HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 30, 2010, 06:18 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,193 Posts
Version 1.02 on mine and it does the same???? Is this something that HH/SPK are aware of??? Seams that what ever the slave is then the stick for that channel does nothing when mix is active.
Spektrum DX8 mixing issue with fw v.1.02 (2 min 32 sec)
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 30, 2010, 06:23 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,193 Posts
Then the other thing is that the DX8 is supposed to have 8 MIXES, 2 pre determine and 6 user but depending on wing type EXEMPLE basic you only get 1 pre determine and 6 user for total of 7, where's the 8th?

I guess you lose a mix if you're not using flaps... the missing mix is ELEV to FLAP mix.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Last edited by freechip; Sep 30, 2010 at 06:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 06:48 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,193 Posts
Anyway to revert back to older version. The older version bugs did not affect me. But now the latest version does.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 07:50 PM
Medium Rare
Svensson's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jun 2010
111 Posts
I'm trying to mix 2 flaps together and it has just been a pain in the as, the dx6i took 2min to do it on, on the dx8 i don't understand a thing. I'm using the AR6255 and it has a GEAR and a AX1 channel and the mixing in the radio is making me angry. Thought it would be a easy radio to program but no. If i cant mix the servos together i will send the radio back....
Svensson is offline Find More Posts by Svensson
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 08:09 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2010
140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svensson View Post
I'm trying to mix 2 flaps together and it has just been a pain in the as, the dx6i took 2min to do it on, on the dx8 i don't understand a thing. I'm using the AR6255 and it has a GEAR and a AX1 channel and the mixing in the radio is making me angry. Thought it would be a easy radio to program but no. If i cant mix the servos together i will send the radio back....
luks like Zs review iz right & i'll stay away frm dx8 4 a while. n hoenst review is gud ck http://z8rc.blogspot.com/
sabbysynco is offline Find More Posts by sabbysynco
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:17 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
22,326 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svensson View Post
I'm trying to mix 2 flaps together and it has just been a pain in the as, the dx6i took 2min to do it on, on the dx8 i don't understand a thing. I'm using the AR6255 and it has a GEAR and a AX1 channel and the mixing in the radio is making me angry. Thought it would be a easy radio to program but no. If i cant mix the servos together i will send the radio back....
What are you trying to do with them?

On the DX8, select a wing type with 2 flaps (Flaperon, 1 Ail 2 Flaps, 2 Ail 2 Flaps).

Go to the Flap System screen to define their basic behavior (controlling switch, positions, and elevator compensation).

Now what do you want the mix(es) to do?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:23 PM
Electric Coolhunter
Thomas B's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Jun 2000
14,463 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabbysynco View Post
luks like Zs review iz right & i'll stay away frm dx8 4 a while. n hoenst review is gud ck http://z8rc.blogspot.com/
More tedious self promotion?
Thomas B is offline Find More Posts by Thomas B
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 2014 events and travel
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:25 PM
Medium Rare
Svensson's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jun 2010
111 Posts
i have two air brakes on my sailplane and need them to work at the same time and the same way. On the AR6255 you have aux1 and gear to plug them into.
Svensson is offline Find More Posts by Svensson
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:32 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
2,651 Posts
Assuming you want to mix rather than use a built-in wing type:

How about: Master -> slave 100%, 100%, offset of zero?

If they go the opposite way because of the geometry, then -100% -100% ?

I haven't played with a DX6 in a while but I think the only difference is that the DX8 adds an offset parameter but for something like this, just leave it at zero.
Dave H. is online now Find More Posts by Dave H.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:33 PM
Medium Rare
Svensson's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jun 2010
111 Posts
battery died.....will try tomorrow.
Svensson is offline Find More Posts by Svensson
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:34 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
2,651 Posts
Minor UI annoyance: The Back button doesn't work in the file browser.
Dave H. is online now Find More Posts by Dave H.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:39 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
22,326 Posts
Hopefully I'm understanding you correctly.

Use a single-flap setup. That will put flaps on Aux1.

Go into the Switch Setup screen and make sure you don't have any switches assigned to the Gear channel.

If you want Gear to have the same function as Flap, mix Flap to Gear at 100/100/On.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 09:56 PM
Medium Rare
Svensson's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jun 2010
111 Posts
Is it then possible to have the flaps working on the f-mode button?
Svensson is offline Find More Posts by Svensson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 01:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
6 Posts
DX 8 signal problem

I tested the Dx8 on my trex450 Pro i put on it 10 flights with the new TX,
I think the problem is from the DX8 transmitter because I did not use any of the electronics that came with it in the box yet; I just bind the dx8 to my Trex 450pro and programmed it. (I only tested the transmitter)
The electronics on the 450pro are all the same that I have flown over 100 times with no problems using the DX6i and AR6100 receiver. (They are good and tested)
with the DX8 in 3 of the flights the heli did something I did not tell it to do. In the first time (I was doing tik-toks heli lost signal and hovered inverted for a second)
In the second time (heli is up in the air then lost power completely of motor, heli dropped on grass) "fresh battery pack 1min into flight time"
Final time (heli diving down then I give input to pull-up but lost signal and heli smashed into the grown)

I have a video posted on youtube (nader703) testing the dx8 but no problems occurred during that first flight.
Now the heli is broken in pieces

DX8 first test flight on the Trex 450 PRO (5 min 16 sec)
Nader703 is offline Find More Posts by Nader703
Last edited by Nader703; Oct 01, 2010 at 01:55 AM. Reason: adding a video
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 02:48 AM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
Version 1.02 on mine and it does the same???? Is this something that HH/SPK are aware of??? Seams that what ever the slave is then the stick for that channel does nothing when mix is active.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anJTRdXomqo
Glad it is not just me then, but this needs to be fixed.

Not sure where is the best place to report bugs, hopefully they will pick it up from here.
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 04:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 05:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 12:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 07:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 10:43 PM