HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:56 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,360 Posts
Has anyone tried to pull recorded data from the SD card that's in the side of the DX8? I'm pretty sure I elected the option to put data on the SD card, but I have not attempted to read it. I would like to review the last 6 flights on my RV-4 and see if there were any fades or holds. I have no idea if the GPS data was recorded, but if so it might be interesting to see.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:02 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,147 Posts
You can download the STi App and view the log file on your Apple iDevice. (you have one )
or You can download the software floating around here somewhere to view the log file on a PC.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:06 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,360 Posts
I know how to get the file from the STi device... but I believe that the data that gets stored on the SD card is different. Could be wrong there.... I have never really pulled the SD card to see what's been written on it. Should I look for the same file extension as the STi application?


I just re-checked the STi on my iPhone and there's no way to see a Min/Max other than to graph sensors. But, I was looking for an output that looks like the DX8 screen showith min/max alone.

Thanks

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Last edited by Franco2fly; Feb 19, 2013 at 06:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:08 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,147 Posts
Email yourself the SD card log file. Then using your iDevice to view your emails when you click on the log file attachment the STi App will come up as an option to view the attachment. Select it and view.

It's a different way of view it if you don't have the STi Dongle.

PS: It shows up in the STi App as an Email-Attachments, then you click on the flights you want to see.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:09 AM
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
3,583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco2fly View Post
Has anyone tried to pull recorded data from the SD card that's in the side of the DX8? I'm pretty sure I elected the option to put data on the SD card, but I have not attempted to read it. I would like to review the last 6 flights on my RV-4 and see if there were any fades or holds. I have no idea if the GPS data was recorded, but if so it might be interesting to see.

KKKKFL
http://www.robo-software.com/
davidmc36 is offline Find More Posts by davidmc36
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:15 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,147 Posts
Or the thread here
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=395
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 07:58 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,212 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco2fly View Post
I know how to get the file from the STi device... but I believe that the data that gets stored on the SD card is different. Could be wrong there....
Yup, you're right that you're wrong

The file is the raw data off the air with timestamps and headers. The same raw data is what gets processed in any system - tx, STi, or PC - and the STi saves the same raw data that the transmitter does.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:05 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,360 Posts
Ok,
So the min/max screen is just the DX8's representation of the same data...
Will have to see what that Robo software does for an output cuz the STi app just
lets you graph two sensors, but there's no Fade or Hold information.

I was trying to corellate the GPS drops and see if Fades occurred at the same time but,
this might be a "Bridge too far" .

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:24 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,212 Posts
Sounds like you need to try the PC version, Franco.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:28 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,360 Posts
Yup,
Hope it works on a Mac... I hate this Thinkpad that the company provides.... glorified door stop.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:36 AM
Registered User
Gulf Coast
Joined Nov 2002
348 Posts
Newbi?

Will the telemetry module + gps sensor fit on a 450x?
fletch is offline Find More Posts by fletch
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:37 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,212 Posts
Yes, no problem!
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:39 AM
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
3,583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco2fly View Post
I was trying to corellate the GPS drops and see if Fades occurred at the same time but,
this might be a "Bridge too far" .

KKKKFL
You can make a custom graph with Martin's software and display just your chosen elements. They are displayed with a time scale so you can see events that occurred at the same time.
davidmc36 is offline Find More Posts by davidmc36
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:45 PM
Registered User
Central California
Joined Dec 2006
2,517 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco2fly View Post
Yup,
Hope it works on a Mac... I hate this Thinkpad that the company provides.... glorified door stop.

KKKKFL
The developer has worked it up as a Windoze PC platform for now.I believe a Mac version will be in the works once the PC version is sorted.
aerocal is offline Find More Posts by aerocal
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:02 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Almost on topic - do you guys like the STI device? I just ordered one.

Harry

Do you get audio?
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Last edited by Harry H; Feb 19, 2013 at 04:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 04:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 05:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 12:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 07:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 10:43 PM