HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 12, 2010, 01:29 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
Cralis,

I would advise you to hang in there a bit. PM me.

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 12, 2010, 06:05 AM
Fly the Discombooberator!
magnetman's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
438 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cralis View Post
Thanks Daniel. I will try a 47K one. Will take a drive and find a shop that sells them. Do you think that would work, or should I just cut my losses and get that ET buffer? It;s both a space and a cost issue though, My wife is gonna kill me if I have to pay more for this damn plane! ehhe.. And space is an issue too..

If you think there's an average chance of a 47K working, I'll go get one now.
Hey man I really feeel for you!! My ex wife shut me in the loft one day cos I spent too much time modelling

I now have a trained girlfriend (she'll hit me for that)

I don't know what the ET buffer is, but I used a LM 358 Op amp to make mine with, if you know someone close who could make one for you - it is very simple, but only if you know electronics. I think the resistor will be a waste of time, you need a buffer.

Mark/ Daniel - how's this gain channel thing work then?? is it analogue so gain is variable?? which gain does it control, GPS or IMU??
magnetman is offline Find More Posts by magnetman
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 06:22 AM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetman View Post
Hey man I really feeel for you!! My ex wife shut me in the loft one day cos I spent too much time modelling

I now have a trained girlfriend (she'll hit me for that)

I don't know what the ET buffer is, but I used a LM 358 Op amp to make mine with, if you know someone close who could make one for you - it is very simple, but only if you know electronics. I think the resistor will be a waste of time, you need a buffer.

Mark/ Daniel - how's this gain channel thing work then?? is it analogue so gain is variable?? which gain does it control, GPS or IMU??
Hi, I have not tried it yet with gps stabilization but have used it very successfully with the IMU stabilization. It is analogue but I don't have a proportional channel free to use so I switch it on or off to whatever I have preset under auto-stabilization gain.
The gps stabilization is the same as heading hold, the idea is to use it to stop drift so the plane will track straight, it should work without the IMU as well as with it to prevent flying around in big circles if the ahi is not completely level, just needs someone to test it.
The gain channel controls both gps stabilization and auto-stabilization, so if you have auto-stab at 2.00 and gps stab at 4.00 you could hopefully turn down the gain proportionally on both.
I am going to try it out tomorrow if the wind dies down, plane is ready after having heaps of issues with interference on 40 mhz, just the reciever, one servo and a nicad battery I am getting glitching at 10 paces with the aerial down. I have tried with three different recievers and get similar results. Seems like ages since I have flown fpv so have put in a 9 channel spektrum into a 2 meter foam glider, no failsafes at 30 paces with everything turned on so should be good to go.
Mark
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 06:45 AM
Fly the Discombooberator!
magnetman's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
438 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hitchman View Post
Hi, I have not tried it yet with gps stabilization but have used it very successfully with the IMU stabilization. It is analogue but I don't have a proportional channel free to use so I switch it on or off to whatever I have preset under auto-stabilization gain.
The gps stabilization is the same as heading hold, the idea is to use it to stop drift so the plane will track straight, it should work without the IMU as well as with it to prevent flying around in big circles if the ahi is not completely level, just needs someone to test it.
The gain channel controls both gps stabilization and auto-stabilization, so if you have auto-stab at 2.00 and gps stab at 4.00 you could hopefully turn down the gain proportionally on both.
I am going to try it out tomorrow if the wind dies down, plane is ready after having heaps of issues with interference on 40 mhz, just the reciever, one servo and a nicad battery I am getting glitching at 10 paces with the aerial down. I have tried with three different recievers and get similar results. Seems like ages since I have flown fpv so have put in a 9 channel spektrum into a 2 meter foam glider, no failsafes at 30 paces with everything turned on so should be good to go.
Mark
Great info Mark, thanks. I am going to maiden later on or tomorrow, just finalising now, but I'm starting off just to get the plane sorted first. Good luck with the testing!
magnetman is offline Find More Posts by magnetman
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 04:10 PM
Fly the Discombooberator!
magnetman's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
438 Posts
oH



I have just done something very stupid, with the accompanying smell of burning.

Just about to power up to download the latest software (8.8)

I somehow managed to connect the battery round the wrong way, just momentarily - I shall NOT be using those polarised connector pairs again!. My two escs are totally destroyed, but... luckily everything else is OK.

believe me it is possible to connect them together the wrong way round - until you realise its the wrong way- then its too late!!

Well, so I am stuffed for the moment until I can get 2 escs from somewhere.

For Daniel/Mark with this version of the software, the AHI is faulty, keeps appearing and disappearing , seems to be connected with switching between menus - this is with home set and autopilot in or out. I managed to get that far - over and out for now
magnetman is offline Find More Posts by magnetman
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 05:03 PM
When in doubt, throttle out...
badlands's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
1,555 Posts
Is Version 8.9 firmware available? I dont see it for download.
badlands is offline Find More Posts by badlands
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 05:32 PM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by badlands View Post
Is Version 8.9 firmware available? I dont see it for download.
If there is no file he will still be adding to it I suspect.
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 06:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
mark is correct.
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 08:33 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,229 Posts
hi daniel... is there any way to turn up the audio output in the Dosd+..
barok is offline Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 09:02 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
barok,

Ummm.... you'd need to change a resistor to do that. Is it too soft? Your receiver volume control?

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 09:21 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,229 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Wee View Post
barok,

Ummm.... you'd need to change a resistor to do that. Is it too soft? Your receiver volume control?

Daniel
had the ccd killer cam w/ built in mike.. work great ..but switch over to a ccd cam no mike..use this external mike http://www.securitycamera2000.com/pr...py-Camera.html it overpowers the dosd+ audio..

"Your receiver volume control?" lost me there..

barok is offline Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 10:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
barok,

Well, there is no easy way to increase the audio volume on the DOSD+. Maybe you can find a way to reduce the external microphone's volume? If you are adept with electronics, and have surface mounted components, I can tell you how to increase the volume.

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 02:09 PM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,229 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Wee View Post
If you are adept with electronics, and have surface mounted components, I can tell you how to increase the volume.
please do tell..
i'm pretty adept to electronics..

thinking of this..
http://www.nghobbies.com/cart/index....roducts_id=156

barok is offline Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 10:57 PM
Registered User
kempo's Avatar
Romania, IS, Iasi
Joined Nov 2008
610 Posts
Saturday I tried dosd +, works very well .

DOSD+ 1st outdoor test (4 min 28 sec)


Daniel can I change the timer from UTC to elapsed time ?

I tried also the autopilot without any kind of stabilisation. It has potential but it makes turns too tight and then dives.

autopilot.mp4 (0 min 29 sec)


What are the parametres that I must change ?

Now I use the default settings.
kempo is offline Find More Posts by kempo
Last edited by kempo; Jun 14, 2010 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 11:14 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
kempo,

The timer automatically changes to elapsed time once you get sufficient GPS reception.

Try reducing ROTSTEPGAIN and ROCSTEPGAIN.

magnetman,

The DOSD+ should survive a polarity reversal in most cases. Can you elaborate a little bit more about the AHI - or better yet, do you have a video? You're saying that the horizon is getting displayed?

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Last edited by Daniel Wee; Jun 13, 2010 at 11:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 08:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 11:56 AM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 05:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 12:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 05:13 AM