HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 25, 2011, 02:15 AM
Registered User
Ben D Wing's Avatar
The Peak District
Joined Dec 2006
2,868 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstein9 View Post
thanks guys.....flys great.

although

my rolls are a little off center

any tips??

Two things perhaps:

1) Are you flying mode 2? If so you could be inadvertently applying a small amount of elevator when pushing the aileron stick over.

2) There may be the need to introduce a small amount of differential into the ailerons to make the roll more axial as the down moving surface usually produces more lift than the up going creates drag. Try reducing the movement of the down going alieron by a few mm's/ degs. and see how the plane performs. (Differential is not usually necessary on wings with a fully symetrical section) Full size aircraft nearly always have aileron differential to balance the roll manoeuvre.

My Blaze has 18mm 'down' and 24mm 'up' on the ailerons and this produces a fairly axial roll, although a small amount of down elevator is still needed during the inverted stage of the manoeuvre
Ben D Wing is offline Find More Posts by Ben D Wing
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 26, 2011, 01:41 PM
Home of A-10 - Farmingdale NY
boiko's Avatar
United States, NH, Londonderry
Joined Dec 2006
918 Posts
I have a Blizzard w/power pack still in the box...and right now I'm thinking I might pick the Blaze up as a entry into the Blizzard category of semi warmliners.

I'm sure with a cost effective change of ESC/Prop cranking the Watts up a bit could warm this plane up a bit more. But it doesn't sound too bad at all in it's stock version.

For people who have painted their Blaze....which paint did you use?

Very few videos show dives from altitude...has anyone seen any wing flutter?

Thanks,
-mike-
boiko is offline Find More Posts by boiko
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 03:40 PM
Registered User
Ben D Wing's Avatar
The Peak District
Joined Dec 2006
2,868 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boiko View Post
Very few videos show dives from altitude...has anyone seen any wing flutter?

Thanks,
-mike-
No wing flutter at all and I really abuse my Blaze, however I did initially experience some lack of elevator authority in high speed dives. This was eventually traced to the white plastic elevator servo(s) mounting cradles; They weren't 100% glued in so a quick squirt of cyano around them sorted the problem.
Ben D Wing is offline Find More Posts by Ben D Wing
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 03:37 AM
Registered User
Kingdom of The Netherlands
Joined Nov 2009
154 Posts
I also do not experience any flutter just a beautiful sound when de Wow/Blaze passes.
Enjoy the fun machine!
HBFP NL is offline Find More Posts by HBFP NL
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 05:00 AM
Master of Nothing!!!
ginsu1797's Avatar
Orange county
Joined Nov 2002
511 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boiko View Post

For people who have painted their Blaze....which paint did you use?

Very few videos show dives from altitude...has anyone seen any wing flutter?

Thanks,
-mike-
I used Tamiya paint for polycabonate. Doesn't flake off, stays flexible. As for flutter, I didn't notice any. As others have said, the elevator gets spongy at high speed. I haven't reinforced the tail feathers yet.
ginsu1797 is offline Find More Posts by ginsu1797
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 03:52 AM
Home of A-10 - Farmingdale NY
boiko's Avatar
United States, NH, Londonderry
Joined Dec 2006
918 Posts
I would like to replace the stock prop with a 10x7 Graupner and the black stock spinner with a nice white spinner.

What are the dimensions of the stock spinner..is it 38 Dia and 5mm..?

Would this work..?
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXWDF1&P=7

Also have a Thunderbird 38A ESC which I might swap out the stock ESC for.

Thanks,
-mike-
boiko is offline Find More Posts by boiko
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2011, 04:25 PM
Registered User
Staffordshire, UK
Joined Aug 2005
27 Posts
I dont seem to have read this in the thread... do you guys have any idea of how many Amps the standard setup pulls using an 11.1v lipo?
I bought a Watt meter today, trying it on the blaze it says its pulling 21amps. I thought it would be more than this.

Maybe you knowledgeable folk could have a read of this......
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1427693&page=4
matada34 is offline Find More Posts by matada34
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2011, 04:36 PM
Registered User
Kingdom of The Netherlands
Joined Nov 2009
154 Posts
With a 10x6 CamCarb prop my sucked around 25Amps.

HBFP NL is offline Find More Posts by HBFP NL
Reply With Quote
Old May 04, 2011, 07:45 AM
The Flying Herb
rstein9's Avatar
Santa Barbara, California
Joined Jul 2007
415 Posts
what paint

Quote:
Originally Posted by boiko View Post
I have a Blizzard w/power pack still in the box...and right now I'm thinking I might pick the Blaze up as a entry into the Blizzard category of semi warmliners.

I'm sure with a cost effective change of ESC/Prop cranking the Watts up a bit could warm this plane up a bit more. But it doesn't sound too bad at all in it's stock version.

For people who have painted their Blaze....which paint did you use?

Very few videos show dives from altitude...has anyone seen any wing flutter?

Thanks,
-mike-
i use the cheapo enamel that they sell at osh.2 bucks for a large spray can..or any large hardware store....don't waste money on expensive paints.....

tip

do your design and then spray a clear layer over it.....that really preserves the paint.
rstein9 is offline Find More Posts by rstein9
Last edited by rstein9; May 04, 2011 at 07:46 AM. Reason: add info
Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2011, 05:13 PM
Registered User
Leicester, UK
Joined Sep 2010
106 Posts
Here is a video I captured of my ST Model Blaze with a GoPro camera showing front and rear views.

ST Model Blaze front & rear GoPro footage LMAC (5 min 21 sec)


My Blog details a bit more about how and where I attached the GoPro camera:

http://mjc70.blogspot.com/2011/05/go...del-blaze.html
mjc1970 is offline Find More Posts by mjc1970
Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2011, 08:36 PM
"ya can't get hurt in the air"
King Pin's Avatar
United States, NY, Cazenovia
Joined Oct 2009
192 Posts
Nice video mjc1970, was that filmed on r5...1080? or r3 720/60?

KP
King Pin is offline Find More Posts by King Pin
Reply With Quote
Old May 06, 2011, 07:21 AM
Registered User
Leicester, UK
Joined Sep 2010
106 Posts
It was filmed on r3 King_Pin. The video has been edited using MS Live Movie Maker, so it may have lost a bit of resolution from here. The videos look much better on a large screen TV .

Thanks for your feedback.
mjc1970 is offline Find More Posts by mjc1970
Reply With Quote
Old May 06, 2011, 06:00 PM
Home of A-10 - Farmingdale NY
boiko's Avatar
United States, NH, Londonderry
Joined Dec 2006
918 Posts
Other choices for Spinner on the Blaze..?

Ok my Blaze has been delivered, so I'm now thinking about a few modifications...

- Change out the ESC to a CC Thunderbird 38 I have and up until now not used.
- Change out all servos to HXT900's (9g/1.6kg)
- Change out the prop to the Aeronaut CAM 10x7
- Spray paint the inside of the canopy either black of silver
- Apply 3M Extreme tape to flight control surfaces
- Apply contrast/color scheme to underside of Blaze (TBD)

...and lastly swap out the stock spinner. Instead of going with the Multiplex Blizzard spinner (which I still might do..ie color match to plane is great I know). I was thinking about either a white of aluminum spinner.

I guess the other question really is...can you go to a 38mm/4mm spinner instead of a 39mm/4mm such as the Multiplex version? Does 1 mm really make that much difference? If not, then that opens the door to more options.

Has anyone yet tried any other spinner(s)...and if so what make/model/size?

Thanks,
-mike-
boiko is offline Find More Posts by boiko
Last edited by boiko; May 06, 2011 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2011, 11:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
2 Posts
Stock motor sepc.

Dear all,

I moved my question to here from the room of general question.

I'd like to ask about stock motor of Hype Wow...!
It has two types of motor: 28mm for RTF(018-1580) & 35mm for ARF(018-1585).

I do not know about power & KV of 28mm one but can be expected by too much big drawn current by 10 x 6 prop & 3S to be accepted by 28mm one. And lack of power to reasonable climb can be estimated also.

1)
Is there some one who had done a flight of 018-1580(RTF) ?
Could you let me know the your evaluation results?
Especially, comparison to 018-1585 would be highly appreciated if possible.

2)
Do you know the spec. of stock motor of 018-1580, -1585 & other Blaze or Inifinity?

-. Weight [g] / Size [DxL in mm]
-. KV [rpm/volt]
-. No load current [A]
-. Max. allowable current [A]
-. Out power [W]

Thank you in advance.
glassair3 is offline Find More Posts by glassair3
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 08:32 PM
"ya can't get hurt in the air"
King Pin's Avatar
United States, NY, Cazenovia
Joined Oct 2009
192 Posts
Hay boiko, if its not to late I would recommend fixing the hinges and fly it stock first. You might be surprised, a well set up stock Blaze can perform very well. The appeal to me was $109. in my hands and in the air. The paint scheme I did made it my snow, dusk, anytime plane, I love it stock. I would do something hotter altogether before putting much into this, thats just me. On the other hand if you do any mods you like post them here , maybe I'll give'm a try!!!

KP
King Pin is offline Find More Posts by King Pin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion ST Models Fox EP ARTF Kn0bby Electric Sailplanes 10 Jun 29, 2011 10:42 PM
Sold ST models RTF Cessna avoidingexpert Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jan 25, 2010 05:15 PM
Discussion ST Models DG1000 Elite Aerial Photography 0 Dec 20, 2009 11:07 PM
Discussion X-models xray sport hotliner details needed. stevext Electric Sailplanes 0 Oct 12, 2009 04:05 PM
Discussion ST Models Piper Cub EP ARTF Baz Ck Electric Plane Talk 0 Sep 02, 2009 10:37 AM