HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 13, 2012, 04:31 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,344 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
The displayed voltage has a 0.3V tolerance.

Andy
It is more like "the displayed voltage reads low by 0.3V". Would be nice if it just read the proper voltage.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2012, 04:54 PM
Just here for the pie.
Canada, BC, Ashcroft
Joined Jun 2011
394 Posts
I second what flitelab said.

Is there a resistor that can be replaced with a potentiometer to correct the voltage readout?

Cheers!
Randall
randall_l is offline Find More Posts by randall_l
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 05:18 PM
Registered User
MyPonyRocks's Avatar
United States, NC, Goldsboro
Joined Mar 2011
393 Posts
is .3 volts really that big a deal? I mean "pro-enthusiasts" are likely to have a fully charged TX before chucking their $XK equipment in the air no? I fly for days on the stock batt... hell it's been in my cold work locker all week and still reads at a near full charge (-2C or so in the bay the last few days, moved my LiPos into the heated office but forgot the TX somehow).

If I know I'm going to be flying I charge it up before hand, it sits in the locker and I do fly from time to time at work otherwise (except in the evening when I take it home for sim time). If I can remember to do so as a novice, what's the big deal?

Mind you I suck at math and electricity, so maybe .3v is a major thing? My car gets +/-% gas mileage compared to the display...
MyPonyRocks is offline Find More Posts by MyPonyRocks
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 05:40 PM
3D Hack
JC Spohr's Avatar
United States, IL, Glen Carbon
Joined Jul 2010
1,959 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Version 2.02 tells you you're good to go. No need to return the radio.

If you would, please PM me the serial number and PID you received so I can let the QA people know. Thanks.

Andy
Andy,

PM sent with complete PID and Serial Number

Thanks for your assistance.

Did not expect that in the forums; +10 for Spektrum support!

JC
JC Spohr is online now Find More Posts by JC Spohr
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: About Me
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:13 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyPonyRocks View Post
is .3 volts really that big a deal? I mean "pro-enthusiasts" are likely to have a fully charged TX before chucking their $XK equipment in the air no? I fly for days on the stock batt... hell it's been in my cold work locker all week and still reads at a near full charge (-2C or so in the bay the last few days, moved my LiPos into the heated office but forgot the TX somehow).

If I know I'm going to be flying I charge it up before hand, it sits in the locker and I do fly from time to time at work otherwise (except in the evening when I take it home for sim time). If I can remember to do so as a novice, what's the big deal?

Mind you I suck at math and electricity, so maybe .3v is a major thing? My car gets +/-% gas mileage compared to the display...
It is about a 6% error, that is a major thing.

VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:15 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,314 Posts
3%, Pete. Error / FULL SCALE.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:19 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
3%, Pete. Error / FULL SCALE.

Andy
.3v divided by 5v is 6% isnt it?

VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:25 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,314 Posts
FULL SCALE != 5V.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:35 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
FULL SCALE != 5V.

Andy
I dont understand, in my book (National Electrical Code) that is a 6% error.

VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:48 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,314 Posts
Slope vs. Offset. A slope error varies according to the value of the measurement, while an offset error is fixed across all values. Since the full-range value is 10V, and the offset is 0.3V, this would be a 3% error of the full scale voltage.

Since you already know, from several years ago, that the error is constant (ie, an offset error), you know that you can't use the measured value as the denominator; you must use the full-scale.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:52 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,344 Posts
How about just get rid of the .3V offset so we can have a proper reading instead of the built in offset. As it causes more confusion than anything and merely there to protect Spektrum not help the user.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:56 PM
Just here for the pie.
Canada, BC, Ashcroft
Joined Jun 2011
394 Posts
I know it's a completely different product by a completely different company,
but the Turnigy 9X has a resistor that can be replaced/modified to correct the tx voltage sensor for the low-batt alarm. Anything similar on the DX8?

Cheers!
Randall
randall_l is offline Find More Posts by randall_l
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 07:19 PM
Registered User
Lilienthal's Avatar
Littleton, CO
Joined Nov 2010
1,326 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
The displayed voltage has a 0.3V tolerance.

Andy
Tolerance? Political babblespeak. It is an intentional offset that works in conjuction with the inactivity alarm to modify the user's behavior.
Lilienthal is offline Find More Posts by Lilienthal
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 07:23 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Slope vs. Offset. A slope error varies according to the value of the measurement, while an offset error is fixed across all values. Since the full-range value is 10V, and the offset is 0.3V, this would be a 3% error of the full scale voltage.

Since you already know, from several years ago, that the error is constant (ie, an offset error), you know that you can't use the measured value as the denominator; you must use the full-scale.

Andy
Nope, The "meter" in the case of a NiMH is off by 6%.

VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 13, 2012, 07:23 PM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
7,436 Posts
And just exactly (within 6%) does this affect the operation of the tx?
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 05:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 06:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 01:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 08:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 11:43 PM