HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:54 PM
I think I forgot how to fly RC
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,063 Posts
Interesting though..that SWB also sells hard link trays.
so they are covering both preferences

http://www.swbmfg.com/categories/Hardlink-Servo-Trays/
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:23 PM
Watts is where its at!
racerxky's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Oct 2004
1,748 Posts
I like hard links, as long as you have a channel per servo to set center and endpoints of each servo so they match.

Powering up on the wrong model will make you unhappy if you use hard links. Yet another reason model match and model select screens are awesome.
racerxky is offline Find More Posts by racerxky
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 25, 2013, 10:05 PM
Got the Slickness
gabrielisrael's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Jul 2010
2,521 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerxky View Post
I like hard links, as long as you have a channel per servo to set center and endpoints of each servo so they match.

Powering up on the wrong model will make you unhappy if you use hard links. Yet another reason model match and model select screens are awesome.
+1... like the Aurora 9
gabrielisrael is offline Find More Posts by gabrielisrael
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 10:29 PM
Got the Slickness
gabrielisrael's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Jul 2010
2,521 Posts
Just noticed watching a blog video with a PA plane that it looks like they use vortexing on the main wing. Its probably been that way for awhile, but it just made sense to me seeing it now.
gabrielisrael is offline Find More Posts by gabrielisrael
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 11:19 AM
Flarpy
flarpy's Avatar
Kitsap County
Joined Nov 2010
763 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiked3 View Post
How many of you guys are running your ganged servos like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fDyULSO8KU

Just curious ... a question came up in robotics and some are saying the double servos are a terrible way to operate.
I use the SWB pulley system on my 42% extra. Works great! Lost my first servo a few weeks ago, the other two just worked around the locked one.
flarpy is offline Find More Posts by flarpy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 11:24 AM
Flarpy
flarpy's Avatar
Kitsap County
Joined Nov 2010
763 Posts
Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361895865.443745.jpg
Views: 60
Size: 148.8 KB
Description:
flarpy is offline Find More Posts by flarpy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:18 PM
Registered User
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Apr 2007
450 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flarpy View Post
I use the SWB pulley system on my 42% extra. Works great! Lost my first servo a few weeks ago, the other two just worked around the locked one.
A few weeks ago? I bet it froze because of outside temperature

j/k

Thanks for the info. Sounds like the answer (to the question "should I use double servos on my robot?") is "maybe".
spiked3 is offline Find More Posts by spiked3
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:27 PM
I think I forgot how to fly RC
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiked3 View Post
A few weeks ago? I bet it froze because of outside temperature

j/k

Thanks for the info. Sounds like the answer (to the question "should I use double servos on my robot?") is "maybe".
Depending on the robotic application, either a Tonegawa Seiko servo from Airwild.com, or one of the servo torque setups from servocity.com might be the answer..

http://www.airwildpilotshop.com/More...product&id=662

http://www.airwildpilotshop.com/More...roduct&id=1011

http://www.servocity.com/html/robotzone_servos.html
http://www.servocity.com/html/belt_d...n_systems.html
http://www.servocity.com/html/mega_servos.html
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 04:35 PM
Gas Monkey Vic
Vitter's Avatar
Snohomish, WA
Joined Jan 2005
1,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiked3 View Post
A few weeks ago? I bet it froze because of outside temperature

j/k

Thanks for the info. Sounds like the answer (to the question "should I use double servos on my robot?") is "maybe".
Cool What robot are you building?
Vitter is offline Find More Posts by Vitter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 06:36 PM
Registered User
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Apr 2007
450 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitter View Post
Cool What robot are you building?
Not me actually. I (used to) frequent a robotics web site (http://robotics.stackexchange.com/) And some one ask a question "should I use two servos or one with twice the power at 3 times the cost?"

http://robotics.stackexchange.com/qu...ble-the-torque

Many answers indicated it was a really bad idea to use 2 servos, and that was "accepted" as the correct answer. I piped in an answered that most pro RC dudes used 2 and linked to pics. I also mentioned that wrong answers is why I quit spending time on that web site. Too many give wrong answers but get rewarded for it because their 'editing' skills make good looking answers.

So anyhow, I got several 'points' for my answer, and now they have decided to move it from an answer to a comment, to prevent that.

There are 2 types on that site; pHd types of which I am not, and the 'do it yourself' crowd of which I thought I helped, a little. But the pHd types do not like having it pointed out when they are being stupid.

So anyhow, me personally, I love and recommend LEGOs for robotics. You can do so much more with them, without soldering and drilling. You spend your time on robotics, not electrical or mechanical engineering.

spiked3 is offline Find More Posts by spiked3
Last edited by spiked3; Feb 26, 2013 at 06:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 09:37 PM
Got the Slickness
gabrielisrael's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Jul 2010
2,521 Posts
Spiked - What do you recommend for my 8 year old boy and Lego robotics?
gabrielisrael is offline Find More Posts by gabrielisrael
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:18 PM
Registered User
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Apr 2007
450 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielisrael View Post
Spiked - What do you recommend for my 8 year old boy and Lego robotics?
The LEGO line has a new version that is announced, but not quite out yet, EV3. The Bellvue and Lynnwood LEGO stores will stock them, I'm pretty sure.

In the meantime, there is nothing wrong with the NXT versions. V1 can be upgraded to V2 with just a free firmware update. There are some hardware differences in the sensors and included parts, but nothing major. Check eBay for a V1 or V2 LEGO NXT set.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lego-Mindsto...item2a29c57ec5

BTW, I never had kids, so I'm not sure if 8 is too young or not. I would think with some parental guidance, it would be fine, but I think it would take some guidance/help, until 7th grade or so. There are several 'pre-designed' bots your kids can build/play with until they get a desire to try one on their own.

LEGO NXT line following robot, Mindsensors AbsoluteIMU - Light Sensory Array - RobotC 3.5 (2 min 59 sec)


Is some robotting I did a while back. This is what got me initially interested in IMUs, which led to quads, and victor just happen to peak my interest with FPV. Then he, joel and robert also got me hooked on crack (yak obviously I hope). Come on warmer weather.
spiked3 is offline Find More Posts by spiked3
Last edited by spiked3; Feb 26, 2013 at 10:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:47 PM
This ain't my first rodeo...
SupaTim's Avatar
United States, WA, Orting
Joined Jan 2010
1,464 Posts
First, I admire the creativity and focus required to engineer any sort of robotics and think it's a great way to keep the mind sharp.

That being said here's where I unfortunately reside on the matter... Please take no offense as this is a joke!

Can You Fuck It ? (0 min 16 sec)
SupaTim is offline Find More Posts by SupaTim
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:49 PM
Gas Monkey Vic
Vitter's Avatar
Snohomish, WA
Joined Jan 2005
1,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupaTim View Post
First, I admire the creativity and focus required to engineer any sort of robotics and think it's a great way to keep the mind sharp.

That being said here's where I unfortunately reside on the matter... Please take no offense as this is a joke!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXz0KgNjK-0
I didn't know they were filming when I asked that question
Vitter is offline Find More Posts by Vitter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:51 PM
Registered User
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Apr 2007
450 Posts
Might explain why I never had kids? Just sayin ....
spiked3 is offline Find More Posts by spiked3
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale 3DHS Aspera - p/u only, Seattle or Portland Earthbound Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Feb 26, 2009 08:16 PM
Cool seattle area pilots b36roxs Slope 0 Jul 26, 2008 01:32 PM
A Few Wood Built-up 3D Planes in the Seattle Area xwingnut Non R/C Items (FS/W) 4 Jan 07, 2008 08:12 PM
Sold Parkzone Typhoon 3D (Seattle area only) price reduced to $100 corsha99 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Feb 04, 2007 12:44 PM
Seattle Area Pilots, lets fly this weekend Todd Long Electric Plane Talk 9 Sep 08, 2001 04:40 AM