I butcher foam
Springfield, MO
Joined Jun 2008
1,559 Posts
Discussion
Lipo fire took my house and everything I own

Lesson to be learned.

I've been using and charging lipos since 2006

I was charging a 3s 2200 mah pack with a Turnigy Accucel 8 - no balance board connector, mine was on loan.

I checked the charge, 1400 mah in, all was well..no puffing

I WAS on 3s setting, I MAY have been charging at 2c by accident as I charged a 2c pack beforehand. This pack is NOT rated at 2c (previous pack can do 5c)

10-15 minutes later smoke alarms started going out. My house has 5 detectors throughout.

Searching for the source I went straight towards the garage. Smoke was coming out of the door to the garage and turning the drywall black.

Opened the door, huge fire where I was charging in the corner.

A quick 5 second jog to get the fire extinguisher and I'm back to the garage. By this time nearly the entire garage was up and the ceiling was starting to come down.

WE called 911 and got our daughter (we being me and my wife) and two dogs out. We didnt have time to get our new pet ferret and pet ball python. They were burned alive.

Our cars, we moved them to the street

Now we only have the clothes on our back. I am insured pretty well.

4 years of dealing with lipos with no accidents, and then this, it can happen to you!!!

My helifreak.com friends and 3DHS friends in the 3D forum have setup paypal donation links for us, which has been a godsend!!!

Please, be careful....
rballz is offline Find More Posts by rballz
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2010, 01:34 AM
St Louis
Joined Sep 2009
121 Posts
At least you all got out.
TugboatTodd is offline Find More Posts by TugboatTodd
Old Feb 27, 2010, 02:09 AM
Brisbane Australia
Joined Aug 2009
126 Posts
Sorry for your loss hope all go's well for you
Bushido is offline Find More Posts by Bushido
Old Feb 27, 2010, 03:25 AM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
12,013 Posts
Glad to hear you're all safe.