SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 23, 2010, 02:52 PM
Joined Feb 2010
14 Posts
New Product
Perfect Trainer.

A buddy of mine (Mike) has been designing and building rc planes for decades. I've enjoyed watching but have never tried it myself. Then a couple weeks ago he invited me over to try flying. He had built a foam biplane kit and wanted to put a total newbie on the controls. Having never flown I was a bit reluctant. He gave me a 5 minute verbal crash (pardon the pun) and then handed me the controls. My only experience with something like that was with my xbox controller, I play halo occasionally and am told that having my xbox controller configured to play inverted would help. I did not share their confidence. Mike re-assured me and even showed me that as long as the plane had 30+ feet of altitude he could set the controller down and the plane would land safely on the grass completely unassisted.

What happened next really blew my mind. Mike held the plane for a hand launch, I ran up the power to 2/3 and up it went. Keeping my head wrapped around left and right as I made passes left and right was a bit confusing (one direction left meant the plane would fly away from me and the other left would point the plane to me). Though the audion is not real clear, you can hear me commenting about it to Mike as I try to make my flight. You can see how I did here http://www.youtube.com/user/SlowBipe.../1/c5BWMgjVuJw or under his SlowBipe post. Totally amazing to me just under 2 minutes of flight for a complete first timer and it was very cool!

Mike tells me that the secret to his trainer is:
  • It flies slow enough to give a first timer plenty of time to react.
  • The motor is overpowered providing enough thrust to get out of trouble (didn’t experience that with my first flight as I kept the throttle pretty fixed).