HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 16, 2010, 07:54 PM
Talk to me Goose ...
Poquott, NY
Joined Jun 2009
59 Posts
Understand - Will be interesting to see what the experts recommend as far as readings ... there are usually so many people standing around my field I will probably have one of them read it! Seems safest ...
JJJNYC is offline Find More Posts by JJJNYC
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2010, 08:27 PM
2 Turbos...Nope 1 Big one
skeppley's Avatar
United States, PA, Lake Wynonah
Joined Aug 2004
1,821 Posts
It says that it has an audible tone when it's nearing 3 volts. But i dont know what the nearing voltage is.
Any of you guys that do have them, can you tell us when she beeps?
If the voltage was adjustable, this would be a really good product.
I dont like taking my eyes off my helis either, but doing a hard climbout with max pitch and hearing a nice audible alarm when the packs drop to 3.2 volts per or so would work for me.

Obviously i would still run my timer, and be very cautious when the normal landing beep came on from that.

It would be some trial and error to get it all working, but a nice addition, not replacement to your normal flying routine. HAving someone else monitor it for ya, would also help to weed out a weak cell in a pack, or just find a pack thats on it's way out.
skeppley is offline Find More Posts by skeppley
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 08:46 PM
Oopss. Oh well.
borneobear's Avatar
In the tropics
Joined Jan 2006
3,623 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeppley View Post
I
If the voltage was adjustable, this would be a really good product.

...hearing a nice audible alarm when the packs drop to 3.2 volts per or so would work for me.
Unfortunately, no, the alarm voltage is not adjustable. But the warning tone is unmistakably loud. You can't miss it!

I really really wish I had something like this when I first started out flying. Could have saved a bunch of lipos and crashes due to over discharge and low voltage cut-offs.


Quanum - if you're reading this - The receiver "Bind" and "On-Off" switch quality could be improved though.
borneobear is offline Find More Posts by borneobear
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 09:21 PM
2 Turbos...Nope 1 Big one
skeppley's Avatar
United States, PA, Lake Wynonah
Joined Aug 2004
1,821 Posts
Thanks borne.
Any idea when that nice loud tone kicks on?
skeppley is offline Find More Posts by skeppley
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 09:38 PM
Registered User
Highfly!'s Avatar
United States, CA, Cameron Park
Joined May 2007
1,259 Posts
It kicks in around 3.1v
Highfly! is offline Find More Posts by Highfly!
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 07:38 PM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2002
1,475 Posts
Is the trip voltage for the alarm user adjustable?
Thanks,
Neal
Nobert is offline Find More Posts by Nobert
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 08:27 PM
Registered User
Highfly!'s Avatar
United States, CA, Cameron Park
Joined May 2007
1,259 Posts
No adjustments possible
Highfly! is offline Find More Posts by Highfly!
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 10:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
2,781 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by p51p51 View Post
I think these should be somehow incorporated into the rx tx itself. Maybe when it gets into the 30.00 price range I'll get one.
The Hitec Aurora 9 has telemetry and from the European announcements, so do the upcoming Spektrum DX8 and and DX10t. In a few years I think telemetry will be taken for granted.
Dave H. is offline Find More Posts by Dave H.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 03:31 AM
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Nottingham Road South Africa/Bedford UK
Joined Feb 2007
3,937 Posts
Yep, could'nt agree more, just a sign of things to come.
Gary Mortimer is offline Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 09:33 AM
Major Electron Addiction
USA, NC, Wilmington
Joined Aug 2006
574 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by p51p51 View Post
Maybe when it gets into the 30.00 price range I'll get one.
You can have mine now for $30.00!! The accuracy of the cell voltages is a joke. The unit works as advertised, but the voltages are so far off that there is no point in using it. Before a flight I had readings from 3.95 volts up to 4.8 volts. I reconnected the battery to two different Cellpro 10s chargers and found the pack to be fully charged and balanced. After the flight, I had readings from 3.7 to 4.5 volts. Again, the charger showed the pack to be balanced. I haven't opened it up to see if there are pots to adjust. YMMV
rodsmith123 is offline Find More Posts by rodsmith123
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 09:43 AM
2 Turbos...Nope 1 Big one
skeppley's Avatar
United States, PA, Lake Wynonah
Joined Aug 2004
1,821 Posts
^
Thats VERY interesting.
I would love to try it out, if you really wanna get rid of it.
If thats the case, i would just use it for my rc cars and see how it does
skeppley is offline Find More Posts by skeppley
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 05:54 PM
I think I forgot how to fly RC
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodsmith123 View Post
You can have mine now for $30.00!! The accuracy of the cell voltages is a joke. The unit works as advertised, but the voltages are so far off that there is no point in using it. Before a flight I had readings from 3.95 volts up to 4.8 volts. I reconnected the battery to two different Cellpro 10s chargers and found the pack to be fully charged and balanced. After the flight, I had readings from 3.7 to 4.5 volts. Again, the charger showed the pack to be balanced. I haven't opened it up to see if there are pots to adjust. YMMV
funny..mine are accurate.

Try and get ahold of Quanum to see about a replacement or some tech support. Perhaps there is a way to calibrate.
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 06:22 PM
Registered User
Highfly!'s Avatar
United States, CA, Cameron Park
Joined May 2007
1,259 Posts
I always do a cell reading before I install my battery and with my Quanum unit the differences in readings are almost none. Maybe you have a faulty unit.
Highfly! is offline Find More Posts by Highfly!
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 02:25 AM
AMA 670207
Rudderman98's Avatar
United States, WA, Sumner
Joined Oct 2000
2,775 Posts
Mine should be here soon.

Perry
Rudderman98 is offline Find More Posts by Rudderman98
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 10:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2005
109 Posts
Quote:
It kicks in around 3.1v
Why so damn low?
bl8zn is offline Find More Posts by bl8zn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quanum battery voltage telemetry - and 'voltage under load' question ... JJJNYC Batteries and Chargers 51 Oct 22, 2014 12:55 PM
For Sale 2.4 Friendly Super Star - Can B Picked Up at SWC Blayne Chastain Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 6 Mar 02, 2010 09:28 AM
For Sale Sprite "Mini Supra" 2 Meter TD - Can B Picked Up at SWC Blayne Chastain Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Jan 26, 2010 02:19 PM
Discussion dreamped up this last night fer the footies. nigelpheron Sailboats 12 Feb 07, 2007 08:58 AM
Picked this up at a yardsale today...need some help! kctrading Beginner Training Area (Fuel) 16 Mar 31, 2005 12:23 AM