SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 11, 2010, 03:06 PM
fox-2
South Africa
Joined Feb 2010
10 Posts
Discussion
Help connecting battery to esc to motor

HI, fellow rc flyers, i'm a newbie. to electric flying and building my first foamie. p51 d Mustang (what else...). i have a eflight Park 480 Brushless outrunner motor 910 Kv, an Emax esc-35A and a Eflight 2100mAh Li.Po battery.
Problem: please advise how to connect them all up so that they may eventually work in harmony. what confuses me is, there are 3 x wires from the motor colours black blue and red. on the Emax Esc. there are 5 wires and a a small plug with 4thin wires. on one side of the ESC are 3 blue coloured wires and on the other end a red and black + the small plug with thin wires. (no problem to connect that side )
Question how does one connect the 3 blue coloured wires on the ESC to the Black, blue and red wires on the outrunner motor without knowing which colour wire on the motor connects to which blue wire on the ESC of the three there.
Kind of silly to put all three wires out as blue.. or am i missing some thing here.

have search the net for answers but nada.. so i apeal to you please help me understand .

ps there are no explanation on the user instruction page supplied with the ESC only a diagram. with no clear instruction what goes where between motor and ESC.
Fox-2 is offline Find More Posts by Fox-2
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 11, 2010, 03:53 PM
Air, Ground & Water
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,614 Posts
The reason why your motor wires are colored that way is so they match up with e-flites ESC as this is a E-flite motor.

But in brushless it does not matter what color goes with what so thats why your ESC are all blue and some are all black and other color codes simply to match with their own brand motors.