HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 11, 2010, 09:34 AM
Beijing, China
Joined Nov 2006
1,223 Posts
Build Log
1/72 B-17G Flying Fortress

This is my first build thread on RCG. I felt it was about time to show some of my work. I'm a two-fingered typist, so don't expect me to write too much.

The original idea was to use depron, with 4 4mm pager motors, and PZ brick. The motors didn't produce enough thrust, though. (see prototype #1) However, I did work out CG and thrust lines.

Prototype #2 has a profile fuselage, and became the test bed for a lot of different motors. I really wanted to get the lightest 6mm motors I could, since any extra weight is multiplied by four. I flew it with 2 6x14mm and 2 4x12mm motors, amd had plenty of power. So, I am using two 6x14mm, and two very light 6x10mm motors. The next issue was that with four motors I was pushing the limit of the 1A PZ speed control.

Which has brought me to #3. After weighing the depron, I felt I could produce a lighter plane, with a better wing airfoil, and a full fuse for less weight. After building the wing, I decided it was too flat for rudder/elevator control. So, I went to a 4ch Plantraco Rx with in-hinge coils all around. This gives me full house controls at about the same weight as the PZ brick, while eliminating the weight of pushrods. It also gave me 2A to work with for the motors. I will use a Monolith programmed on a Polk's Tracker III for control. Since the ailerons are large, I really want a dual-rate setting, to be safe. Overall weight should be less than 30g, including gun turrets and battery. We'll see...
reylf_gnijieB is offline Find More Posts by reylf_gnijieB
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 11, 2010, 10:08 AM
Fly, dangit!!!
Little Rock, AR USA
Joined Jan 2007
1,050 Posts
Richard - wow, looks like a pretty ambitious project, and a scale one to boot! I'm signing on for the ride, good luck! 30g sound like it'll be a tough target, but I'm betting you can do it!