SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 05, 2011, 09:56 PM
Registered User
Taildragger55's Avatar
Anchorage, Alaska
Joined Nov 2008
603 Posts
You've all probibly have seen this, not sure though. Here's some great video of an EasyCub, similar to a FunCub, different wing.

MULTIPLEX EasyCub Alaska Version (4 min 46 sec)
Taildragger55 is offline Find More Posts by Taildragger55
Last edited by Taildragger55; Mar 05, 2011 at 10:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2011, 10:04 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taildragger55 View Post
You've all probibly have seen this, not sure though. Here's some great video of an EasyCub, similar to a FunCub, different wing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0JyuTQZ0WQ
Yes, it was posted in this thread when it was first started.
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 05, 2011, 10:06 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Anybody running a Hacker in this plane? I have never tried one. I would like to read about how it worked out.
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 05, 2011, 10:16 PM
Registered User
Taildragger55's Avatar
Anchorage, Alaska
Joined Nov 2008
603 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof100 View Post
Yes, it was posted in this thread when it was first started.
I thought so, I missed it somehow.

Prof100, I bought a Hacker A30-28S 1140KV for mine. I haven't flown it yet, still under construction. Also, the Thunderbird 36 ESC I got for it was defective out of the package. It supples only 2.2 volts to the RX. So It'll be a 3 week or more wait or I could use an E-Flite 40 amp Pro for the time being however its heavy. Mabey I can take advantage of the extra weight and use it for balancing the plane.

I allways wanted to try a Hacker and this is the only one my LHS had that would work for this plane. It's recommended for planes from 20-60 oz. I could have ordered a different one however I try to patronize my LHS whenever I can. The plane was mail ordered along with the servos and ESC.
Taildragger55 is offline Find More Posts by Taildragger55
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2011, 10:28 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taildragger55 View Post
I thought so, I missed it somehow.

Prof100, I bought a Hacker A30-28S 1140KV for mine. I haven't flown it yet, still under construction. Also, the Thunderbird 36 ESC I got for it was defective out of the package. It supples only 2.2 volts to the RX. So It'll be a 3 week or more wait or I could use an E-Flite 40 amp Pro for the time being however its heavy. Mabey I can take advantage of the extra weight and use it for balancing the plane.

I allways wanted to try a Hacker and this is the only one my LHS had that would work for this plane. It's recommended for planes from 20-60 oz. I could have ordered a different one however I try to patronize my LHS whenever I can. The plane was mail ordered along with the servos and ESC.
That motor looks like it's a little underpowered for the Funcub. I was thinking about the A30 16M V2.
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 05, 2011, 10:44 PM
Registered User
Taildragger55's Avatar
Anchorage, Alaska
Joined Nov 2008
603 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof100 View Post
That motor looks like it's a little underpowered for the Funcub. I was thinking about the A30 16M V2.
With an AUW of 40-45 oz it should fit right in powerwise, however with the high KV rating of the motor, I'm going to have to run about a 10 X 4 prop.

I agree the A30-16M V2 would be a better choice but I'm planning on using 2200 maH lipo's and I may get a longer runtime with the smaller motor and still have enough power. I have an E-Flight power 10 that I was going to put in it but it would gobble up a 2200 maH battery in a couple of minutes of hard use.
Taildragger55 is offline Find More Posts by Taildragger55
Last edited by Taildragger55; Mar 05, 2011 at 10:54 PM. Reason: Added text.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2011, 12:33 PM
Takeoff,Crash,Repair ...
kg6uvp's Avatar
Rio Vista, CA
Joined Jan 2007
226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof100 View Post
Anybody running a Hacker in this plane? I have never tried one. I would like to read about how it worked out.
Motor by: Post #
Hacker A30-14L 800 (143g) MikeMayberry 568
george2 741
hoboe14 796
F1 Rocket 1189


Hacker A30-16M 1060 (104g) MikeMayberry 568
Vince53 904
richgraf 906
kepople 1165
EuroDriver 1781
kg6uvp is offline Find More Posts by kg6uvp
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2011, 12:44 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kg6uvp View Post
Motor by: Post #
Hacker A30-14L 800 (143g) MikeMayberry 568
george2 741
hoboe14 796
F1 Rocket 1189


Hacker A30-16M 1060 (104g) MikeMayberry 568
Vince53 904
richgraf 906
kepople 1165

EuroDriver 1781
WOW, thanks.
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 06, 2011, 09:57 PM
Registered User
lost's Avatar
USA, FL, Hobe Sound
Joined Dec 2006
156 Posts
control horns

I am a little stuck with my flap servos. Cannot seem to get it to travel to 90o.

I know I need long servo arms but I have been searching and cannot seem to find the right ones for my servos.
Already ordered some but they do not fit the spline.

If anyone could direct me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

I am using Corona DS-939MG
lost is offline Find More Posts by lost
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2011, 10:43 PM
Registered User
LandCruiser's Avatar
Little Rock, AR
Joined Jul 2005
264 Posts
Ran into the same problem with my HK servos.

My solution was to cut some long dubro micro servo arms I had and screw them to the stock servo arms.



Quote:
Originally Posted by lost View Post
I am a little stuck with my flap servos. Cannot seem to get it to travel to 90o.

I know I need long servo arms but I have been searching and cannot seem to find the right ones for my servos.
Already ordered some but they do not fit the spline.

If anyone could direct me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

I am using Corona DS-939MG
LandCruiser is offline Find More Posts by LandCruiser
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2011, 11:04 PM
Registered User
LandCruiser's Avatar
Little Rock, AR
Joined Jul 2005
264 Posts
teaser pic....

Just need to finish stuffing radio gear and ready for maiden.
LandCruiser is offline Find More Posts by LandCruiser
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2011, 02:44 AM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
United States, ID, Sandpoint
Joined Apr 2009
782 Posts
I have just completed mine with the power kit and everything per the manual but the c.g. is not even close. I have a 2100mah battery as far aft as it will go and I added some tail weight just to get a slightly nose heavy c.g. at 65mm. I know what it's like to fly a plane that is tail heavy and I'm not ready for that experience again in the near future. I'm not fond of adding more tail weight and I really don't want to go backwards and cut new holes and move the tail set servos back. Is the manufacturer recommendation of an 80mm c.g. really correct? Do all or most of you have your c.g.' at or very near 80mm?
crobar is offline Find More Posts by crobar
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2011, 07:13 AM
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,608 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobar View Post
I have just completed mine with the power kit and everything per the manual but the c.g. is not even close. I have a 2100mah battery as far aft as it will go and I added some tail weight just to get a slightly nose heavy c.g. at 65mm. I know what it's like to fly a plane that is tail heavy and I'm not ready for that experience again in the near future. I'm not fond of adding more tail weight and I really don't want to go backwards and cut new holes and move the tail set servos back. Is the manufacturer recommendation of an 80mm c.g. really correct? Do all or most of you have your c.g.' at or very near 80mm?


Do a search in this thread for LOTS of talk about CG.

But in a nutshell, you'll be JUST FINE at 65mm. I've flown it at 55mm and it flys great there as well.
Sammy70 is offline Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2011, 10:03 AM
Registered User
bubbleman's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
567 Posts
subscribe

Just purchased Fun Cub at Perry. Flying buddy had one. With the C/G at what the instructions called for it seemed WAY tail heavy. Took an oz. off the tail and it was much better.

I am still looking for a power system. What power range ( 200-300W.)?, what KV (800-1000)?

Am looking for lowest price (China)?

New to the Fun Cub
bubbleman is offline Find More Posts by bubbleman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2011, 10:07 AM
Registered User
bigmoebbq's Avatar
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Mar 2008
3,794 Posts
i think I have a 3542 in mine. Pushing about 800 watts. It is a bit over powered but me that is what makes it really fun..lol
bigmoebbq is offline Find More Posts by bigmoebbq
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Fun Cub sinowace Hitec/Multiplex USA 14 Oct 09, 2011 05:43 PM
Discussion Multiplex Fun Jet at the lake bah7566 FPV Talk 31 Jan 03, 2010 10:19 AM
For Sale Multiplex Fun Jet -- PRICE DROP Toby W Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Dec 28, 2009 10:51 AM
Video Multiplex Fun Jet FPV set up test bah7566 Electric Plane Talk 0 Dec 25, 2009 11:05 PM
Wanted multiplex fun-jet or trade! heli123 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Nov 14, 2009 12:02 PM