Old Mar 16, 2010, 05:43 PM
The "pro" in procrastination
Canada, ON, Kingston
Joined Mar 2004
2,660 Posts
Build Log
CNC Router Build by Complete Noob - Cranky's Phoenix

Hey Folks,

So, a couple of years ago I started dreaming about getting one of those fancy laser cutters I kept hearing about, only to eventually discover that they cost some very serious money, like $10,000 - $25,000! The whole idea of CNC was still very appealing to my tinkerer's heart, so I kept looking around and learned that a CNC router could cut balsa very nicely, and had the added benefit of not needing a mortgage to finance its purchase. Still, a couple of thousand dollars for a turnkey CNC router was still beyond the budget (this is a hobby, after all), and the dream was shelved while I got on with more practical projects. Then one day I discovered John Kleinbauer's site, and the dream came roaring back. Here, if one was to believe Cranky (as he calls himself online), one could build a CNC mill capable of cutting balsa, ply and soft woods for a couple of hundred dollars . I plunked down $36.00 for a set of his plans for the Phoenix, a CNC mill with a 9" x 24" cutting bed, built of medium density fiberboard (MDF), gas pipe, rollerskate bearings and aluminum window channel (!). The plans even came with a bonus set of plans for a unipolar motor driver board, the Perf-X.

John's philosophy is simple; a basic CNC machine doesn't need to cost the moon, and can be assembled by just about anyone with basic shop skills, patience and a few power tools using materials obtainable in most hardware stores and a few (unexpected) specialty shops. That said, getting a homebrew CNC machine working seems to require an eclectic blend of woodworking, mechanical, electronic and software skills that's probably unique. Being an eclectic kind of guy myself, with interests in all of those areas, building my own CNC mill using John's plans seems like destiny .