HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 22, 2003, 09:21 AM
closed
Gilbert AZ
Joined Jun 2001
9,322 Posts
Brushless Motor Acting Strange

Someone Please tell me what this means. Yesterday my Mega 5T motor starting acting strange and the problem went away. I plugged in the battery and advanced the Throttle and the Prop started rocking back and forth and then stopped. After the 4th attempt to get it working, every thing started acting normal again. Weird! Any thoughts on this one. Thanks

David Yerby
fly4fun is offline Find More Posts by fly4fun
to remove ads between posts
Old May 22, 2003, 10:14 AM
Round Rock, TX
Joined Apr 2003
150 Posts
I have no experience with these, but since noone has answered, I will tell you what I think based on previous threads I have read. I think it might be the speed control. The speed control is what tells the motor what to do, and if it is having a hard time determining what position the shaft is in, it might not be able to figure out what sequence to send to the motor for correct operation. So that is my guess.

Dale
mitchydkid is offline Find More Posts by mitchydkid
Old May 22, 2003, 10:19 AM
closed
Gilbert AZ
Joined Jun 2001
9,322 Posts
Thanks Dale. I cannot seem to duplicate the Problem again. The ESC is Castle Creations 25 Amp.
Old May 22, 2003, 10:29 AM
N. Staffs, UK
Joined Jan 1997
5,654 Posts
I believe Dale has it right though I've only ever actually seen that with twin brushless motors on one ESC. It's possible for the motor to get into a position where the ESC can't quite work out what to do. Usually just moving the prop round a few degrees fixes it. If it happens again try that.

Steve
steve lewin is offline Find More Posts by steve lewin
Old May 22, 2003, 10:45 AM
Hmm, kerosene... :)
Weert(LB) - the Netherlands
Joined May 2002
952 Posts
I have the same problem with my mega 3turn in a gearbox.
Sometimes the motor won't start (usually when the batt is near empty) Turn the prop a bit, and it will start.

Hans