HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 11, 2010, 03:31 PM
Joined Mar 2010
20 Posts
Discussion
Which Speed Controllers For This Motor?

Hi, I'm new to making rc planes and I'm not sure which speed controllers go with this fan motor,
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=6632

If it says that the power is 252W or 16 amps then is that the max power it can handle safely and do I need speed controllers that are in the 15 to 18 amp range for safe efficiency?

Like would this be a good one?
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...ies_15-18A_ESC

Or maybe these are better?
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...eed_Controller

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...BEC_for_Lipoly

I have this speed controller already but it's 25 amps so I'm worried about frying something.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=2167

Also is this battery good for the motor,
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9267

If I understand it correctly you're suppose to multiply the constant discharge which is "30C" by 2.65 for that battery and then that gives me about 80 amps constant, If I get a speed controller at 15 to 18 amps then will it safely handle the constant 80 amps or does it not matter if it's higher?

Thanks!
Mecky is offline Find More Posts by Mecky
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 11, 2010, 03:44 PM
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,200 Posts
Whoa! with apologies, there are some misunderstandings here which need to be rectified.

The 252W at 16A is impossible... that would need 15.75V which even 4s is unlikely to provide... on 4s it seems that this unit might draw 25A (perhaps 375W), but on 3s no more than 18A, at most.

This from the HK site reviews.

Zippy 3s 2200, 15A, 150 watt, 330 grams thrust
Turigy3s 2650, 18A, 220 watt, 480 g,th
zippy 4s 2650, 25A, 375 watt, 680 g,th