Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 05, 2012, 09:05 AM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by markusvt View Post
Protection is in the Spectrum pack, user had the HK pack, no protection. Clearly issue not owned by Spectrum. LIPO 101, be smarter than the pack.
Once again, for clarity, the decision Spektrum took means you have to depend on the pack to protect itself, if the pack doesn't or the protection does not work then yes, obviously it is not a Spektrum fault.

From a design perspective I prefer the route Hitec have taken in this regard, but as long as the pack can take care of itself the Spektrum route is fine.

The odd thing is the HobbyKing packs do claim to include the necessary protection so something didn't go as planned ...
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 05, 2012, 10:36 AM
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Deutschland, Hessen, LA
Joined Jan 2009
1,187 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgearuk View Post
"The Turnigy DX8 Intelligent Transmitter Pack also features a built in voltage protection circuit, this circuit will automatically cutoff once the pack drops to 2.85v per cell ensuring the battery will not be damaged if you accidentally leave your transmitter switched on. The voltage protection circuit will also restrict charging to 4.2v per cell ensuring the pack can never be over charged."
Then should this Turnigy LiPo not puffing, but it puffed.
Kambalunga is offline Find More Posts by Kambalunga
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 10:53 AM
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Deutschland, Hessen, LA
Joined Jan 2009
1,187 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telrin View Post
From a design perspective I prefer the route Hitec have taken in this regard, but as long as the pack can take care of itself the Spektrum route is fine.

The odd thing is the HobbyKing packs do claim to include the necessary protection so something didn't go as planned ...
So the Hitec has an inbuild balancer?

The odd thing is that what HK claim should be a Spektrum error.
Kambalunga is offline Find More Posts by Kambalunga
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 11:00 AM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kambalunga View Post
So the Hitec has an inbuild balancer?
Not the balancer, but low voltage cut-off protection.

In the case of a Lipo in a Hitec I'd be charging the pack directly so would use its own balance wires.

Charging a lipo in these devices is not something you need to do all that often of course
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 11:07 AM
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Deutschland, Hessen, LA
Joined Jan 2009
1,187 Posts
But without a balancer can be one cell long dead before you hit the low voltage cut-off protection. Then charging a LiPo without a balancer is hazardous.
Kambalunga is offline Find More Posts by Kambalunga
Last edited by Kambalunga; Apr 05, 2012 at 11:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 11:12 AM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kambalunga View Post
But without balancer can one cell long dead before you hit the low voltage cut-off protection. Then charging a LiPo without a balancer is hazardous.
As I said, I would not be charging the lipo through the radio, I would be using its own balance wires, so the risk is eliminated.

I'm also not clear that the Spektrum 'balancer' offers any ability to balance during discharge, but with the extremely low current drawn by the radio this is not likely to be an issue unless you set the cut-off voltage way too low.
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 11:32 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kambalunga View Post
Then should this Turnigy LiPo not puffing, but it puffed.
No it shouldn't, but I guess with most things in life.. There is the odd one that may have a problem.. And I say may as who really know what he did??
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 11:36 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
I have ordered many stuff from HK that did not work right. I still order from them.
I'm same as you!!
I've been using them for a couple of years and from my experience I'd say about 90% of stuff I've brought has been fine.. The other 10% well, I look at it that I've saved over what the same stuff would have cost me and except it is the way it is. Although will great on me a day or 2 at the time.
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 12:47 PM
Registered User
United States, KY, Madisonville
Joined Mar 2011
541 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgearuk View Post
Maybe you should read this! (personally to low should be 3~3.3v but none the less, and no I don't own one as the Standard NiMah pack is just fine and dandy!)

"The Turnigy DX8 Intelligent Transmitter Pack also features a built in voltage protection circuit, this circuit will automatically cutoff once the pack drops to 2.85v per cell ensuring the battery will not be damaged if you accidentally leave your transmitter switched on. The voltage protection circuit will also restrict charging to 4.2v per cell ensuring the pack can never be over charged."
Since the pack is screwed, we are going to disect it to see if a chip of some sort is present. It still has a charge of 7.8v.
Bugbitten is offline Find More Posts by Bugbitten
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: launch elevator
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 12:48 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,511 Posts
Pictures of the disected pack would be very interesting to see..
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 01:17 PM
3D Hack
JC Spohr's Avatar
United States, IL, Glen Carbon
Joined Jul 2010
1,882 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
Pictures of the disected pack would be very interesting to see..
+1

Yup, let's see what's inside...

JC
JC Spohr is offline Find More Posts by JC Spohr
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: About Me
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 01:37 PM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugbitten View Post
Since the pack is screwed, we are going to disect it to see if a chip of some sort is present. It still has a charge of 7.8v.
Your going to be looking for something like this I would imagine, this version is for a single lipo but I'm sure a 2s is very similar...
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 02:17 PM
SCCA, EAA, M.E.
spinnetti's Avatar
USA, KY, Verona
Joined Nov 2001
3,062 Posts
Thanks all for the charging advice... seems a bit primitive in this day and age (and a step back from my Dx7), but I can always get the HobbyCity Lipo I suppose....

Happy Flying....
spinnetti is offline Find More Posts by spinnetti
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 02:23 PM
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Apr 2004
1,122 Posts
I have the DX8 with the Turnigy LiPo pack. I charged it a couple of months ago and still I am not close to a voltage where I need to recharge.

I have been using 3cell LiPos with my two 9303's, for 4 years. I take them out of the Tx to charge on my FMA 10S charger. I have never had an issue.
Buschbarber is online now Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 03:24 PM
FPV'r
ror1's Avatar
Canada, ON, Carleton Place
Joined May 2011
1,139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buschbarber View Post
I have the DX8 with the Turnigy LiPo pack. I charged it a couple of months ago and still I am not close to a voltage where I need to recharge.

I have been using 3cell LiPos with my two 9303's, for 4 years. I take them out of the Tx to charge on my FMA 10S charger. I have never had an issue.
when I 1st charged and used HK LiPo it lasted a long time. About a month but then I recharged it and it recharged in about 3 hours...that is not correct.
It is now droping much faster...it still lasts longer than the NiMh but not as long as it should.I have to look deeper into it.
ror1 is offline Find More Posts by ror1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 04:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 05:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 12:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 07:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 10:43 PM