HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 20, 2012, 08:02 PM
Registered User
FlyBillyFly's Avatar
Rogersville, Mo
Joined Jun 2008
3,640 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-speed buff View Post
Hi Billy

It was dopplered in level flight, the 7x10 does the trick, it is more efficient than any other prop on the FJU.
Try the 7x10 on the HK3226-1400 on 4S and see for your self.

Grtz René
I'll give that a go!!!!...Thanks!!...Billy
FlyBillyFly is offline Find More Posts by FlyBillyFly
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 20, 2012, 10:24 PM
Registered User
JBuck's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2007
249 Posts
I finally maiden my ultra today. HET 2w25, 80a esc, 5.5x4.5 prop, 4cell 3300mah.

Holy smokes was it fast.

Im going to try a 6x4 prop next weekend. Maybe even try a 6x5.5. (Think a 6x5.5 is to much?)

anyone know how to program in some right ailerons for take off to counter some of the inital torque roll?
JBuck is offline Find More Posts by JBuck
Last edited by JBuck; May 20, 2012 at 10:25 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 10:36 PM
Registered User
JBuck's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2007
249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Forse View Post
HET 2w25 -- heatsink -- 6x5.5 apc -- 4s 3000--3300 -- 80 amps -- solid 130 mph

Het 2w30 -- heatsink -- 6x5.5 -- 5s 3300 -- I think should get 145mph-ish

Ordered Turnigy 3648-1450 -- hoping to see 150mph+ on 4s - 5s 3300 with 7x5 or 7x6 props
Hi G-Force,

I bench tested the HET 2w25 with a 6x4 and it was pulling 85amps.
Where are you getting your numbers from? Do you think a 6x5.5 unloads to only 80amps in the air?

I would like to try a 6x5.5 but I only have a 80amp ESC. Im running 4cell 3300mah with it.
JBuck is offline Find More Posts by JBuck
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 11:50 PM
Registered User
Denver, CO
Joined Nov 2007
1,279 Posts
--For sure it unloads probably about 10%, I actually pull around 78 amps static

--I run at 5280 ft alt+ --maybe a 6x4 would be better for your location-- I never ran a 6 x 4

--I also use an 85 amps esc --you only burst it for maybe 5-8 secs full power anyway.

--Use a full length heatsink with heat transfer compound

--I consistantly got 133mph with 4s 3300 using a 6x5.5 at this altitude
G-Forse is offline Find More Posts by G-Forse
Last edited by G-Forse; May 20, 2012 at 11:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 11:57 PM
Registered User
JBuck's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2007
249 Posts
your at pretty high altitude. Im at close to sea level.

I think im going try a 6x4 next.

Thanks G-Force
JBuck is offline Find More Posts by JBuck
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 11:57 PM
Registered User
Denver, CO
Joined Nov 2007
1,279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-speed buff View Post
I changed my nanotech 4S 2650 45/90C for a nanotech 4S 3300 65/130C, top speed went from 255km/h to 273km/h on the APC 7x10 sport
Now I have 6S speed on only 4S with the 3648-1450, and the motor is not so hot anymore after the flight!
On 6S APC 7x6 sport was borderline on 5-6 sec bursts and speed was ~275km/h

Grtz René

255kph = 158 mph

273 kph = 169 mph

--The 3648-1450 is a relativley big motor weighing 6.1 oz and costing $28
G-Forse is offline Find More Posts by G-Forse
Last edited by G-Forse; May 21, 2012 at 12:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 11:59 PM
Registered User
JBuck's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2007
249 Posts
And, yes you are right about only 5 sec burst. At full throttle it runs out of room Really Fast. lol
JBuck is offline Find More Posts by JBuck
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 02:51 AM
Registered User
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Feb 2009
1,287 Posts
I was curious if anyone tried launching they're fj in a discus manner with a y success?
yellowcolorado is offline Find More Posts by yellowcolorado
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 02:57 AM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,834 Posts
E-Speed,

Do I recall correctly that you start your runs with a dive, then level out for some distance before the speed reading?

Maybe it was someone else....not sure.

Can you comment?



Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 03:09 AM
186mph Funjet Ultra
E-speed buff's Avatar
nieuw vennep, the netherlands
Joined Feb 2010
502 Posts
@Gryphon

Yes that is what I do with my runs, speedcup style.
It makes not much difference in speed with the race course style, it is easyer to do on narrow flying fields.

@G-Forse

At your altitude the high pitch props work even better! Less amp draw and higher flying speeds, only launch will be more challenging, don't launch to steep up, the prop is stalled at launch.
You can run WOT as long as you want with the 7x10 on 4S with the 3648-1450 at that altitude.

Grtz René
E-speed buff is offline Find More Posts by E-speed buff
Last edited by E-speed buff; May 21, 2012 at 03:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 03:30 AM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,834 Posts
E-Speed,

Billy asked: .You must be diving right?

You replied: It was dopplered in level flight,


E-Speed, that answer is a bit misleading.
For sake of accuracy and full disclosure you could have said: I dive then level out for the Doppler reading.

.....or simply answered: Yes I dive.

Not trying to give you a hard time, you and I get along well, but a simple and direct question was asked by Billy. Your answer was squirly.


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 03:53 AM
186mph Funjet Ultra
E-speed buff's Avatar
nieuw vennep, the netherlands
Joined Feb 2010
502 Posts
Gryph you're right

Billy I am sorry I forgot to clear that up.

Comming weekend I am going to the speed meeting in Wünneberg (Germany) and try to get some video!

Grtz René
E-speed buff is offline Find More Posts by E-speed buff
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 06:56 AM
Registered User
FlyBillyFly's Avatar
Rogersville, Mo
Joined Jun 2008
3,640 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-speed buff View Post
Gryph you're right

Billy I am sorry I forgot to clear that up.

Comming weekend I am going to the speed meeting in Wünneberg (Germany) and try to get some video!

Grtz René
No Problem...I thought somewhere back you said you did dive..I'm more interested in straight level flight speed........I can't remember things much anymore.....hehehehe...I've been kinda piddlin around with level flying hot roddin....It is a Rush and a half...I'm just trying to get some high speed practice before my Megas come in.... Then my Scorpions and Turnegies are hittin the shelf...I'm also trying to keep a light setup..I've seen how weight is a killer for Speed....For now i'm using a Voltz 2600 6 cell 65/130....I'm really pleased with what i see...I'm just wanting to rid myself of these Big prop setups...I Fish alot..and play with the Grand kids....I don't want to suffer cuts from these big props...I've not tried any 7x11 props..right now my fastest by eye is the 80/60 Master Air Screw...Since i didn't get a reply from the Max Amp Battery question...I'm thinking of getting one more Voltz.....Later Fellas....Billy

BTW...I shore do love reading this thread....Alot of great info from everyone!!!!
FlyBillyFly is offline Find More Posts by FlyBillyFly
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 12:17 PM
Registered User
JBuck's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2007
249 Posts
anyone know how to mix in some right aileron on a switch ? In order to counter torque roll at launch.
JBuck is offline Find More Posts by JBuck
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 12:30 PM
Crash and burn, huh Mav?
Runnikee's Avatar
USA, IN, Fort Wayne
Joined Aug 2010
995 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBuck View Post
anyone know how to mix in some right aileron on a switch ? In order to counter torque roll at launch.
This will get the debate going again over whether or not mixing in aileron at launch actually does anything since there isn't enough air movement over the control surfaces at launch to have an effect. If you launch it straight into the air it doesn't matter if it torque rolls or not, and I've found that to be the easiest way to launch. JMO
Runnikee is offline Find More Posts by Runnikee
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Funjet Ultra, more fast more fun.... tbmg1 FPV Talk 34 Jul 28, 2010 08:36 AM
Discussion Muliplex EasyStar WBFlyer FPV Talk 9 Mar 10, 2010 03:09 PM
Sold muliplex ASW 27 NIB bushpilotx1 Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 7 Aug 31, 2009 05:41 PM
Question Muliplex Alpha Junior Radio Instalation Allan Glover Sailplane Talk 3 Apr 09, 2004 01:37 AM
Muliplex MultiCharger 4010DC - is mine faulty ? borgs Batteries and Chargers 0 Jul 12, 2003 07:01 AM