HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 01, 2010, 08:15 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Evergreen
Joined Jul 2007
293 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
That depends on what you consider "necessary" to be on your sailplane. The DX8 is not intended for sailplane pilots, but it can provide a significant amount of support. The DX8 can provide any 5 of the 7 standard glider functions using 6 P-mixes and pre-programmed mixes.

You probably want to wait for the the DX10t instead. It has sailplane programming in addition to power planes and helicopters.

Andy

Just wondering if you could comment on the reason why there is not a dedicated glider mode?
Is that something that could be included in a firmware update, (sorry if thats a ridiculous question, I am not a techie?)
magee8578 is offline Find More Posts by magee8578
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 01, 2010, 08:52 PM
Medium Rare
Svensson's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jun 2010
115 Posts
"The world's most advanced 8-channel" radio must have a glider mode firmware update
Svensson is offline Find More Posts by Svensson
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2010, 09:07 PM
Suspended Account
Russian Federation, Sakha, Yakutsk
Joined May 2006
2,978 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svensson View Post
"The world's most advanced 8-channel" radio must have a glider mode firmware update
Don't count on it...

No sliders either... Weak.
FrogChief is offline Find More Posts by FrogChief
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 01, 2010, 09:11 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,061 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by magee8578 View Post
"The terminal velocity of an unladen swallow?" obviously!
"African or European?" Actually, I was thinking more along the lines of, "What's your favorite color?"

Quote:
Just wondering if you could comment on the reason why there is not a dedicated glider mode?
Is that something that could be included in a firmware update, (sorry if thats a ridiculous question, I am not a techie?)
Because it was decided to have it not included. The DX10t is the glider radio. There's nothing technical preventing a glider mode could being added to the radio, and if it were, it would only be a code update. But will it? That I can't answer.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2010, 09:14 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,061 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrogChief View Post
Don't count on it...

No sliders either... Weak.
There are 7 linear inputs. What more do you need?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2010, 01:03 AM
Inventor&Genius Extraordinary
tune by tito's Avatar
USA, CA, Riverside
Joined May 2006
491 Posts
You cn pre order now the DX8 and download the manual from horizon webpage.
tune by tito is offline Find More Posts by tune by tito
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2010, 01:19 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Merced
Joined Dec 2007
504 Posts
calling the 2 aux digital trims linear inputs is a tiny bit of a stretch, no? :-D
DannyZRC is offline Find More Posts by DannyZRC
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2010, 05:08 AM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by magee8578 View Post
"The terminal velocity of an unladen swallow?" obviously!
I dont understand, is this a Monty Python reference?
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 02, 2010, 05:19 AM
Registered User
United States, CO, Lakewood
Joined Mar 2007
3,013 Posts
Whatever you do don't say THAT word!
ColoradoHeliNut is offline Find More Posts by ColoradoHeliNut
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2010, 05:22 AM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColoradoHeliNut View Post
Whatever you do don't say THAT word!
"The Larch"?
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 02, 2010, 06:19 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
He's not the Messiah - he's a very naughty boy!
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2010, 06:25 AM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
"Come back here you coward!"
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Sep 02, 2010, 06:38 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Tis but a scratch'
'A scratch?! Your arm's off!'
'No, it isn't.'
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2010, 06:53 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,061 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyZRC View Post
calling the 2 aux digital trims linear inputs is a tiny bit of a stretch, no? :-D
No stretch at all! I said "linear" not "analog" - there's a major difference. An analog control would be a pot, which is limited in resolution only by the A/D converter. A linear input can vary across the entire range, with many steps along the way. With a linear input, it takes a time to move from one end of travel to the other. With an analog input you can just slam the pot from limit to limit almost instantly. Analog is a subset of linear, in that sense.

Since you can vary the trimmers across the full 2048-step range or across a limited range like a trim, you could make them behave as best suits your model. For things where you need precise control rather than speed (camber adjust), it's perfectly suited. As people use and play with the capabilities, they'll learn this is an extremely powerful platform, far more than one can write in a manual for the average user.

I think Frog was just trying to bash it because we chose not to provide sailplane programming. We all know where he stands from his numerous posts in threads about his favorite radio. I was just pointing out that it has far more capability than is obvious from the published documentation.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2010, 06:56 AM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgearuk View Post
Tis but a scratch'
'A scratch?! Your arm's off!'
'No, it isn't.'
"Say no more?"
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 04:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 05:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 12:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 07:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 10:43 PM