SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 19, 2001, 08:13 PM
Acme Powered!
Joe Elston's Avatar
Orange,CA
Joined Jul 2000
4,040 Posts
Help! How do I retime my 6327 Graupner Speed 480 race motor for a gearbox.

The last time I tried this, I ruined my 40:00 dollar motor. I need to retime my speed 480 to run in reverse for a gearbox. I have a four cell pack and also have an Astr Super what meter. I would appreciate anyones help please. I dont want to ruin another motor. And this one is brand new never been run.
Thanks Joe
Joe Elston is offline Find More Posts by Joe Elston
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 19, 2001, 09:51 PM
LJH
Moths do not fly inverted
LJH's Avatar
Greenwich CT.
Joined Sep 2000
4,191 Posts
Check this out.
http://www.maxxprod.com/cobaltmotors.pdf

Cheers,
Jim
LJH is offline Find More Posts by LJH
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2001, 09:56 PM
Member
Northwest Territory
Joined Jan 2001
203 Posts
Joe,
What gear box are you using with your 480?

Lee
El Pe is offline Find More Posts by El Pe
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2001, 10:25 PM
Acme Powered!
Joe Elston's Avatar
Orange,CA
Joined Jul 2000
4,040 Posts
EL PE, well I will be using two gearboxes on my 480's. I have a twin Islander that I am installing two speed 480's in. What I did was buy the Cermark/MPI speed 400 box they are identical near as I could see. I then took my dremel tool and made the opening larger for the 480 to fit in the gearbox. I then purchased rc car metric pinions to match the ones that came with the box for the smaller speed 400 shaft. RC car motors have 1/8 inch shafts like the 480. Well I have now a gearbox with dual ball bearings and with ratios from 2.0 to 1, 2.5 to 1 and finnaly 3.0 to 1. And you can even go higher by just taking some more metal of the gearbox. So you can slide the motor down to use a bigger pinion. I have not done very much testing because the first motor I tried to reverse timed I cooked. And I am installing a planatery box of 3.7 to1 on a 480 for my Herr Piper Cherokee. It does not need reverse timing and I wanted to make sure the motor fit in the Cherokee's cowl I am also going to put both planes on floats,
That is how I did.
Joe
Joe Elston is offline Find More Posts by Joe Elston
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2001, 10:28 PM
Acme Powered!
Joe Elston's Avatar
Orange,CA
Joined Jul 2000
4,040 Posts
LJH thats not what I was looking for. You can reverse the motor without changing the leads. Thanks Though. Someone will help me out.
Joe
Joe Elston is offline Find More Posts by Joe Elston
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2001, 12:50 PM
LJH
Moths do not fly inverted
LJH's Avatar
Greenwich CT.
Joined Sep 2000
4,191 Posts
Joe,
You can do it one of two ways. either what is said on the MPI page or turn the end bells 180 deg's. But you will still have to retime. This is how I have done it on my SP48 BB race motor for my Pico Jet. Good luck.

Cheers,
Jim Hahn
LJH is offline Find More Posts by LJH
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2001, 12:56 PM
Acme Powered!
Joe Elston's Avatar
Orange,CA
Joined Jul 2000
4,040 Posts
Jim, can you tell me how you did it? and which process did you use. I would really appreciate the info.
Joe
Joe Elston is offline Find More Posts by Joe Elston
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Graupner Speed 480 Race, 7.2V #6330 Twmaster Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 29, 2005 10:12 AM
Help! How do I splice my simulator cord? 1g1yy Radios 1 Aug 03, 2003 01:58 PM
Help!! How do I splice my interface cord? 1g1yy Simulators 0 Jul 19, 2003 09:55 PM
Graupner Speed 480 Race Break-In & Other Newbie Q's! maverick Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 12 Jul 18, 2003 12:53 AM
Graupner Speed 480 Race Break-In & Other Newbie Q's! maverick Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 1 Jul 14, 2003 05:29 PM