working voltages, etc, etc
The 0805 resistor should be fine. The description says it's 100 ohm, but the picture shows 102 which is 1k ohm. I 'harvested' my resistors from old electronic boards. If you have any thing like that around, old computer PC boards, etc, look for one that says '101' of the right size.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old May 09, 2012, 09:58 PM
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,794 Posts
or just go to Frys and buy a couple for a buck!
flyandi is online now Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 10:04 PM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Hmmmm...check the wires on the CS. I had one pull loose before (the ISense line). I lost all 'current' display, but the voltage readings stayed fine. Perhaps you've got something loose, or a cold solder joint, or???
The weird thing is the current reads fine and the top voltage stays right but the bottom voltage is the only one that drops for a while and then comes back up. A bit of a mystery, also the RSSI does not work.

Mark
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 11:27 PM
Registered User
JMSTECH's Avatar
Canada, BC, Duncan
Joined Dec 2006
3,618 Posts
Hey brother Mark,

Mmmmaybe you have one of the really old ones made in Vancouver, B.C. I'll send you another one made not too far off from Daniel's house.

John
JMSTECH is offline Find More Posts by JMSTECH
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 11:43 PM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMSTECH View Post
Hey brother Mark,

Mmmmaybe you have one of the really old ones made in Vancouver, B.C. I'll send you another one made not too far off from Daniel's house.

John
Hey John, this is the first V2 you sent me after the V1
I have the last one you sent me in my tricopter, maybe I should swap them over and see what happens. I am planning a 20km flight staying below 50 meters and I was keen to know what the issue was and whether I could trust it for that distance. I am 99.9% sure it's not a battery issue which was my first thought when I saw the voltage drop but on the next flight I had both voltages showing and one of them stayed good so I am probably good to go.

Thanks

Mark
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 12:02 AM
Registered User
JMSTECH's Avatar
Canada, BC, Duncan
Joined Dec 2006
3,618 Posts
Hi Mark,

Yeah I had a small batch of those made and some didn't work out well which I didn't find out until later. But that got resolved quickly and you know me... I always take care of everyone here. Anyhow I'll send another one your way tomorrow along with another gadget I need you to test out for me.

John
JMSTECH is offline Find More Posts by JMSTECH
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 12:06 AM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMSTECH View Post
Hi Mark,

Yeah I had a small batch of those made and some didn't work out well which I didn't find out until later. But that got resolved quickly and you know me... I always take care of everyone here. Anyhow I'll send another one your way tomorrow along with another gadget I need you to test out for me.

John
You are a legend
Thanks John
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:25 AM
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Eastern side of Australia
Joined Jan 2007
4,650 Posts
Hi all!
The little amazing current sensors from DragonLabs ... does it matter which side the power source is? As in, which side should I connect the battery to? I need to solder on the deans plugs - but unsure which side would be the male (side which connects the battery) and which side goes to the ESC.

And, Thanks John!!!!
Cralis is offline Find More Posts by Cralis
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:33 AM
I Like Popcorn
flylite's Avatar
UK, Greater London, London
Joined Oct 2009
2,023 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cralis View Post
Hi all!
The little amazing current sensors from DragonLabs ... does it matter which side the power source is? As in, which side should I connect the battery to? I need to solder on the deans plugs - but unsure which side would be the male (side which connects the battery) and which side goes to the ESC.

And, Thanks John!!!!
Hey Cralis, Its very Important you get this right!
Here's a link which will help you, again its very important you get it right!
http://www.dragonlabs.net/site/dragonosdplus/sensors
Read through the link and make sure you pay attention to the layout below.
flylite is offline Find More Posts by flylite
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 03:57 AM
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Eastern side of Australia
Joined Jan 2007
4,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flylite View Post
Hey Cralis, Its very Important you get this right!
Here's a link which will help you, again its very important you get it right!
Thanks buddy! I'm on it!

Now, question #2.
I have 2 power sensors... Both taking 2S batteries connected.

Looking at this:

http://www.dragonlabs.net/site/dragonosdplus/board

Can I connect one sensor to first 3 pins.. (Marked as Power in the first image)
And then the other sensor to the one marked G, Isense, V2?

Or will I create a crackling effect?
Cralis is offline Find More Posts by Cralis
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 04:15 AM
I Like Popcorn
flylite's Avatar
UK, Greater London, London
Joined Oct 2009
2,023 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cralis View Post
Thanks buddy! I'm on it!

Now, question #2.
I have 2 power sensors... Both taking 2S batteries connected.

Looking at this:

http://www.dragonlabs.net/site/dragonosdplus/board

Can I connect one sensor to first 3 pins.. (Marked as Power in the first image)
And then the other sensor to the one marked G, Isense, V2?

Or will I create a crackling effect?
No only one current/voltage sensor can be used and only on to the second input bank you mention (one with isence)

Depending on how you want to power your DOSD, the first input terminal bank you mentioned is not for a sensor, its an input for powering the DOSD but it does monitor the voltage and output this to your screen (usually found in the top left of screen).

The second input terminal bank you mention is for the attachment of the DOSD current sensor (the one your about to connect the deans plugs to), as you know this monitors current and volt.

You can power the DOSD from the current sensor but you have to jumper the first input bank you mentioned and you have to be very careful again here, you don't want to let the magic smoke out!

Hope that helps!
flylite is offline Find More Posts by flylite
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 04:16 AM
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,195 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cralis View Post
Thanks buddy! I'm on it!

Now, question #2.
I have 2 power sensors... Both taking 2S batteries connected.

Looking at this:

http://www.dragonlabs.net/site/dragonosdplus/board

Can I connect one sensor to first 3 pins.. (Marked as Power in the first image)
And then the other sensor to the one marked G, Isense, V2?

Or will I create a crackling effect?
NO!!!!!

the power connections are Gnd nearest the edge of the board, the Vin, then a link to the current sensor voltage connector pin. If you put battery on here all the voltage difference between the two batteries will be zooming through the board.

why can't you Y-lead the batteries and put one current sensor after the Y?
MikeTheCrash is offline Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 08:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 11:56 AM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 05:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 12:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 05:13 AM