HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 16, 2012, 05:50 AM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melnic View Post
use eflite 160
I found you can get a much more accurate reading if you manually input the motor data. Don't use the eflite 160. There is a difference in the no load current not to mention a 3amp difference. I input the data manually and got a bigger prop to work so I'm guessing in the theory that the MP has better potential. Just wanted to let you know for future reference.
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 16, 2012, 08:26 AM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,437 Posts
so you have tried the MP160, what do you mean more accurate? What are you comparing. Don't believe too many specs you see from that motor. Even the Kv for the motor your delivered can be off from the spec by 5-10%.
the just about any calc is a ball park figure. +/- 20% accuracy I"ve found.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 09:32 AM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melnic View Post
so you have tried the MP160, what do you mean more accurate? What are you comparing. Don't believe too many specs you see from that motor. Even the Kv for the motor your delivered can be off from the spec by 5-10%.
the just about any calc is a ball park figure. +/- 20% accuracy I"ve found.
Oh I know Mel, Just wanted to let you know what I did is all. I just changed the plane the mp 160 is going on. Now it will be on a Lanier Pitts Special. Full weight I'm guessing will be around 13 to 15 lbs.
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 09:51 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,357 Posts
Guys..
I have no idea what you are talking about, but Doc993 seemed to indicate a source for Monster Tacon motors. I have one and love it would like to purchase more, and I don't care if the case is green or red... Doc 993 please post the link you reference.


KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:00 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Frankenmuth
Joined Jul 2007
82 Posts
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...h-06%29/Detail

Is the Heads up RC Link

This is where I find a lot of motors:

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_saca...ushless&_sop=1


Shhhh...it's a secret....lol
Bonified Wingnut is offline Find More Posts by Bonified Wingnut
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:03 AM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,437 Posts
If I can't get tacon, I sometimes get stuff from Headsuprc.com never had an issue. Mostly smaller motors but they have been selling more larger motors too now. Definitly better than going eflite,. They get out os stock on stuff too though.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 07:35 AM
Registered User
tubamike78's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
305 Posts
i had a magnet come loose on my monster power 160 last night. Is epoxy ok to use for re-glueing it or should i use something else?
tubamike78 is offline Find More Posts by tubamike78
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 02:44 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubamike78 View Post
i had a magnet come loose on my monster power 160 last night. Is epoxy ok to use for re-glueing it or should i use something else?
I'd use JB Weld if no one has any other suggestion. It does better with metals and does not tend to run.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 02:53 PM
RMS
Registered User
RMS's Avatar
Westport, MA
Joined Oct 2004
871 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubamike78 View Post
i had a magnet come loose on my monster power 160 last night. Is epoxy ok to use for re-glueing it or should i use something else?
I have used both JB weld and thin CA to repair lose magnets on other brand motors. I haven't had to do this on the MP motors yet.

If you use thin CA (which I DON'T suggest), make sure you let the motor bell sit with the hollow side down on something disposable for a day to make sure the excess CA drips out and has totally cured before re-assembling. Believe me, sloshing around thin CA in a large brushless motor bell is a real eye irritant and for me causes breathing issues since I have become somewhat allergic to it. Use it as a last resort.
RMS is offline Find More Posts by RMS
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 03:09 PM
Registered User
United States, OH, Youngstown
Joined Nov 2004
593 Posts
Haven't used it but Loctite 410 gets recommended

The small bottles seem tough to find tho
RedLine19k is offline Find More Posts by RedLine19k
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 06:55 PM
Registered User
Tucson
Joined Nov 2009
899 Posts
Go with the watts of the motor, not the "size".

There are "Power 46" motors from leadershobby that will put out 1200 continuous watts (8 lbs of thrust) and will spike up to 2200 watts (14 lbs of thrust). These have more power than the Monster Power 60. The Monster Power motors tend to be low watt, and low kv ratings. I gave up using them for leadershobby Power 46 with a big 4S battery.
wuest3141 is offline Find More Posts by wuest3141
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 06:35 PM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,004 Posts
Great thread!
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Last edited by jw357_23043; Nov 26, 2012 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 11:11 PM
Electric Coolhunter
Thomas B's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Jun 2000
14,463 Posts
After endless delays, the Tacon Bigfoot motors are back in stock at Hobbypartz.

Wish I had noticed this yesterday when they had the 10% off one day sale...

Prices are a little higher than before, though.
Thomas B is offline Find More Posts by Thomas B
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Thomas B; Jun 28, 2012 at 11:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:14 PM
3DHobbyShop Addict
Alex Schauer's Avatar
United States, MN, North Mankato
Joined Feb 2011
4,536 Posts
Yes, Yes, Old thread I know
Just putting a Bigfoot 32 in a 70" CMP Beaver. Want to run a 2 blade and 3 blade.
I have a 50A ESC. I will be easy on the throttle. Also running a separate BEC.
Just need some prop sizes. I've seen a lot of different things on this thread, and when I plug stuff into eCalc I'm not getting the same real-life results as I have seen posted here.
What is your personal reccommendation? I am going to try a 14x7 APC and a 13x8 3 blade Master Airscrew.
4S 4000 25C
Thoughts?
Recommendations?
Thanks,
Alex
Alex Schauer is offline Find More Posts by Alex Schauer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:50 PM
Registered User
Xanadu's Avatar
Canada, MB, Winnipeg
Joined Nov 2006
1,571 Posts
With the combo you list, be best to to use a APC e, 12x7 2 blade. Or if you want a 3 blade, go with a 11x7. Either will give you over 3000 grams of thrust, compared to your 2600 gram airframe. Is also equlaivent of 612 watts power with 80% efficiency.

All done courtesy of ecalc.
Xanadu is offline Find More Posts by Xanadu
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Anyone using an Exceed RC Monster Power 160? tlh101 Power Systems 16 Feb 22, 2010 08:13 PM
Question Monster Power outrunner brushless motor flylower Power Systems 10 Oct 25, 2009 08:14 AM
Question Monster Power 1.60 Motor bbmichael25 Power Systems 8 Jun 06, 2009 10:22 PM