HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 09, 2010, 08:47 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,960 Posts
Discussion
Connecting lawmate VTx to DX201. Power and Video

I just purchased a lawmate 2.4g VTX/receiver and I'd like a little help with hooking it through my Eagle Tree ODS and to the DX201 camera. It has a 4 wire-out. How do I supply 5 volts to the VTx through the BEC and 12 to the camera? How do the video wires run?
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Matt Gunn; Feb 09, 2010 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 09, 2010, 09:20 AM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Here is the Manual, it looks like the OSD DOES NOT supply power to the camera or the VTX, I could be wrong.
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/supp...als/osdpro.pdf
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 09, 2010, 09:31 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,960 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarro View Post
Here is the Manual, it looks like the OSD DOES NOT supply power to the camera or the VTX, I could be wrong.
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/supp...als/osdpro.pdf
yea, thats not a problem, Im just trying to get the VTX and the DX201 camera connected. Of course it goes through the OSD. The power is a separate 11.1v battery with a BEC for 5v to the VTX.
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 09, 2010, 09:41 AM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by webdr View Post
yea, thats not a problem, Im just trying to get the VTX and the DX201 camera connected. Of course it goes through the OSD. The power is a separate 11.1v battery with a BEC for 5v to the VTX.
So what is the problem?
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 09, 2010, 09:54 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,960 Posts
If anybody has hooked up a Lawmate Tx, which is 4 wires out, to an OSD that has a standard 3 pin video-in/video-out and on to a DX201 camera which is a 4-pin input, Id greatly appreciate your advice. I can solder but Im not very confident when it comes to understanding the wiring. Bottom line, I just dont want to burn up anything.

To me, this setup seems different than my 900mhz VTx. I had one 11.1v battery that supplied power to the VTX, then the VTx sent power through a standard 3-wire servo lead through the OSD and on to the camera which terminated.

I just want to know how I need to hook everything up. How do I power the camera that is 12v now that Ive stepped down to 5v with a BEC to power the VTx
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 09, 2010, 10:12 AM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
What I would do is connect the + and - from the VTX to the 5v BEC and run the Yellow video wire to the OSD video out. Then run the + and - from the camera to the 12v supply that is powering the OSD and BEC, then run the camera video wire to the OSD video in.
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 09, 2010, 10:15 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,960 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarro View Post
What I would do is connect the + and - from the VTX to the 5v BEC and run the Yellow video wire to the OSD video out. Then run the + and - from the camera to the 12v supply that is powering the OSD and BEC, then run the camera video wire to the OSD video in.
Sounds like a plan.
Do I need to run a ground wire with the video wire as well, or is it just the one video wire in and out from the camera through the OSD, to the VTx?
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 09, 2010, 10:28 AM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
There is a picture that shows the VTX and the camera can get 12v from the OSD, is that true?
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 09, 2010, 10:29 AM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
If that is true you can power you camera from the OSD Pro and put a voltage regulator in line to the VTX.
I would use this one, http://www.nghobbies.com/cart/index....7caa89207e018c
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Last edited by Tarro; Feb 09, 2010 at 10:35 AM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 09, 2010, 10:39 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,960 Posts
Yes! thank you for pointing that out. I didnt even see it. That makes hookup easier.
I have this little switch-mode BEC on hand which steps from 12 down to 5v. Should work, right?
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/ParkBEC.htm
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 09, 2010, 10:52 AM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
I am glade I was able to help, one thing I learned doing this level of RC is that you have to read the instructions completely.
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 09, 2010, 11:20 AM
Suspended Account
trappy's Avatar
Austria
Joined Feb 2007
6,411 Posts
no, switching BECs don't work very well (noisy). I sometimes use those little linear 1A continuous BECs that are on the 10A ESCs you get from china. just improve the heat sink, give it a ground test, and you're good to go. ever since I do long range I opt for the nghobbies stuff though ...
trappy is offline Find More Posts by trappy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2010, 11:33 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,960 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by trappy View Post
no, switching BECs don't work very well (noisy). I sometimes use those little linear 1A continuous BECs that are on the 10A ESCs you get from china. just improve the heat sink, give it a ground test, and you're good to go. ever since I do long range I opt for the nghobbies stuff though ...
Roger that, looks like I will have to place another order from NG. Thanks
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 10, 2010, 03:08 AM
Registered User
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,474 Posts
there should be two black, ground wires from the 201, i soldered them together
David22 is online now Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 10, 2010, 06:27 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,960 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by David22 View Post
there should be two black, ground wires from the 201, i soldered them together
There are, and I will per your advice.
Thanks David
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 2.4G receiver just has 2.4g? flydreamrc Radios 50 Jun 30, 2010 08:15 AM
Found Wanted LawMate 2.4 TX and RX markeydoo Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Jan 21, 2010 09:34 PM
Wanted R617FS 7-Channel 2.4g Receiver or R6106HFC 6-Channel 2.4g Receiver Mikemynameis Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 15, 2010 04:40 PM
Discussion 2.4G VTx + 2.4G Tx ? kason FPV Talk 6 Aug 27, 2009 04:59 AM
Question is there a modulair system for rx/ap/vtx/osd ? cmulder FPV Talk 14 May 20, 2009 08:52 PM