HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 26, 2010, 10:03 PM
Scratch building addict
United States, CA, Felton
Joined Jan 2005
660 Posts
Discussion
What prop for a 2.3mm shaft w/ prop saver

Hey all, this is the first time I have made a model with a 2.3mm high KV (2250kv) motor, its the aurora 300df. I've calculated that a 5x3 or 5x4 prop should work well as direct drive, so I ordered some (I think they are GWS direct drive props)..

Long story short I had to drill the prop hole larger to keep the prop from bending around the conical saver so easily, and the o-ring is too lose for my liking as well.

So what prop brand and type do you think would be good for this motor?

I'm new to jets and high kv planes.

Also, anyone have any data or experience with this motor from justgofly.com?

thanks
rotagen is offline Find More Posts by rotagen
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2010, 10:10 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Jul 2006
22,991 Posts
I'm really confused here. How does a prop bend around a prop saver????
NoFlyZone is offline Find More Posts by NoFlyZone
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 26, 2010, 10:32 PM
Scratch building addict
Joined Jan 2005
660 Posts
Basically due to the relatively small hole in the prop, and the larger conical shape of the prop saver, the prop was not stable on the saver.

As in it could be easily moved from side to side with my fingers.
Old Feb 26, 2010, 11:01 PM
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,205 Posts
Don't use a prop saver on a 300DF motor (far too dangerous on such a high Kv motor)... get a Graupner CAM 4x3 or 4.7x4.7 and a 3.2mm collet prop adapter. I never dared run my test motor (MTM 300DF) on 3s in direct drive, but if you do, you'll be around 20,000rpm... remember that motor is rated for maybe 7A max [http://ecsvr.com/RC-Direct/shopexd.asp?id=955].... a 4x3 may take it to 10A+, and a 4.7x4.7 may have it at 13A or so.

If I misunderstood and you are using 2s, then a Graupner 4.7x4.7 might be okay.